August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bombotron

by Zammy - Jam Entry

Bombotron is a game about a robot sapper. In the future bombs have become so complicated that when you go close to them you have only one second to disarm them! :)

The goal of the game is to cut the correct links so that the "Igniter" does not trigger the "Bomb". Bombotron can scan blocks and reveal their purpose for a couple of seconds.

Here is small list of available blocks:

"Trigger" : Trigger watches a link to another block and triggers a signal to the opposite link.

"Splitter" : Splits link to two or three links more.

"Hardwire" : Creates indestructible link.

"DoubleHardwire": Like Hardwire but both directions are indestructible.

"HiddenLink" : It looks like a normal block but actually has a hidden link.

Thank you for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#100Theme(Jam)3.52
#100Graphics(Jam)4.00
#105Innovation(Jam)3.45
#249Overall(Jam)3.20
#274Audio(Jam)2.89
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#328Humor(Jam)2.28
#370Fun(Jam)2.72

Comments

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49am

Your art is freakin awesome! I really love the look and feel. The game was simple and effective... Sturdy work. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02am

Neat puzzle game. I like the artwork. Good job and nice use of the theme!

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34pm

pretty cool! relaly like the menu art! the gameplay relaly confused me i found myself clicking everything, trial and error style! I agree with arch, nice use of the them!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Love the artwork! It was really confusing at first, even with the instructions. Otherwise an amazing job for a short time.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice graphics ! good work ! :)

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Great art work. Found my self shaking too much to cut the wire , which I guess is the point. Found it hare to work out what to do to begin with.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Very nice puzzle-game but a tutorial could be very useful. And I don't think it's useful to hide the blocks because the difficulty is already high due to the ten-seconds timer.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43pm

It was buggy, loading 2 levels at the same time and loading wrong levels after finish.
But art and idea is awesome. Neat game.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Wow. Really nice looking game. And the game itself is solid. Nice work. Add some music! I have no idea how to beat level 5.
Bug: I clicked on the Blocks Legend and brought up the goal of the game dialogue while the You Lose Dialogue was up and the bomb disappeared for good.

Zammy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I am not sure how it works but I guess we cannot add tutorial post competition? We are definitely adding a good tutorial! This is something we really wanted but we struggled with all kind of little game glitches during the jam. After judging we will add updated version link to be fair.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Best bomb disposal game yet

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I like the artistic style and the puzzle game concept. Unfortunately, even with the key and the tooltip, I could not figure out the mechanics. If this game had a gradual implementation of mechanics, it could be great.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Wow! Cool game!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:27pm

a bit too punishing. had some trouble finding how it works. also it looks like you could do a lot more in the art department. otherwise - neat puzzle.

Mesene says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Nice entry, it gets a high mood :)

oajfh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Hmm... Cutting wires at random did work for me for the most part...

Per says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Nice artwork!
Was a bit much to read at start. Would be better to structure like a tutorial where object types are unlocked after a while.
Good idea overall.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:34pm

To be fair, I didn't understand half of what I did. The level loading system is a buggy, when you try to load some level.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Great Art, think the game play was confusing to learn by my self. But well done for a jam =)

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Super title screen :)
The game it self lacks feedbacks that would allow to understand what it's actually going on. The triggers were really hard to understand in level 5 for example.
Interesting game idea however! The fact I couldn't stop playing until I eventually beat the game is a good point ;)

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Edit: I can't load the level 7, nothing happens, the board is empty.

Zammy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Sorry deepnight, there are no other levels after the 6th one. We couldn't make more in time. I'm not sure if we're allowed to fix the game by removing the false links of levels 7-10?

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

great game - took me a while to get used to it though

the game mechanics are clearly well designed and I certainly wish this game would have some nice music

very well done, I enjoyed it

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

The idea is good, but ended up being too much trial-and-error for me. Love your "cover" art, would love to see that robot in the gameplay!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Cool realisation of the game and nice difficult

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I have some difficulties to understand all the mecanisms but the idea is very original and I was still able to pass some levels.

justi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

Good logic game, nice graphics and sound effects.

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

Nice idea! Addictive.

CrossBread says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:59am

I think 2 UI improvements would help. One, reveal the node/component on mouse over instead of requiring a click. The click feels cumbersome, but I like that you have to try and mentally keep track of the parts of the bomb circuit.

Two, increase the collision area on the wires. Maybe an icon in the middle, or just a 2-3 pixel transparent border. It's easy to start feeling like you're fighting the controls/mouse instead of playing an intriguing puzzle game.

Great graphics, look-and-feel, etc. Some music would help to set the mood more.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:04am

Love the drawing and I like the idea. Found it a bit too easy to begin with (once I'd worked out what to do) but it soon gets to being a nice challenge.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:07am

a managed to beat all the available stages. you used the theme very well , would like to play the other stages as well if you make them. good clean graphics and engaging gameplay.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:17pm

good job

Thermite says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Very tidy game, always enjoy a good puzzle game.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:49pm

The art is really nice. took some time to understand what I had to do.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:47pm

AMAZING art. I felt I needed a little more visual explanation of each component, it was a little too abstract for me at first.

But very very solid puzzles and amazing polish, kudos!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]