August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hit'n Eat

by AtomicVikings - Jam Entry

Hit'n Eat is an action game set on a remote planet. The goal of the game is to survive as long as possible while blocks keep falling on to the planet. Every ten seconds the game switches between day and night. At night you will become a zombie that can eat blocks and at day you are a human that can crush blocks.

Controls:

- Arrow keys to move
- Spacebar to jump

Goal:
- Stay alive as long as you can

Used enviroment:
- Java
- Viking2D ( our own game engine )
- Photoshop
- Ableton Live
- Audacity

Thanks to the complete AtomicVikings team and all watchers on Twitch over the weekend . You are awesome!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#74Audio(Jam)3.59
#84Graphics(Jam)4.10
#201Mood(Jam)3.16
#234Innovation(Jam)3.10
#289Humor(Jam)2.41
#290Overall(Jam)3.13
#379Theme(Jam)2.90
#386Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

kannas says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

it's a bit bugged during blocks collision, and you should fix that delay between player transformation and day shifting. Apart from that, nice game. i quite like the art :3

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I'm on Mac and I get this NPE when clicking "Start":
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.atomicvikings.viking2d.Graphics.drawSingleSprite(Graphics.java:81)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Really nice clean cut art style. Rated highly. :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

@zedutchgandalf we will fix it soon. Thx for the notice

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37am

Very nice art style and clean design, I really like your game. Good job guys!

sam1373 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00am

I was too easy, but otherwise fun.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22am

Very nice graphics, makes good atmosphere. Although the game crashes at some point.

choqaae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28am

Cool art

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice art, good gameplay, took me a while to understand how the theme was related to the game :)

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Really nice graphics but the gameplay was a bit lacking :3 Good luck with future projects, you look like a good team ^^

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Good atmosphere and nice graphics. Solid gameplay.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Wow, great art! Fun gameplay, good job :D

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Nicely done you guys. Polish this up some more and you will have a nice little game. Great job for 72 hours!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Cudos for using Your own engine, overal game flow is fantastic.altho graphics could be vectorized. Hope it'll evolve! You have a team with a soul.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Kind of... odd. You might already know this, but over time I start changing between Zombie and Viking at a different rate than day and night change. I also at first had no idea what you meant when you said the viking could crush blocks. The whole thing feels very glitchy, which conflicts a lot with the polished art style. It's not a bad game, it's just that I'd expect better from a team that has so many programmers.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I'm on Windows 7, by the way.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Oh, and it really doesn't feel that fun, because there's no score or anything else to make me want to keep playing.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

@Puzzlem00n: To have 4 programmers means not that you have the garantee to make a "good" game. This was our first game together and the first test for our own game engine. At the end we had time problems, yes. For us we learned alot at the LD weekend and this is a great game. :-)

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

Awesome mood in this game, keep it up :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

@Puzzlem00n: at my understanding LD is mostly for having a fantastic time while making games.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

@Mironix: I know that. I'm sorry if I offended anyone, which judging by the comment on my game, it did. =P I'm glad you guys learned a lot, and I had figured it was because you were all working together for the first time. But as a person who rates the games, I have to forget about the circumstances of its creation and give a score as a player. So, again, I apologize if what I said was a bit jerky.

antonijn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Cool game, could use a lot more gamplay elements though (although I've heard from reliable sources that this will in fact be the case in the future). But overall a great game from a great team! (the background got out of sync with the zombie-non-zomie-ness of the game, btw, but I suppose you already knew that)

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Nice, interesting idea, and I always admire games created in java :) Good job!

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Interesting idea. Very original. The movement is very clunky. I would suggest studying some of the great platformers and/or finding articles on 2D character movement. As it stands, there just doesn't seem to be enough to the game to keep me interested.

galman says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice game, but it felt like something is missing, it looks really polished, but the gameplay is a bit missing for me =\

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]