August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ShuffleLand

by rincewind_cz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's turn based game, where your goal is to save your 'First' (aka king) with your 'Seconds' (aka servants). You have exactly 10 seconds to give orders to your 'Seconds' (servants) -- king can't be moved by himself, he must be pushed by servants/opponents. If you lose during your overall game play 10 your servants you'll lose for good. Enjoy!

IMPORTANT -- Additional Gameplay Info & Tips:
* You can skip the waiting by pressing spacebar anytime in the Set-Up phase.
* Spiky things are harmless when they touch you. They only make your king's navigation harder.
* You can win not just only by pushing king onto the finish square, but also by killing all spiky things.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#89Audio3.50
#120Graphics3.81
#276Mood3.12
#276Overall3.36
#281Innovation3.36
#342Theme3.38
#418Fun3.09
#503Humor2.30

Comments

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Very original! i like it! :)

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Nice! Very well made!

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

The learning curve is a bit off. There are so many thing to do in the first level it's really hard to pick up on the basics. I managed to finish it in 11 moves on my first try, and that's far too much effort for a first level, for the first thing a player has to do. Try to ease in new players into the game. I think the first level should have just had the king and 1 or 2 servants, no death, no spiky things that apparently don't kill you (I though they did, based on the graphics).

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

This was weirdly relaxing to play, kind of nice really...
Would have been nice to have been able to skip the countdown if I had already told my servants what to do.
The graphics and audio were amazing! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

ThirteenWB: Thank you! The countdown can be skipped by pressing spacebar. I was so tired when I was submitting this game that I forget to mention this... :)

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Really nice one, level 2 is hard but I'll get it :)
Nice graphics, sound is cool! Nice polish, it's in my fav.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice! This is cool! Neat gameplay idea!

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

You made a really great relaxing game that fits the theme very well. I like it very much! The first level could be a bit easier though.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Nice game, but I find it too difficult. Graphics and music are really good.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Loved the art style and the sounds. good game, found it a bit difficult, and easier to kill the spiky things than get the king thing to the finish area.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48am

I love the sound when you beat the level!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Nice and polished. It gets a bit frustrating to get cornered by the spiky balls but thats my own damn fault. :) Very innovative!

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Felt like a really interesting concept and good use of the theme. The audio, music and visuals all worked together to created a unified style.

The gameplay was quite fresh and original, it felt like it would be something that would hold up well on a touch device.

I think the lead guitar on the main music went out of time with the rhythm guitar a bit, which, ended up bugging me a little once I noticed, but this was my one irk with the otherwise really nicely done audio.

Overall, nice work!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

really love there little faces its a cool idea! this could be a fun game to play with a pool table

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

It was refreshing playing this game. Had lots of fun. The theme was lost on be, i just kept using spacebar. But very good job overall.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Starts off a bit too hard but if you can make some levels to ease the player in you've got a really good game here! Like the art style and the music and it's a good idea.

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice and original. Little vague at first until I realized you had to get the first to the finish and not the seconds too.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36am

Definitely challenging, but fun. The sound effects and music were top notch, reminded me a bit of Everyday Shooter in a weird way.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39am

Innovative, aesthetically nice, and innovative mechanics. I didn't read the tutorial, and solved the first 2 levels by pushing the enemies into the pit (it's easier than navigating to finish sometimes). Thank you for putting this together!

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:46am

Adorable graphics, simple to control. Overal a very fun little puzzle game :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:51am

The theme seemed crammed in there. But the game itself is excellent - innovative, relaxing. Great work!

raver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Great, simple graphics, bouncy sounds and neat gameplay. One thing i need is a restart button, but despite this - good job.

Inertia says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

original take on the theme, super cute graphics and sounds. probably one of the best games I've played so far

sgehlich says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Nice idea :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

good job

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

Good job. Polished graphics and good audio (tho it could use some extra work on the sound mix), the idea is quite nice. Also really relaxing :)

Still, you should IMO rework the difficulty curve, the first level is way too hard and I had a hard time understanding what was going on (I thought the black circle was the objective). And something to explain the extra features maybe !

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Great entry :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Amazing puzzle game! Simple and elegant. Great Job!

mollymus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:49am

Quite a nice little game! I think this would make for an awesome time-killer on mobile devices! Great job!

Ithildin says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I love the music!

The idea is quite original and quite challenging (perhaps a preliminary level could help people get more in touch with the mechanics, but personally, I don't mind the difficulty)

Cool entry :D

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:17am

Love the sound/graphics but found this game sort of hard (maybe I just fail XD ) I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I'm afraid the gameplay isn't quite my cup of tea, so I ended up ragequitting after skipping some levels and wasting my remaining seconds. I think the mechanics are interesting though, and it's a very polished package.

I liked the music, and it meshed well with the art style. It all feels friendly and whimsical. Not quite for me, but still an excellent piece of work. Well done! :)

PS: I love your nick! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]