August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube fighter

by MediGFX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello world !
this is my first ludum dare, and i'm using java2d,
this game is like the best i can make, i've put all i've learn since i start programing five months ago,
i know it's stupid, and also buggy, but i'm relly proud of it no matter what !!
that was really funny to creat a game from zero in 48 hour
still 8 hours but i can't add any thing, so, i hope that i can participate for the next LD,
- STORY :
it's a fighting game where you should kill the monsters before the 10 seconds end, and when ever you kill one you get more 10 seconds,
and now their are 10 levels wich i have test only 5 of them because i can't reach the 6 level, lol
so hope you enjoy it, and it's an open source so you can do what ever you want with, no credits needed,
- TOOLS :
i've used photoshop cs1 for graphics
BoscaCeoil and bfxr for sounds
eclips as an IDE
--
the game is a jre file wich should run on all the systems
--
finally, i want to thank ludum dare, fo this event

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#592Humor2.18
#807Audio2.00
#1031Theme2.50
#1040Graphics2.05
#1055Fun2.19
#1060Mood1.72
#1104Innovation2.05
#1166Overall2.00
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19am

Doesn't seem to run on linux :(

itidus21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

I like it. I hope this becomes popular.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I can;t check on Linux but on Windows is all OK. Funny game, good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35am

Funny game, crazy fights of cubes! i like sounds & music Good joB!

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Good job with completing your first LD game! The first one is always the toughest.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:11am

To be honest, I would rather play this game without the music. If you don't have good music for your game, don't try to make up for it with random notes. Other than that, sfx was not bad.

MediGFX says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:36pm

thank you all, this meens a lot to me :)

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Nice first entry! To make this game with only 5 months of programming experience and in less than 48 hours is a really good job. But you don't need to wait until next ludum dare, you can always make a game and improve yourself. By the way, it works on Mac OS X.

psc1997 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:25am

Good first entry :)
I like music & sounds ;)

galman says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:38am

Great for your first entry! You still have to work on your glitches and make the game more smooth, I think that his game has some potential if you'll continue working on it :) Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]