August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Survival Madness

by wupto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

//About
Only <10 seconds> rest and supply between monster hordes.
Survive 5 waves to win.
(i) There are 2 unlockable guns.
(i) Shoot crates to get ammo.

//Control (README)
Movement: Arrow Keys
Shoot: A
Change Weapon: S

//Credits
Twitter @wupto

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#52Graphics4.11
#57Fun3.73
#90Mood3.55
#98Overall3.66
#114Audio3.42
#639Humor2.10
#840Theme2.84
#862Innovation2.54

Comments

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Screenshot looks cool, but when I tried running it my antivirus automatically removed it :/

wupto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Thanks for your reply! I guess that's because it was a single .exe so I changed it. Should work now.

TheHobbit9797 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Great game!
But when you have no ammo left, you can´t open the crates.

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice!
And the graphics are awesome!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Looks very nice... Great job!

wupto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

No worries people, it's no virus. It was made with Game Maker so that confuses me.

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Really awesome graphics ;) And easy to learn hit-N-run gameplay (boxhead like)^^.

deniska says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice game, I liked it.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Hey! Liked the game! Very pleasant and fun experience!

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Nice game. There seems to be pathfinding bug, if i hug that campfire, enemies don't update moving direction, they just go into whatever vector they had. Otherwise very nicely finished game.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Awesome graphics and pretty fun game play!

I had to disable my antivirus to play it. At first I didn't know you had to shoot the boxes to open them. Also somehow my guy gut stuck in a tree stump above the starting position.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Easy and fun to play. :)

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Hey there :) Must say I was really impressed by this game! The graphical style and audio is wonderful, leaving a great atmosphere. The overall experience felt really polished, you did a great job!

The gameplay mechanics might not be new or innovative, but they work and the game is great fun. I also like how you can be strategic about the first weapon, grouping enemies together to damage more enemies with a single shot :) Small cool details like that makes for a good game. Enjoyed the unlockables too :)

One small thing, I noticed that pressing q seems to enable some sort of debug screen for colliders or something, you get this overlay of red and green squares. Just a small detail :)

Great job! Good luck with the competition :)

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I made my senior project in highschool with an earlier version of GameMaker and Mcafee removed it right before the presentation (the next update fixed it though). That was tough to explain.
I personally find the game too difficult simply from being hurt by the explosions from the first weapon. But other than that it's a fun little survival shooter - round 3 was the farthest I made it. And the graphics are well done :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12pm

The retro graphics are very nice and personal in a way.
The game is also quite challenging (only ever made it to weapon no. 2...) and in a good way.
Look at all these guys celebrating christmas with me after I ran out of ammo: http://imgur.com/lxdx5bG !

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Looks really neat. It's kinda annoying when you have to wait for the next supply. The starting ammo is not enough for all those monster, well for me that is.

wupto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Thanks for all the nice feedback (also thanks Schwiggy!). I will now fix the little bugs.

tiooonnn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

had fun with this!! the only problem is the audio is a bit low.

wupto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Thank you :) You're right, I'm sorry about that.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Liked it very much, wish i could do graphics like that ^^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

Very cool game. :) Doesn't seem to fit the theme that well, but other than that I really like it. Simple yet challenging gameplay, it actually feels quite good and is very rewarding.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Nice game :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I enjoyed this game a lot. The way the crates drop in reminds me of worms

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Really liked the track, and the grenade launcher is really fun to use because of the delay.

I ran out of bullets though and couldn't open a supply crate (if A opened crates that'd be good even if it didn't hurt the zombies)

Good game overall. Thanks.

Tifu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Good game, as others have pointed out, a way to open crates when lacking ammo would have improved things, I got completely stuck and just had to let the things eat me :(

deepnight says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:32pm

The rounds (60s) are a bit long, especially the first one. Really loved the overall gameplay. The explosions are a bit strange: you take damages until a little bit after the end of the explosion anim (old school!).
The theme connection is also a little light.

wupto says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Thanks deepnight! You're right, I tried but didn't have enough time to fix the explosion "bug".

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:00am

Watched the video, the game looks polished! dark visuals reminded me of my entry ;) Nice sad music

Jexel says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Good graphics. Quite fun to play as well.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice game!
I liked how standard gun's bullets added depth to gameplay, since at first I shot at will and then realised it's counterproductive :D

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The graphics and music were nice. The movement was smooth, but it was annoying to have to stop moving and aim in order to attack enemies. There were some other small gameplay annoyances, but it felt nice overall. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]