August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hold My Beer!

by Lars Faust - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HOLD MY BEER, I GOT THIS!

Arrows Keys / WASD as well as Enter to complete the various tasks. You have 10 seconds to complete each one of them.

A somehwat Wario-Ware task of... magic! And beer! And guns! And black teenagers holding your beer! And hamburgers! After all a very american game i have to say, which was not intended seeing how i am actually german.

I also FINISHED A GAME! Thank you Ludum Dare i wouldve never done it if it wasnt for you!

Signed
Lars Faust




Additional notes:

There may be somewhat ugly artifacts in the Web Player and maybe in the Standalone as well that somewhat destroy the Pixel Art style a bit at some points. I tried everything, but it seems to be a Unity problem. It makes me very sad.

I also apologize for the awful sound quality, but there wasnt enough time.

And excuse any bugs i may have missed. This is literally the last minute i have to upload this. It couldnt have been more close. Phew.



Hint: If you cant beat the guy with the bat: You need to be in a specific distance to him (standing right in front of him but not "in" him) and press Enter to hit him. He has more hitpoints than you have.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#146Humor3.21
#218Graphics3.52
#323Mood3.05
#538Fun2.94
#545Innovation2.98
#569Overall3.04
#640Audio2.39
#1047Theme2.47

Comments

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

Hey, would you mind uploading a Linux version as well? Unity web player still doesn't work on Linux :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16am

Each frame is a different puzzle to figure out. Couldn't figure out what it has to do with the "10 seconds" theme. But great retro style puzzles!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

Unity Web player currently crashes on a Japanese Mac.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24am

It seems like you forgot to package the data folder.
Also, I second a version which runs natively on Linux!

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26am

Interesting idea, not sure what it has to do with either '10 seconds' or a beer/being american. Got stuck at the guy with the bat, despite your tip. Seemed very random whether I actually hit him, so not sure what's going on there.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34am

I don't find the theme, but I like because is WTF. Thans for the trip.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18am

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

There is a time limit of 10 seconds for every frame. If you dont finish the goal within that limit, it is game over.


As for the Standalone and Linux version:

Sorry for messing up the Windows standalone. Was in a rush yesterday, haha. Should work now. I also added the Linux download, i hope that works as well, as i dont have a Linux system to test it. Cheers.

Ysty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33am

Love the art. Neat idea!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Haha I really like this. Kinda hard to figure out what's going on the first go through of each puzzle.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Beautiful, original, quirky :D

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51am

Neat idea and lovely pixel art. Love it!

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

Really good, except the guy with the bat, I gave up :(.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

@Recid:

Try just continuously walking towards him hammering the Enter Button. Whenever he gets thrown back a bit, that means you hit. That offensive tactic will mean that you will get hit as well one or two times, but unless you have some very unlucky dice rolls, you should be able to beat him. Just dont go "through" him, as you will have to retreat back then to be in hit-distance again and the AI will most definitely use that to hit you.

I am aware that fight can be a bit dodgy though.


Thanks for all the nice feedback so far though! :D

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I'm not really sure where the "10 seconds" theme is in this game, but I like the game style.

orunbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Love the art. The minigame idea is cool. All it needs is a 10 seconds timer for each game, and your gg.

kogus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

@orunbot There is a timer, even though most levels can be easily completed in much less time it seems.

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

The voice clip is really funny in a "wise fwom you gwave" kind of way. Great art, fun game!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Dropbox 404 :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

hey Im getting a 404 on the web link

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I'm getting 404s on all the links.

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Quite fun to play, but sometimes it is a bit hard to figure out what to do

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

@Jumanzium, lordjosephdeburg & madk:

I tried the links and was indeed getting a 404 as well! No idea why, didnt change anything or even touched my dropbox.

So i went to my Dropbox account, just opened up the site and suddenly all links were working again. This is very strange. As if there was some inactivity timer on my dropbox account or something.

I hope it works again. I would appreciate if someone could give me a quick feedback if it is working again. Thanks.

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Hey! DaVince here. Tried out your game! It works in Linux (though I have to set the permissions on the .x86 file to executable)! :)

Man, that was crazy. I liked the end. Nice graphical style! And you picked a great topic.

Your game was confusing at first. You're just thrown in, without explanation, and the graphics are so low-res it takes some time to really figure out what you should do each game. But once you do, they're pretty fun! It's pretty impressive how you managed to code so many different minigames.

I feel that this could have integrated the theme of 10 seconds a bit better. As it is, it's not even clear that there *is* a time limit. There's no real feeling of time pressure when you don't put a timer on screen, and most of the games are usually finished well within that time. (Oh well, I shouldn't complain too much, my game has the issue of needing to wait sometimes!)

As for the audio, it's decent! Mostly weird. :P Also, I understand the audio's panning goes from right to left as sort of an indication how far you've gotten, but hearing it *entirely* on the right at the start made me wonder if my speakers were having an issue. (They do sometimes.)

Ludum Dare makes people finish games! It's awesome.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Thanks for checking my game out as well Vince, haha!


And yeah, i actually noticed somewhat early in development that it would be kind of confusing at first, but when i actually got the game in the state it is now i completely ran out of time (the reason for the dodgy audio as well, i believe it has something to do with Unitys "3D Sound" i used) and couldnt implement any visual guides for the controls or purpose of the levels anymore. So i basically just sticked to the lazy mans old saying: "Its not a bug, its a feature.". Figuring stuff out is part of the fun. ;)

The thing with the time limit is true, but wasnt a design choice i realized until i actually published the game. At first, the camera wasnt jumping to the next level after you finished one, but instead slowly scrolled and remained over a level for 10 seconds, no matter what happened. However, after i noticed how quickly some levels were possible to finish, and i didnt actually want to frustrate anyone by making the levels much harder, i included the "skipping" mechanic, where the camera just jumps to the next level when you finished one. That made the gameplay much smoother, but also pretty much completely hides the "10 Seconds" theme from the player.

So even though my initial idea was completely built around the theme, the game turned out a bit different.

Still very happy with how it turned out though. Thanks for the detailed feedback! :D

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Yay Linux version!
Liked the graphics and audio, good game overall! :)

Sloth Jesus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

It was a very funny idea, but the mini games could have been better and having to restart the whole game was frustrating.

It was mini games with a nice funny twist, and I am sure if you had more time the game itself would match up with the humor.

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

OKOK I'm holding it! ;)

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Yeah I beat your game, hold my beer!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58pm

@Recid: Im glad you succeeded at last, haha.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Did what I just played makes any sense ? I do not know, and I do not care : it was fun, that is all I need to know. Good job on that one !
I am still wondering though, what did I do in the minigame right before the fight with bat-guy ?

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

@Delca: You won a hamburger speed eating contest. :D

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Really nice pixel art and side scrolling idea!!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06am

Nice little game. It gets a bit frustrating to start from the beginning every time you fail, but I think it would have been too easy with a checkpoint system though. Solid work :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Hamburger speed eating?!?
I wasn't sure what that was, but it didn't look like that at all... what's that thing coming down from above?!?
Doesn't look very german to me, either...XD!
Still, a cool game!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

The thing coming from above is the progress bar.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55am

Really fun game, although I didn't understand how to beat the panel with the eye in it!

I love the quick mini game style in it, and I completely understood that there was a 10 second time limit, I don't get why people are grilling you for that. The only thing I didn't get at first was that I was supposed to be shooting birds, but that's because I'm an idiot :p . Really well done, loved the graphical style.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:03am

@Alex: Thanks for the nice feedback. At the end you have to not only shoot the satan-y red looking tall guy, but also the eye itself to win.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:01am

Fun game with a cool "retro" feeling, but it could use lots of extra feedbacks, like a graphic timer or more explicit goals.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Neeeed a beer :D

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Nice art, not sure about how the theme applied, though :/

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Good mini games, but one or two took me a few tries to understand what I'm supposed to do.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:03am

Liked the style and mini games. Disliked losing on a deeper game because it wasn't clear and having to start over. I think restarting on the game you failed would be more fun, especially for a compo game where you want people to see things. Your views of America are a little off, too :)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Nice work.

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I like how you can glimpse the next minigame while you are in the previous one.

Ten seconds seems too much for almost all the minigames, but the sound you apologize for seems very apropiate with these graphics, it reminds me of old arcade machines.

Josh Riley says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:36pm

You apologized for the audio in your description, but I actually really enjoyed them! Really like the concept, and the graphics are really great, too!

Capro says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Nice little game. :)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:19am

Loved the retro style artwork and interesting concept to make each screen a different puzzle.

Zap says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:50am

Awesome, awesome presentation and sweet art!
Although, it was a bit unclear what was happening sometimes, I had to read through the comments to understand the hamburger eating contest :3
It could be cool to have the games presented in a random order after each game over, so losing is not so painful. But having said that, I kept at it until I bet the game :)
Overall, pretty neat little game

Cosr says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Nice game, I really like the style and the way the minigames divided visually.

The game sort of lacked feedback, mostly in the fight with the bat-dude. It was hard to tell if you were doing anything to him or were getting hit yourself.

Starting from the very beginning after every failure was a little annoying, but mostly fine because it the game's not very long anyways.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]