August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Relativity (of 10 seconds)

by dismedia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game/experiment measures your inner clock, your own
10 seconds:)

You need to guess when countdown reaches zero.

How closely can you be?

Use mouse & spacebar key

Please post your records!:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Theme3.68
#235Innovation3.45
#639Fun2.82
#650Graphics2.74
#676Overall2.95
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I got 6s in the first try :)
Nice take on the theme! I wouldn't mind a few more levels though :)

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Damn I suck at math! :P

Excellent use of the theme, awesome little game, well done :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Great use of theme, nice little game, and I really enjoyed the different distractions that you had :P I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32am

Woah, that was hard ^^ I couldn't think about math and count that at the same time.

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:33am

Confusing at first but then i got the handle of it

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:33am

i love the concept, good job.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:34am

For some reason, I can't see the distractions. O_o

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36am

Very interesting premise, but its not working properly in chrome. No arkanoid, no anything. Except the last math question, its working.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:51am

Neat game, was pretty hard at points!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19am

I liked the simple but fresh take on the theme.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:55am

I don't know what it means but I got a 7.1s overall error. Would love to have more explanation at the end.

The concept is very good I would love to see more distracting games like a lot of counters on the page which have wrong time speed :)

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:00am

That was pretty interesting. Maybe you should've added something like a metronome because it was way too easy

Zap says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I am embarrassingly bad at maths :/
Neat little idea, felt like a Psychology test. I'd like to see more rounds in the more 'gamey' style like the second, third and fourth rounds.
Perhaps I'm just really silly, but I must admit in the first round I thought that it started counting down from 13 was the 'distraction'.
Good little idea with nice, clear presentation
(I had no problems running the game in Chrome)

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:42pm

This was really cool. :)
simple case -1.9 s.
arkanoid -0.2 s.
evading -0.1 s.
catching the boxes -0.5 s
math -1.3 s.
Got total of error value 4s. I can't believe I got the worst on simple case, haha.

bitowl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:54pm

-4.5, 2.0, -1.7, -0.2, -0.7 --> 8.7
needed some time to figure out the first three seconds were real. I've seen some more of these games, but this one is the best as it has other mini games in it :D

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:28pm

2.8s not sure if good!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]