August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Willian's Dystopia

by JQCoding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my first time doing the Ludum Dare, not sure I would say it's a success, but I did learn a ton from it. Mainly my problem was too big a scope. Real story is that Willian dies at the hands of the king when he fails to protect his daughter and arrives in a strange dystopian society. Unfortunately didn't have time to implement that. Very glitchy but wanted to get it out her anyway. Probably will release a post compo version later as well. Hope that it's playable and try to have fun!
Planned on having the combat system a seconds based thing with 10 seconds being the spell that could have saved the princess, but didn't have time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#411Humor2.52
#718Audio2.23
#913Mood2.23
#1114Innovation2.00
#1124Graphics1.83
#1153Overall2.12
#1157Theme1.88
#1167Fun1.75
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20am

It definitely looks like you overscoped this one. Even creating one dungeon, or even one room of a dungeon, would be more than enough for 48 hours of work. For your first Ludum Dare, this isn't bad though. Producing enough content can be a big hurdle, and it looks like you covered that. For future jams though, maybe try aiming for more of a vertical slice of gameplay :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34am

The mechanics seem work and your voice acting gives it a pretty cool atmosphere, but after the introduction I have no idea what to look for, and exploring without clues or roads becomes tedious.
Perhaps it could be implemented as a picture based game with voice acting to tell the story rather than a top-down rpg, since the top-down engine as it is doesn't seem to be adding to the enjoyability of the story.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43am

There was an error loading d2
I like the story in the background with the funny references.

Just wondering, why does the play button turn into the credits button on mouse over?

And I'm glad to see someone else using SFML!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Starting small and building up from there is never easy. Voice acting was a unique and very nice touch. I would love to see this expanded upon, it has a lot of potential! Nice job, and grats on finishing the First Dare!

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Not bad, You really did overscope however - Not much reference to the theme and a lack of a story. The audio didn't work for me either, but that might've helped with the story. Not bad though

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:39pm

I was kind of lost. But I thought the narration was pretty cool! And nice amount of content you put in there.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

Nice voice acting and music. Most areas seem underdeveloped.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:00am

<3 the audio
Agree with Mclogenog.

Turn down your scope dramatically. It feels like you were hoping to do a lot more than you realized.

Also, the very first thing you need to go do. Is learn how to fix your tilemap artifacts. This is happening beacuse of 'scaling', there are multiple ways to fix it. The easiest way is to pad your tiles with a 1 pixel buffer and fill that buffer in with the tile's last color
Or change it to nearest neighbor or some other variation.
Not having those simple artifacts will make the game polish improve a lot

Keep it up! Your next LD will be much better! Constant learning! Don't give up! Its a great start!

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I like the voice acting telling the story, especially that it plays while I can walk around. There's a lot of exploring which is good and more stuff to do in a post-compo would be great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]