August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cherry Bomber

by asc3nsion - Jam Entry

Brought to you by 72 hours of complete madness!

Destroy the evil cupcakes by getting a cherry bomb on top!

Fast Paced Action!
4 Hastily Designed Levels!(and Counting)
Built in Game Bugs!

Instructions:
------------------------------------------

1.Click Cannon to spawn.
2. Move UP or DOWN to Aim.
3. Click again to lock Aim.
4. Click a bomb to send it to the cannon.
5. After firing the cannon can be aimed again.
6. You can then adjust the cannon aim, or spawn a new cannon.

------------------------------------


More to come on this project... :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#273Humor(Jam)2.47
#349Graphics(Jam)3.03
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#402Audio(Jam)2.46
#466Fun(Jam)2.46
#496Overall(Jam)2.64
#511Mood(Jam)2.18
#554Theme(Jam)2.27

Comments

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

Play Play Play Play!

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04am

The concept is great, but the gameplay is a bit confusing. Unless I missed something, there's only one chance to place each cannon exactly right? It didn't feel very fair.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

The gameplay is really frustrating and an instruction screen could have been usefull for this one. Destroying cupcake is still funny though, and the sounds work is pretty nice.

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

I too was a bit confused by the gameplay but that is one fine looking game, it feels very polished as well, just a bit confusing at times.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14am

Thanks guys... There is an order.
1.Click Cannon to spawn.
2. Move up to Aim.
3. Click again to lock Aim.
4. Click a bomb to send it to the cannon.
5. You can then adjust the cannon aim, or spawn a new cannon.

I will be posting a game play video sonn. Thanks for Playing!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

No cupcake will be spared...

Codexus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48am

Good game. I like the little characters. Not so easy to aim somewhat accurately.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59am

complete game, thx 4 video.
But awkward control. :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59am

You make it look so easy in that instructional video. :) I tried again and I still couldn't land the bomb just right. Nice visuals though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08am

It looks like it should be a good game... but the gameplay was just really disappointing. The cannon tile placement is awkward. The cannons are hard to aim. Even when you aim well the bombs just bounce off. I was too frustrated to even try to get past the first level.

Great art though. I think this could be made into a great game... it's just not there yet.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29am

Haha this is hilarious. Love the modeling of the cupcake :D Zany game, fun once I got into it!

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Thank you for the comment! Guess I better update the aiming mechanic... I know the sweet spots for aiming, so it is easy for me.

Currently to aim you should really only move the mouse up or down to aim after clicking. If you move left or right it has no affect.

To me this made the mechanic more simple. But perhaps it is expected that you should move the mouse left and right?

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Not the most intuitive game, but still interesting.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I love the look of the cupcakes! This game is hard, but fun to play. I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Thanks you Jupiter_Hadley you earned yourself a new subscriber my friend!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02am

Cupcake rules!! I love your concept :)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20am

Thanks for rating my game! My only gripe is that I can't tell what layer the cupcakes are on . Maybe you can draw a grid for reference so that I don't misplace my cannons. Othewise. Your animations and style are great. I'd love to see a full version of the game.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:59am

The graphics are very interesting to look at, which is cool.

metranil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Once I understood the controls, this was a lot of fun!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49am

Nice sounds. Loved the humor. The gameplay is a bit confusing but after watching the video I quickly got the hang of it. It's fun, just needs a tutorial level or something. Good work.

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:31am

I had a ton of fun with this game! it's one of my favorites from LD27.

I had a real hard time at first and then I read your steps on what I should be doing. It cleared everything up and I was able to make it pretty dang far,

Great work.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:50am

Awesome to know that it was enjoyed! :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:55am

Addictive game. Had trouble realising you had to get the wee bomb on top of the cupcakes rather than next to it but when I did, loved it.

Nice one!

Ailin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Brilliant absurde-but-so-fucking-funny concept

Ailin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Brilliant absurde-but-so-fucking-funny concept.
Some collision bug sometime when you try to shoot the cherrys on top of cakes.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

AWESOME CONCEPT! Really innovative idea and the game is just too damn cute. I love the expressions on the cupcakes when you kill them. Awesome sound effects, too!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Really nicely made, seems well polished. I like the interesting use of the camera angle since most of these games have either a straight up or down or left right camera angle. Was pretty hilarious too blowing up cupcakes angry birds style. Really nice job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:30pm

next to impossible controls -- nice try

designatius says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Hard game but fun to play! Good work!

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:40am

Super cute art and a fun mechanic! One thing you may consider is having a little extra feedback for the states of the cannon (showing which ones can be clicked, when they are in the aim state, and which one the next bomb will go to, etc.) It may help make for a smoother experience. Good job overall!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]