August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chrono Blood Ninja

by theholychicken - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a ninja and your head is set to explode in ten seconds. The only way to delay the
inevitable is by cutting down everything that stands in your way!
Lots of blood! Hope you like it!


****************************Post-Compo Changes:****************************
2013/09/04 - v1.033:
-RESTART BUTTON at game over screen (ENTER Key)
-(much)Better ROCK MUSIC by Kevin MacLeod(royalty-free from incompetech.com)
-Fixed after-death collisions
-Minor minor tweaks to code

More post-compo stuff to come! Have fun with this for now!

********************************Controls:**********************************
-Arrow keys for movement.
-Z to attack.

-ENTER KEY TO RESTART after death(POST COMPO VERSION ONLY)

*********************************Tips:*************************************

1.You can climb walls and double jump!

2.Killing enemies puts time in your timer. When the timer runs out your head will explode.

3.The goal of the game is killing enemies as fast and efficiently as possible while speeding
across the rooms to keep your head from exploding. I balanced the game so that the timer
will be at an average of 10 seconds if you play well enough. Watch the Youtube videos to
see how I play :3
http://youtu.be/gfKd5tEoSn4
http://youtu.be/2_iE6Y1XfMI(old)

4.If you find you are already very low on time early in the game, make sure you try to kill as
many enemies as you can before going for the exit! On the other hand, if the remaining
enemies are obviously too far, go for the door!


***************************************************************************
***************************************************************************
This game uses the Microsoft XNA 4.0 Framework (and .NET).
You can download the (ClickOnce)Installer Version to automatically install
any missing frameworks:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/q7dng02m6m5zgyi/ChronoBloodNinja1_0_0_1InstallerVersion.zip

Or, you could download the XNA 4.0 Redistributable from
http://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/download/details.aspx?id=20914
***************************************************************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Fun3.79
#291Humor2.75
#306Overall3.32
#347Mood3.02
#352Graphics3.25
#582Innovation2.92
#594Audio2.47
#792Theme2.90

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

The game's use of the theme wasn't entirely evident at first. It certainly makes up for it in sheer fun. Nice!

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

Pulling off a a double jump and then slicing though a bunch of enemies was very satisfying. Great work. I'm not as good at it as you are in your video.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

Thanks!
I tried my best to spread the 10 second theme though the game, but it's mostly in how the player begins with 10 seconds on his death clock and tries to outrun the 10 second countdown by killing enemies on the way... If he stands still he'll die in 10 exactly seconds.

I tried to balance it so that casual play would keep the timer close to a slow countdown from 10 seconds.
But of course if you are good you can get the timer to 20 or 40 like I was doing in the video. I decided not to make the game's difficulty based on skilled play because I think it would distract any player from enjoying the process if the pressure was too high.

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45am

That was really fun. It could use a restart button though.

Holofire says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Very enjoyable and satisfying game. Played a few times, only got to 66 kills. I kinda suck at it. Good job!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Severely needs a restart button. Quite fun, even if not that varied. I like the little sprites. Also, the fact that you can't go back in to the last room through the hole that's right there is very misleading.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

nice effects 3:

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

EXCELLENT, but I think the lack of a restart key made me get tired of playing it really fat. I would've stayed a whole lot longer.
Please add it, I really want to continue playing. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Thanks for your comments! I really regret not adding the restart key now. I'll be sure to add it in a post-compo version and upload it!
I guess it's a good sign that you guys aren't finding the game too easy, I was kind of worried about that :]

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Cool game with a really nice visual style to it, and a lot of fun to play. Really like the teensy little sprites :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Love the pixel art and all the visuals, particularly the blood.. really fun too! I rated this one highly, good work! :D

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Bit worried how much fun I found this :)

Just one small thing - personally I found it really awkward using the up arrow key for jump - would have been nice to have it on space or x or something.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32am

Awesome!!! Could play this for hours! Haha

But for the love of GOD put in a restart button or something. Had to restart your game by closing the window -_-

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

Fast killing for high score with speed platform gamplay. Dig it ! Really cool use of the theme and nice gameplay.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

Having the timer [ accidentally? ] display behind platform needs to be fixed

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

@wally2069
Haha yeah.. It would have been pretty easy to have stopped platforms from generating in the area but at the time I felt if I did that the random generated levels will feel less spontaneous..
I loved your game by the way, I was almost going to give up until I realized the ghost follows my exact same path :]

timothyolt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

Definitely playing in Windows, this looks like a must-play. Wish it worked in WINE.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42am

Good carnage. I enjoyed this one.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

Funny, kill biil style. :)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

So simple yet so fun to mess around with

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47am

Wow! The controls and the few graphics that are present are really amazing! If you continue to develop this into something more after the Ludum Dare is over you'll have a crazy fun game on your hands. As others said, a restart button would be nice... and I'd love to see more types of enemies or more room configurations that let you really make use of the awesome ninja controls you've programmed in, like the wall climbing!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53am

nice one!

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

Very fun game with tight controls (important for this kind of gameplay), and it feels very good slicing your way through your enemies :)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58am

This game makes you feel like a badass, haha. But more time could of gone into making the levels look nicer.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I find myself going back to play this game in between my constant rating of the other games, so I'm pretty confident this is the most fun I've had playing a game in here.
But please, for the love of god, add a restart button.
I would love to see you further develop this, as it is already whole tons of fun.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

(also, the lack of increasing difficulty is awesome. If you want my vote, I vote do not change that, but instead add powerups and temporary stuff. If you really wanna go crazy, make the actual game with increasing difficulty and stuff, but make a survival play mode like this, just killing people and getting powerups and stuff. Just my 2 cents.)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Super fun and loved the use of the theme. I thought it was kind of easy/simple, but would love to see something like this expanded beyond the 48 hours. :)

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Excellent job this is really fun! Well executed nice work.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:10pm

great game :)

-ENDESGA

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:15am

I have a lot of fun with this game! :)
It needs a restart key!!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

Love all your comments! Thanks for the encouragements, they mean a lot to me :]

I definitely intend to continue making this game into something bigger. The setting will be an onion-like tower where the difficulty increase with the layer. The player can advance the layers by going through boss rooms by entering optional doors after stocking up enough time!
Oh and yes there will be a restart button.
It will be lots of fun! But for now I am still trying to rate and comment everyone else's games until Ludum ends :]

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

cool

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

This is awesome. Needed a restart button. Super fast paced and fluid movement. I would have liked jump to be something other than 'up' personally but that's pretty minor.

Great use of the theme, great decision "tradeoff" about whether to stick around and kill more stuff or dash for the exit.

Could use music! But this is LD, music's always a bonus. :)

Highest score so far is 144.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

good job

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58am

Flows so smoothly, great job on making it nice and snappy. Immensely satisfying just cutting through swaths of enemies.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Neat game, wasn't sure if there was a restart button.

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

Ace game very fun :)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

Good entry, fun, quite satistying to slice people. The audio loop starts to be quite annoying after a while tho, and the game could use some variety and increased challenges (I stopped playing after getting bored around 22s remaining and 680+ kills because it was repetitive :) ).

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I love the gore when you die, nice little touch.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Wah, that was very fun! The feeling of running through walls and slicing up enemies was thrilling!
I know many people have told you about the restart thing already, so I'm not going to bother you about it. :P

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Yes! Pixel blood!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Bwahaha I leave my enemies bleeding in agony while I jump around towards my next victim. They never had a chance. And then I've disappeared!

Very very cool ,theholychicken!!! What's your kill count?

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

Cool graphics and awesome blood effects! Really satisfying to slash all those ninja and wall jump around the rooms. As everyone else has already said it does need a restart key though. Great job!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

@Christina Antoinette Neofotistou
The game I played last night was 2305 Kills :3

@EggDestroyer
Haha my thoughts exactly! I was hoping everyone would have had their volumes low enough that they didn't notice my crappy loopy music XD
I thought a lot about how I can make the game more challenging over time for my post-compo release, and it is this:
The player will *choose* to increment the challenge *mid-game* by entering optional boss-levels which lead to a more difficult layer of the game after the boss is defeated.
Each layer can feature different map generation algorithms and enemy varieties.
The player will keep advancing the difficulty layers by going through optional boss rooms until the final boss fight where he can beat the game.
This way everyone can play at their own pace without being pushed out of the game unwillingly.

Thanks again for all your feedback! Another day of Ludum rating ahead!

davisan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:57am

Great game, amazing controls, nice pixel art and animations! Loved it!

Anachron says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

Tight control and rad pixel art!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:53am

Very cool. The music was repetitive, but the platforming ws tight and the idea was interesting.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

So much fun! So much horrifying, blood-haemorrhaging fun! I really enjoyed this - an awesome mechanic with great intuitive controls and a lively pace. Just really entertaining.

I'd love to see an extended version with more interesting backdrops (although the current minimalist style works just fine too) and a less repetitive soundtrack. Perhaps more variety of enemies too. But those aren't criticisms, just suggestions in case you plan to take this further. I hope you do!

designatius says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

Love it, specially the gore approach. Pixel art is great and it's super fun to play. Awesome work!

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:02pm

What I love about this game are the smooth controls - even though (as others pointed out) a restart button is pretty much essential (how did you even test it without one? :x).

Perhaps more variety in the levels? There's not much I can find to say about it. Anyway I enjoyed playing it, keep them coming!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:26am

No reboot button, but I liked it all the same. Blood sound effect was perfect. Miniature massacre!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very fun to play. And so satisfying to slay a entire line of enemies. I missed a song to set the slaughtering mood. hehe The control were pretty easy to learn, making the gameplay very smooth. Very nice job!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Suuuuuuuuch lot of meat and shit there! I like it, very dynamic!

mollymus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I could swear I've already rated and commented this game, but apparently not? Anyway, I really enjoy the gameplay and graphics! Its a simple game but its really quite fun and definitly a good time-killer! Good job!

vladimirdlc says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:54am

It gets hectic, and as people have told you, it will need a restart button.
This is simple but pure fun, the music is a little monotonous, next time try a longer tune.

redo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

There's always something great about killing some ninjas and sprinkle the ground with their blood! In a game, of course :D

cafeine says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very good! A restart key would be nice. I'd love to see a post-compo version, with more ninja-ish things to do (shuriken throwing?), different enemies and maybe different layouts.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:54am

Immensely fun and satisfying, love it!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:08pm

ARRRGH
The first Post-Compo(v1.033) is uploaded!
Featuring:
-Awesome royalty-free music by Kevin MacLeod(incompetech.com)
-RESTART BUTTON
-Minor minor touchups

I will keep working on the game, and there will be more releases with new features.
I got the flu so don't want to explain too much more... Have fun with this for now D:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wx4n9e2ybueyggy/Chrono%20Blood%20Ninja_1_0_3_3%28Post%20Compo%29.zip

gamepopper says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Really good fast paced hack 'n slash platformer. Liked the idea of "more you kill, longer you last" sort of aspect to it. Shame the graphics sometimes covered the score and timer, it got irritating not knowing how long I had left. :/

Luffer says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Really enjoyed the Game Dude!Im just missing a restart Button.Can you possible ad one at some point?
Oh and a little question are the rooms randomly generated or is there a amount of preset rooms?

Ithildin says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Nice (from a gory point of view ;D) entry!

The compo version badly needs some restart hotkey or button. Other than that, controls are precise and gameplay is simple and fun. Well done! :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Restart key is in the post compo!!! :c

lalanl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:43am

I like the style and graphics a lot, and the controls are broad and leave a nice amount of room for mastery. I'll definitely be checking out the updates. Great work!

Marcellus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:37am

Lots of fun ! also, double jump is the greatest thing invented in videogames since the fireball. gratz !

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:53am

Is there something better than pixel blood ?
The game is really dynamic, and controls are smooth.
I liked the graphics, but maybe scale them up a bit.

Mesene says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice, a little more work or background art would be great :D

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Cool game! Simplistic graphics always please me, and the small characters are really charming! Sound effects are very well placed, but music could be less repetitive.
I had a lot of fun and manage 330 kills before dying by the hands of an enemy. =(
The rooms are infinite??

Good work! =D

Sascha says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Good fun, and I like the art and animations! Game would definitely look better even at 2x scale, like this it was almost too small.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:39am

Really fun with the free-form movement. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:23am

omg there is blood everywhere. nice!

shard123 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Really amazing and polished, loved the fluid controls and blood! Found a funny bug where if you die wall jumping you keep climbing to the top of the screen!

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Funny idea! Could have used some audio, but I did enjoy playing regardless, loved the blood explosion when you die.

goodpaul6 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:10am

Really really fun, simply put.
Great Job!

Reaperguy says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:25am

Really love this one! One of the most fun games of the whole compo. Really good controls too, some of the best that i've used in all the games i've played (and something that I can't do) :(

Reaperguy says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:27am

Really love this one! One of the most fun games of the whole compo. Really good controls too, some of the best that i've used in all the games i've played (and something that I can't do) :( I also really liked the graphics style, as simpe as it is, it was awesome (especioally the blood). Really good job!

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Pretty intense stuff you got there!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:42am

For a while I thought "well this game feels pretty impossible to lose" and then suddenly everything fell apart and I died. xD Awesome game; it'd make a great mobile app for killing time.

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:43am

Looks good, unfortunately I'm on Linux :-S Perhaps you could port this to Monogame some day?

Soundless_dev says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:19am

NOOO!! I died at 1059 kills and still had 35 seconds left ]:
Really fun game though[: wasn't complete, but still really fun and satisfying. controls and reset button should be included in the original build. Without that I can't really consider it complete /:

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Splat! heh heh heh

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:45pm

The bloo particle effect was very fun! Even the game is a little bit repetitive, see the blood shattering everywhere make me have fun while playing it! And i see you added most of the missing features i noted in post-compo version, so, nice work!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Finally a game more bloody than mine. Very nice design and smooth controls, nice one holy chicken this is good

Cryovat says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:26pm

The controls were perfect, and I loved the blood effects. It got a bit repetitive after I passed 400 kills, but the core gameplay mechanic works very, very well.

My only criticism is that it's a bit easy to get stuck and lose precious time, but that got better with practice.

You're going in the right direction with the post-compo version. Add some upgrades and larger enemies, and it will be a great title. Excellent job, hats off! :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Awesome!! Very addictive and super entertaining, my best score was 1109. The music in the original wasn't bad I enjoyed it but the music in the post compo version is jus superb!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]