August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

donut panic

by dlowe - Jam Entry

Donut Panic is a single- or multi-player arcade style game, in which you try to prevent monsters from eating your donuts... which for some reason are scattered randomly around a maze. Bad Things happen if they eat the donuts.

It is much easier to stop the bad guys if you have help :)

(NOTE: you can squish the weaker monsters by running into them. Once they eat a donut, the tables are turned and they squish you! And there's no winning: just see how long you can protect your donuts.)

This is my first Ludum Dare. I'm not really a game programmer, but this was a lot of fun! I collaborated with my 6-year-old son, and we are both somewhat silly people, so...

Theme stuff: new baddies spawn every 10 seconds, getting squished lasts 10 seconds, chat bubbles hover for 10 seconds. *Shrug* :)

Tech stuff:

* python/tornado websocket server and game engine
* javascript/html5 client
* cooperative multiplayer or singleplayer
* in-game chat
* homemade music & sound effects
* hand-drawn graphics
* randomly generated levels

And potential caveats:

* almost exclusively tested in Chrome. Likely to be broken in other browsers, especially the bits that rely on CSS.
* playing across the open internet is doable, but lack of client-side prediction makes it kind of unresponsive. You may find it more enjoyable to set up on a LAN, or just on your computer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#214Humor(Jam)2.74
#451Audio(Jam)2.14
#491Innovation(Jam)2.42
#495Mood(Jam)2.25
#528Graphics(Jam)2.36
#559Theme(Jam)2.25
#575Fun(Jam)2.04
#583Overall(Jam)2.31
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

I tried out the multiplayer version of this with a friend. I really like the idea, but unfortunately I couldn't figure out what exactly to do to protect my donuts. With a bit of polish I think this could be a fun little web game.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

Tried out a bit of single player and multiplayer, but unfortunately couldn't figure out any of the game mechanics like stopping monsters from getting donuts. I also was lagging pretty bad, like maybe 2-4 FPS - not sure what that was about. Any hints?

Otherwise, props for trying out some multiplayer development!

dlowe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48am

Thanks for the feedback!

I've updated the description with a bit more detail about the gameplay: you can stop the monsters by stomping on them, until they eat a donut, after which they stomp you. And there's no winning condition.

@Vaughn: 2-4 FPS: ouch. I'd assume the network was to blame -- I basically didn't do any work on optimizing what goes over the wire (e.g. delta compression) or compensating for bad network latency (e.g. client-side prediction). If you want to give it another shot, installing it locally should be reasonably easy....

Thanks again!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I've used singleplayer and it was really slow to move

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:04am

Cute graphic, i like the little pig. Nice game, need a little bit of polish but this is a fun mini game !

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49pm

You probably shouldn't put "multiplayer arcade-style game" in the first line of the description when the game has a single player mode, that made me skip this game when I first looked at it cos I had no one to play with and assumed it meant ONLY multiplayer.

dlowe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:36pm

@Tifu: Good point. Fixing.

@archaeometrician: Thank you!

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I didn't manage to reach donuts before monsters ate them :(

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

I can't play it. Your web page is not loading :(. Not error, just a timeout.

sanojian says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Getting timeout. Can't play it.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Is loading for me. Just a bit slow.

Qaterknan says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Shame there isn't more game mechanics or score (or just I couldn't find it). But funny graphics.

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Good little game, need more to make it look pretty but good attempt!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]