August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Paths

by laserbeam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: The game was moved on my website to a proper page, the old link will still be available for the duration of voting, but will be then removed. The game was also ported for Windows, OSX and Linux. Next up: Android and iOS ports (apparently I have to create an icon for the game... I didn't know this was required, but it seems that I must if I need to build the 2 ports).


Get the bombs to the correct side before they explode in 10 seconds!

Instructions are ingame (please read them :) ).

For those interested in details, there's a longer post on my blog about why I made this and what's the idea behind the game. http://thescrambledbit.com/2013/08/ludum-dare-27-10-seconds/

Tools used:

Engine: Construct 2 (full version, you need at least the free version to view the source code, however you can't change the code without the paid version due to some restricted features I used, their rules not mine)

Graphics: Construct 2 and GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#250Innovation3.41
#260Theme3.48
#404Fun3.10
#449Overall3.16
#498Graphics2.97
#772Mood2.46

Comments

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Interesting idea! I really like the shimmer animation on the pieces.

I found I didn't have that much time to direct the bombs around though. I either got lucky and they ended up going the right way or I floundered a bit and had them explode. If they travelled faster there would be more scope to plan their route. The warning about where they were coming from might need to be longer in that case to give you a chance to plan. Just a thought though!

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

Thanks :) I spent ages balancing this, and yeah, considered a lot of what you said but for the speed, if I made them move much faster the "10 second" part would be completely lost.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00am

I always got so flooded with X's that I never had the pieces I needed to get things working. Also, the pieces appearing spontaneously on the grid was hella annoying.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11am

Thanks madk, during testing the X was basically the best piece you can get. I actually had to decrease the number of Xes you get as it caused dominant strategies in earlier versions. Everything's random though, I'm not controlling anything other than the probability of a certain tile showing up. You're also screwed if you don't get enough X tiles. The way it is now you may run into a game with too many or too few pieces, but most of the time it's quite ok :).

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35am

Really interesting design in this one, definitely a little different from the norm. Visuals are clear and kinda stylish too. Definitely one I'd like to see you follow up on sometime down the line.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

Neat idea!
And as I read you also carefully balanced the new tiles. With lots of red X you'd simply keep the playfield empty.

The rotators are hard to distinguish on a short glance, you should make the arrow head more prominent.

And sound! :)

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42am

Neat concept. Gets a little heck tic at times.

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49am

Item placement mechanic isn't very clear.. a more standard drag'n'drop might be more intuitive?

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51am

Yeah, Endurion, I can see they aren't too obvious. Rotating in games like this is always a bit confusing and I could have done better there. Can't really change it now for the purpose of the contest though :(.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53am

hmm... sol_hsa, actually If I change the code so that selecting happens on click and placing on release, both 2 clicks and drag'n'drop should work, is it against the rules to change this?

graytest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

This is a fun game. I can see myself replaying this a few times. Feels like I'm getting better at it every time.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Fun game, it's a shame it's constrained to 10 seconds really... either that or I'm just terrible xD.
Good job nonetheless :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Pretty nice game.. It's fun!

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08pm

ThirteenWB, I might actually release a version with no time limit after the contest. The 10 second rule made this game much simpler than it was in my mind originally (had ideas with armies and tower defence games with such mechanics), but might have made it too hard. Getting the right bomb in the right place is a proper challenge in itself ;)

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

This is a pretty good idea. It was kind of confusing at first. The help page could have been more descriptive.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I like the concept, it would be fun on tablet ;) Maybe the self spawning pieces on playground are little bit annoying.. there should be some visual warning before they appear on the spot imho. But overall it's really good! :)

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Great job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I like the idea, but somehow, I'm either incredibly lucky or incredibly unlucky... maybe make you never get twice the same bomb comming from the same side?Also would be cool if you started with more pieces, because the first bombs are mostly luck.
Great neverless!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

Was interesting and different.
Audio?

Was a little bit lost/confused at first.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Interesting game, its hard and I failed at it epically but, I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

Ciaran54 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Fun, and exciting puzzle, but I also thought the learning curve was a bit tough ;)

laserbeam says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:07pm

:)) Thanks for the feature Jupiter :)) video is awesome! Yes, watching looks way harder than I've seen people play this game, but I do have some cool ideas for a future version.

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:36pm

This is very fun! I like the concept a lot, and the palette of colors is very well selected.

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:52am

Pretty cool game!
This game is a little difficult to get the bombs to their right side in time, making it easy to lose a life. Getting the bombs at the wrong side is ideal to lose a life. Losing a life when the bomb explodes after 10 seconds should be a little more forgiving somehow. Maybe if the right colored bomb exploding near the correct edge of the board, no life is lost? Just one suggestion, but I'm sure you'll think of some great ideas!

Lizzip says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Really like this. I find the pace quite quick, but I think thats something that I would get used to the more I played

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]