August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Avalanche

by Draktharr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first game ever (not only on ludum dare)!
This is what my game looks like after 15 hours of hard work!

I lost way too many times with my particle effects, since I was learning how to make them at the same time, and it took me forever to open a xml file (for some reason, I could open it on eclipse but not after exporting my project >.>). I also am a crappy artist, so you will notice that the player is a blob instead of a human (way easier to make something without legs haha)

The game was written in java using the slick2d framework on eclipse. I also used paint.net. I used sunvox, audacity and as3sfxr for the music/sound.

This game may not be the best, but I had a lot of fun creating it.

GOAL : Survive as long as possible, try to avoid the spikes. Each 10 seconds, a random event will make the game harder.

CONTROLS : left and right button

Thank you all for playing this game, enjoy it and please don't forget to comment as this is my first game ever!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#192Fun3.41
#324Humor2.67
#392Theme3.33
#426Audio2.76
#428Overall3.18
#489Mood2.81
#735Innovation2.74
#822Graphics2.45

Comments

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Score:396 ;)

Very impressive as a first game, congrats ;)
I enjoyed it, very nice particle effects, and the effects were pretty funny too! The changing gameplay kept it interesting. Could do with some background music or sounds, I thought, though.

Thanks for making it ;)

wolfadex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

This style game was the first ever game I made. :)

Draktharr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

@Ciaran54 : Thank you really much :)

For the music, I'm quite sorry but I was a bit shot on time, I thought about looping the game music, but you have no idea how it would make the player go crazy after the fifth time (trust me I tried it on my brother haha). So yeah, I should have made a longer soundtrack :)

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Was gonna say the game needs audio until I got to the part where you actually hate the audio lol

The changes are nice, and liked the gameplay but in the end I was bored.

Gyncoca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06am

Great game ! But you stop music after 10sec and it's a little bit annoying.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

577! Great job on your first game! The effects did a superb job of distracting me, as I'm certain they were intended to. Great job on the music as well. It was a nice touch.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

I think its too simple and I can not see anything original in it. But its definitely playable! Cg on your first game!!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

Cool game. Great game that it is your first. I really liked the change of game play every 10 seconds. Fun!!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Score of 1011. Congratulations, your game made me feel proud of myself. :P
It really is kind of cool for what it is. In the beginning I was slightly underwhelmed (the title made me expect something different than a simple dodge game I guess), but I like how it just went completely insane on the effects side after a while. It was so disorienting that after a while I was almost sure everything was rotating. Still a little dizzy.. :D

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Excellent first LD attempt!

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Score: 626, I enjoyed that quite a bit, would have one good with "Random powerups" too ;D Had myself laughing everytime it would randomly play that fruity music haha, well done!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

That's very good, you should definitely keep making games :-)

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Wow awesome first game, grats!

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Pretty good game. Congrats :)

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

I actually had a ton of fun, and i loved the randomness that was added every 10 seconds! Would be cool to see a fully fleshed out version with more random effects :D

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

More Music! Hehe made me laugh. I actually went into this with not high expectations but it's a pretty nice game. The 10 second aspect you have has that "1 more turn" feel to it.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11am

quite nice game. and extra point for beign your first game :D i'll not penalize you for the absence of music thinghy, since my first game was mute xD

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02am

Great game! Nice work :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:55am

Nice work, the small burst of music mid-game is kind of weird though, I think the music should play throughout the whole game so there's not this weird dead air thing going on. Loving the fire particles - especially how they sway with the wind!

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Nice job, I enjoyed playing it.

Tigro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

At first I was like "meh, another 'dodge for 10 seconds'" but when I started playing, I didn't want it to end :) Good job.

CogComp says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Felt nicely balanced. Loved the music! Great work!

Morusque says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:19pm

more music ! more colors ! that was pretty funny

sxaktosxafo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:58pm

The player looks like a beak-less penguin more than a human or a blob, and I find it quite cute! Nice game!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:43am

Score: 429;
Very nice work!!!
I love the sounds and the visuals were very good!
The particle effects were very nice too.
I think it would have made the game a bit better if certain things went away after the next thing was added. I.e MORE COLOURS. Hahah. Awesome work. especially for a first game!
8/10! Keep it up man! I would love to see more from you. (Did you study programming at university or was this all self taught? Thanks!)

Draktharr says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:59am

@MrBlade I currently am starting my second year of university, but most of the game programming was self taught (they don't teach you how to make video games at university haha). For your more color problem, I'm pretty sure I fixed that o.o After the first time you see "more color", it will never come back and be replaced by "CHAOS!", which practically increased everything.

Thank you anyway for your comment :D

sans_seraph says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:53am

Pretty simple game but you made it very memorable with cool effects, interesting difficulty changes, and hilarious random events. Really great first game.

Oana says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:23am

Very good for a first game. You should definitely continue making them.

It was very compelling to see what would happen next, so good use of the theme. I really liked small details such as your character moving a bit as well when there's wind. It is a lot better than many of the games I've seen around here.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Very cute game, loved the music :D xD i know is simple but very fun n.n i score 574 points xD... i really like this game :D great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]