August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape

by CodeHat - Jam Entry

Important note: If your browser thinks that the download is a virus, download it anyway, it isn't a virus!

Description:
In "Escape" you must find a key and bring it into its lock.
You have '10 Seconds' before a wave of enemies spawns around you. The only weapon you've got, is a little gun.
If the key is in its lock, you have '10 Seconds' to upgrade your moving speed with coins. Killing enemies brings coins. Higher wave = More enemies AND Enter an electric field = Reduce health ;D

I hope you'll have fun :D

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move around
Space - Shoot with your 'little' gun
Escape - Exit the game (only works ingame, not in upgrade- or startscreen!)

Credits:
Code and Images by me
Logo by http://textcraft.net/
Sound by SFXR
Music by http://www.nosoapradio.us/

Programmed in GameMaker:Studio Professional

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#313Audio(Jam)2.76
#431Fun(Jam)2.56
#492Mood(Jam)2.27
#502Theme(Jam)2.59
#566Overall(Jam)2.44
#571Graphics(Jam)2.06
#598Innovation(Jam)1.89
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48pm

AREN'T WE ALL ALWAYS ALREADY ESCAPING?

Nights57 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Great music! The delay on the laser (it seems to shoot about a second after I've released spacebar, dunno if that's intentional or not) took a bit to get used to but once I had was a blastem dem robots. Fun simple game, reminds me a lot of robotron

CodeHat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45pm

YES, WE ARE ESCAPING OF THE TRUTH :D

CodeHat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47pm

@Nights57: Yes, I know this with the laser, it's a bit hesitant. I look if I can fix it ;)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:48am

Nice idea. I would suggest you add some variance to the levels other than adding enemies. Almost all of the levels had the key on screen when I spawned, and after doing a quick circle round spawn, I was able to find the exit. Nice music, and, I think you should fix the delay on the laser :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:43pm

It's funny how the enemies stack up after a while of following you, making them look like a giant spider. :D
I didn't even notice the music at first since I had my volume turned down a bit, but was still able to hear the sound effects without any problems. But it is indeed nice.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

Interesting
I love the animation on the little dude quite a lot!

Toshiro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:36am

Cool game ! The only problem is the time between twho shot, too looong. But you made a goode work ;)

AlvaroH says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Good idea!

jprogman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:52am

The firing need to be more responsive, especially when I'm being ambushed by many enemies!
Otherwise, good work on the game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]