August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sleep Well

by bassarisse - Jam Entry

In this game, you're a neuron trying to send messages to the body while asleep to prevent apnea!

For every suspension of breathing, try to hit the brain connection at the top of the area as much as you can to reduce the apnea level to 0. If you take more than 10 seconds to do it, it will take that into account to build your result at the end.

Sadly, I didn't have time to thoroughly explain the concepts in game. Not everyone knows what apnea is, I guess.

UPDATE 07/09/2013:
I published an improved version of the game on GameJolt! Thanks everyone for the amazing feedback!
http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/sleep-well/17449/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#100Innovation(Jam)3.47
#140Mood(Jam)3.34
#161Audio(Jam)3.22
#231Theme(Jam)3.23
#299Graphics(Jam)3.23
#309Humor(Jam)2.35
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#427Fun(Jam)2.57

Comments

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57am

Interesting idea! I just think that the hero movement was too slow.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04am

Yeah, there's a kind of gravity on the game. I thought about showing some tips on the game over screen (one of them being: "use your energy to move faster"), but it was to late.

tiagosr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43am

I thought the idea was interesting too, but I guess I got a bit lost up until the end of my first playthrough, and I couldn't quite catch what the mechanics were for the score. But I could feel the tension growing over the last stages. Nice game!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

Interesting idea, but I don't really get the point. Still, nice game.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

The controls were terribly slow, but I really like the mood the game set. The graphics are also very good.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

I like the concept a lot, but I think it needed a little variation in there to keep people interested.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26am

Cool idea but the controls were a bit too hard to master.

Dracae says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43am

Nice game! It would've been nice to have an ingame explanation of things. I went though the whole game confused, and got a horrible score that is way in the negatives! XD

pcmccull says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:18am

The first time through, I didn't have any idea what to do, so I just shot at the blue things. Then I read the instructions. Even knowing the goal, it was difficult to get under 10 seconds for the first level and almost impossible for the higher levels. I did play it through three times and finally got some positive scores the last time. The movement did seem slow until I figured out that I could shoot to move faster. It did make me want to keep trying until I beat the timer, so good game :)

Infernal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:22am

could not control the character early enough in a round, losing seconds. the boost thing worked against me because it didn't always change direction fast enough and I'd end up boosting in the wrong direction.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:29am

Nice game, but too hard for me :P

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Weird, but very nicely executed game look & sound. I had to look up apnea to refresh my knowledge a bit. :) Gameplaywise interesting, but wasn't quite sure what I was supposed to be doing.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Pretty atmospheric, I love the mood in this game. Great audio, fits really well! The game got hard real quick and I wasn't sure if I'm doing well until I realized I got negative score in the end. :P

D-e-X says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12am

Neat game, graphics are great.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

sweet

gmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

fantastic idea, interesting art!! great job!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

Nice work, and educational! I didn't mind the slow movement. It feels a little like soccer/football.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

the attack thing felt satisfying. had no problem with controls. but it's a bit hard to figure if I am doing good in this game and what is the end goal. and who the hell are the blue guys. evil neurons?
breathing effect was really nicely done.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Weird little game. Loved the sound world you created. The gameplay got boring a bit fast though, no enemy variety and with the slowness of the movement. Interesting concept though, I know a few people who suffer from apnea.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Wow very original idea, didn't think to use space to speed myself upward faster until the last level, haha. I liked this one a lot!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

Really liked the overall atmosphere and the original setting.

Red Mike says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

Very interesting! A bit slow-paced at times, but fun nonetheless. I love the graphics.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:02am

The mood of this is great and I think it's a good use of the theme. Really good idea.

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Interesting idea, I've never played with a neuron before!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I love the idea and setting. But I think the controlls could be improved. I'll not forget the Hero-Neuron for a while ;)

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:40pm

After a few attempts it started to click. It's pretty entertaining once you get the hang of it.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:39pm

The graphics and audio are nice. Creates a good mood. Gameplay wasn't particularly fun; I think the movement was a bit too slow and clunky.

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:26am

Nice! I like the sluggish movement and the enemy behaviors. Neat little game

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:55pm

The hero moves soooo slooooow =/ I tried everything to be faster, shooting energy "downwards" to use the recoil, getting hit by evil guys from below to launch myself up...
The breathing SFX is really relieving though, I caught myself holding my breath during a level once. Good job!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:46am

Cool concepts! I found the blue neurons a little confusing (couldn't kill them..?) and the control was kind of hard.
Good work! =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]