August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

100-Dash Dreams

by frogcheese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run the 100-meter dash. Alternate left and right on the keyboard to speed up. Listen to the wise words of your coach. My first Ludum Dare attempt - as well as my first "published" game - may not have a whole lot of game in it, but on the other hand you'll be finished with it in less than five minutes :)

What does this have to do with 10 seconds? Well, sub-10 is a pretty good time for a 100-meter dash. Something to aim for. Or so I'm told. I was going to add a few "mini-games" relating to this as well, but 48 hours isn't a lot of time and I'm not a quick coder.

For anyone inclined to look at the source code, I apologize for the mess.

May also work on Linux, but I've only tested it on Mac and Windows.

Game was made with LibGDX, sounds with Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Fun3.58
#134Humor3.26
#239Overall3.41
#284Graphics3.36
#286Mood3.10
#367Audio2.88
#420Theme3.31
#818Innovation2.62
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

very fun.

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51am

I got a 10.95 in the last race. Fun.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

Love the graphics style and presentation. Also after I tried and failed at creating a foot step sound effect I can really appreciate how good yours was. haha I couldn't beat 10 seconds though. If the world record was ten seconds it would have made the link to the theme a bit better.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15am

For reference to anyone wondering the world record is 9.58 by Usain Bolt. 10 seconds and less is just really good. Anyone who feels bummed that they couldn't run under 10 seconds - it's probably my fault for not spending more time on balancing the speed gain/loss equation.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06am

Good game. Got 10.36 as the best time

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

Very fun game

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Fun. Graphics and audio fit well on the game. :)

HardScore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Love the graphics and the gameplay, the game is very simple but keeps you playing and trying to beat your highscore.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35pm

awesome

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Keyboard masher 5000! Or rather arrow key masher. Interesting little game.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Simple and very effective! Got 10.2 in my last run. I loved the dialogues. Nice job!

gameXcore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I think you broke my keyboard... and I still didn't beat 10 seconds!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Very simple game, but the art and writing make it much more, great game and use of the theme!

flarb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:45am

Decathalon + Punch Out = awesome

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Fun. Brings back the Track & Field memories. Nice art, controls and sound. Good job for 48hrs.

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Super hilarious! I like, that you put personal statements into the game. More developers should do that.

Yakka says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:05am

So simple and so well made in the same time! I loved the nostalgic art style =D

Latcarf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Not very original but quite fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]