August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blackout

by X-0r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Okay, I hope it's not against the rules, submission hour and everything (or does uploading within that hour count regularily?). I know that the SWF I linked is 5 mins AFTER the end of the competition. (3:05 AM my timezone) However, my source files have been uploaded within the timelimit, and there are no changes to my build. I simply picked the wrong link from my countless backups on Mediafire.

EDIT: Asked on IRC, they told me it's allowed to fix bugs of some sort. Fixed the wincondition bug =) And, I reuploaded my stuff to mediafire for actual working links...

==========
[Story]

Out of nothing, you are hit by a baseball bat. You don't know what happened, just that you passed out for 10 seconds. Clear up the mystery and stop the attacker!
If you see the title screen again, you win.

[Controls]

Movement: Arrows
Look at tile you stand on: <Space>
Select action: Mouseclick to the top right

Warning! The controls are a bit counter-intuitive.
You need to stand NEXT TO a tile to interact with it, standing ON a key won't get you anywhere. (Unless you hit <Space> first :P)

[Info]

Used Flash and Blender for the graphics. Blender specifically for the tesla-coil things, and the staircase.
I was wondering, "how can I actually make the stairs look like they go up or down?"... Solution - make them in a 3d program :D As for the coils - I just like glow effects and rendering these is way easier than using Flash. At least for me...

I also created all SFX plus the background music from scratch. I used REAPER and a couple of free VSTi plugins.

You can also check my other music on SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/x-0r


[Hints]

If finding the first keys is too hard, just look for a flash of yellow.

If you can't figure out the combination to start the machine, remember what the colored guys told you.
If you still can't figure it out, try bruteforcing it, or decode my message with rot 13:
[rot13.com]Oyhr, Oybaqr/Lryybj, Benatr, Cvax, Oebja

If you return to the title screen, you win. Not enough time to link to the "you win" message correctly, sorry =(
==========

[Changelog]

All that's working so far is the mapgeneration. Not really much, but hey, we all start somewhere^^

Character movement is working. Also, it can (more or less) interact with tiles now. It's all still very beta. Too bad the theme isn't "minimalism", or I could just keep these graphics. Speaking of which, I totally plan to get better sprites, or at least change the colors^^

New tile designs, probably still temporary. Also, I added interactive buttons to the user interface. Yay :P

User interface added. It can now show you text :P

Changed the movement stuff a bit. Also, I want to let the user select numbered options or something...

Added stair sprites, I can't believe I really used Blender to render out a 30x30px image :D

Teleporting and stair-map-changing is now possible ^_^

Added item-collection system, locked/unlocked doors, updated the movement stuff and... yeah, that's about it.
Will move on to soundFX as soon as my gf gets up. She wouldn't give me an easy time if I waked her...

Oh yes. My soundtrack is ready. It will do for the competition, might edit it later, should I have more time.

The only downside is that it will require more time to open/download. But hey, it's below 2 MB.

More NPCs, more items. Still didn't implement the main plot. Oh well, still some time left...

Done =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#172Audio3.25
#318Humor2.68
#351Mood3.00
#726Innovation2.75
#753Overall2.87
#820Fun2.61
#916Graphics2.27
#1092Theme2.33

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Not sure what to do, stairs get me to the same place every time

X-0r says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:17pm

It's not actually working yet. See it as a teleport pad rather, until I implemented the stair functionality :P

There is no game "goal" just yet, and the 10-second-theme is also not in my code yet.

I'm uploading and updating my log, so I got a backup in case my HDD crashes.

Apart from the "game start", the other buttons don't work either so far. If you're a bit patient, you'll be able to play the finished game, once I'm done. =)

Disposer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26am

You're the best :-)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

I think I played through it, went in the time machine, then talked to the pink circle and it took me to the main menu. Besides the goofy AI, it was interesting. Audio could have matched the mood a little more, but hey this is Ludum Dare! Solid 3/5, good job.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Yeah... reaching the game menu means that you win. I didn't have enough time to design the win-screen. In fact, I thought of linking the ending to the 10-second sequence to make the timetravel more logical. Also, you're not actually talking, it's using a baseball bat =) Unless my "great" user-interface bugged out, that is.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

"You have no chance of survive make your time"... xD
Zero Wing references for the win!

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice little puzzler :)

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Here sure must run fast to get there in 10 seconds!

The music gave it a good sense of urgency and I enjoyed the plot.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Wow, nice ending. But the UI was really awkward. If you had used WASD rather than the arrows it would be fine... but I had to keep moving my hands about :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I don't really understand the game...

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Controls are definitely awkward, and I'm actually not sure if this was intended but it's a pretty frustrating thing :P the music is very fitting.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Well, intended to a certain degree... I wanted to find a way to let the player interact with tiles he could stand on, aswell as with not accessible tiles - such as switches in the wall. I became aware of these troubles during mid-to-late gameplay, but I was used to it already since I implemented the tile interactions... Rewriting the engine wasn't really possible anymore at that time. I also planned to give the player the opportunity to play with the keyboard only, but time was running out =( I also added a marker, flashing on the tile you looked at, but I believe it didn't help much...

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

Heh, that was a pretty clever story. Apart from the wonky controls I liked the way it was executed. The graphics were kinda charming.

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Good game, with interesting story mecanism!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I was expecting a simple story from the story, but i was pleasantly surprised by how deep the story was! The puzzle at the time machine room had me stumped for a while, but I hit myself after I realized the method. Buut, I don't know who to hit! XD
Great game nonetheless! The soundtrack compliments the game well.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Great puzzle just before the end :-)

X-0r says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

Thanks a lot for your critics. Appreciate it much =)

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:27pm

The music was awesome. I'm not sure if I got the "ending" or not; as soon as I used the bat it brought me right back to the title screen. I'm assuming I was wrong, because I played through the game again (all doors were unlocked) several times and just systematically hit each dude one after another but it always just brought me to the title screen

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Using the bat means you win. I thought of making it possible "only" to hit Mr. White but decided against it for some reason. I just know that I was short on time (and I was tired a bit at 3 AM), so my decisionmaking might have been a bit biased back then.

Laelien says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:14am

Excellent entry, really. Good music, nice story, nice little puzzle. Would have been perfect if you discovered YOU used the bat to solve a paradox, but hey, I'm not going to blame you for this :P Nice mood too.

larb says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:41am

Great music. Awkward controls. Pretty good entry overall though. I liked it.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice music! The gameplay was solid, reminded me a bit of Chip's Challenge, if you ever played that. Graphics aren't great and the UI is really awkward, but other than that, good job overall!

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Nope... never heard of that game. But I'll definitely search it out and try it ^_^

Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:48am

Cool story! Like one of those looping nightmares.
Plus very nice music to wash it down. Nice work!

tryzor says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Really nice song ;)

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Thanks so much, guys! I start to get proud of my soundtrack, which is really motivating. I think I need to fire up my DAW more frequently now =)

CogComp says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Really REALLY love the music! A basically kept playing because of it :-)

Mekuri says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I really liked the twist the story took. I think you got a bit easy around the Theme, but the idea was solid. Fun little game :-)

alts says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:10am

I liked the story that the game seemed to imply. The music was also really nice. I would have preferred keyboard controls for [action] rather than the mouse, since the arrows and space are already used.

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I wanted to map the listeners to keyboard aswell, but I had trouble with callbacks =/ There should have been more possibilities for each NPC, apart from talking... RPG like combat, I even semi-implemented a weapon system. I also had a health bar, which is even visible on one of the screenshots. I ended up using it as a volume-change bar, since health wasn't needed after all...

In fact, I wasted a lot of time on things I never used... The entire text within the game is dynamic, all I'd need to do would be a button to change the "language" parameter, and the entire game would be translated (if I actually put the translation into the text arrays).

I planned to add a lot more variety to the intro aswell. I know that it totally sucks. My plan was to give the player hints through sound, making you basically listen to your environment during the blackout. I ended up recording myself tossing things around, banging at my desk and making weird noises. I don't like the intro, and honestly, I never liked the theme. It was one of the few I rated -1, since I found it to be waaaay too limiting. Limiting any action to 10 seconds, or making the game last 10 seconds was nothing I ever considered, so I ended up making the intro last 10 seconds instead.

Sestren says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:18am

Apart from having to use the mouse, space bar, and the arrow keys (which don't work together very well for me), I rather liked where this entry is going. I'd like to see more if you plan on doing a Post-Compo version. Loved the music, btw.

Tater_hater says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 4:30am

Thanks for the comments on my game, they were very constructive and will help me a lot next time. I loved the theme of your game and the story. The rogue like controls were a bit repetitive but all part of the experience, (and the joke relating to it was humorous) and overall pretty good

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:51am

Nice puzzle! I enjoyed the music :D

Drabiter says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I did it. I did bat the pink one and it's over. Unfortunately it uses mouse+arrows instead mouse+wasd.

X-0r says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Congratulations ^_^

Honestly, I wanted to go for keyboard only. As I noticed the flaw of the controls (apart from the messy part of forcing the players to "look at their feet"), it was too late to reprogram the engine. Changing the controls from arrows to WASD would have been 4 values to edit, but I tested my game using arrows, so I was kinda used to them; I don't really know why I went with arrows at all.

Jacic says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Interesting idea, but having to switch between keys and mouse was kinda annoying.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Interesting game, as you noted yourself, the system for finding/using things is a little odd. Otherwise, it was a decent game.

nthird says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Interesting little puzzle game. I liked the keys that flashed just for a second, giving you a hint where you should look. First few times I saw it I wasn't sure I had even seen anything. Agree on the confusingness of the interface. Most of the time it was just slightly unintuitive but when trying to climb stairs I would sometimes have to turn back around to get facing the right way to interact with them which felt wrong instead of just awkward. Was fun though. Great job!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:38pm

great music, I struggled with gameplay a bit, but I got the hang of it!

By the way the vst I used for Legend of Troll is the Korg M1 http://www.korg.com/Legacym1 a super-useful workstation, based on the actual Korg M1. It's at $50 and an amazing buy, especially if you're trying to recreate amiga music, since most .mod and .XM samples are from the super-popular at the time Korg M1.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]