August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Royal Defenestrator

by BasmanovDaniil - Jam Entry

Looks like our queen is in a bad mood. You better hurry throw that table out of that window...


MOVE: Arrow keys, WASD or Left stick on gamepad
PICK UP/THROW: Space or A on gamepad. Just get close enough to that thing to pick it up and throw
MENU: Esc

To linux users:
chmod +x RoyalDefenestrator.x86

UPDATE: Fixed some unreachable endings, everything should be ok now.
__________________________________________________________
Fonts:
http://www.google.com/fonts/specimen/Milonga
http://www.google.com/fonts/specimen/Italianno
Sounds:
http://www.freesound.org/people/dobroide/sounds/107637/
https://musopen.org/music/1568/edvard-grieg/peer-gynt-suite-no-1-op-46/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Humor(Jam)4.07
#69Innovation(Jam)3.59
#71Fun(Jam)3.54
#137Overall(Jam)3.46
#165Mood(Jam)3.25
#274Audio(Jam)2.89
#319Graphics(Jam)3.16
#543Theme(Jam)2.39

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45am

Hahahah I threw her out, she called for help and got defenestrated haha guys this is a good game ;) Very good control, Nice graphics, simple but perfect. Excellent choice of music. Awesome !!!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Hilarious. :)

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Graphically this looks so crisp, would love to know what you made it with! I am trying to guess,you have ten seconds to remove the table from the queens gaze?

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Awesome work!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

SHADOWY

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Really fun!! Poor cat flew out of the window :D Nice work!!!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I like the style... But why the low framerate :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29pm

To Xgor:
Well, i made that game in 72 hours, so it's not wery optimized. I will work on it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

To iiechapman:
Unity 3d with standard shaders and a little bit of Blender. Yeah, you are right, Queen has a very bad temper :)

pillbrain says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Loved it - liked the game, liked the way it played. Good fun. Wasn't sure how it tied to the theme though?

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:59pm

What a cool idea. very funny.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

haha, this is the most awesome game I have seen. So fun!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

To pillbrain:
The time given to throw Queen's "victims" out of the window is roughly equals 10 seconds. I didn't want to put obvious timer to the game, that would be lazy.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

very cool ...and poor cat XD

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Yeah, the music was a wonderful match. Had a great time throwing a queen, guards and a cat out the window!

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I am a little confused what to do. I like throwing things out the window though.

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Really funny game to play. The graphics are basic but they look good. Good choice in music but I really shouldn't give points for it because audio is supposed to be made during the competition by the developer.

I love the concept though, the humour and the controls are very smooth. Nice little game.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Wow, that sure is one angry queen!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

innovative game, but my computer does not like it.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

i threw all the furnature

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Well this is brilliant. Nice choice of music.

But.. but can I pick up people? YES

Meep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Lovely game with an elegant style. :) Nice work!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46pm

That was glorious. I am saving this game and will play it every time i'm in a bad mood, definitely my favorite of the compo so far

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:57pm

THE BEST GAME.

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Insanely awesome concept. Very funny, and very good graphics style!

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:47am

My parents probably think I'm crazy, what with yelling "Noooooo Don't defenestrate me!" every minute or so.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

good job

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

What is this? WHAT IS THIS?

Oh, it's a great game.

Got the bad ending on my first try. Goddamn cat.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I've cried of laughter :D

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Who knew defenestration could be such fun? I love the concept and the style. Art and music are spot on. Throwing things out of windows is great.

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Nice job, throwing things out the window felt good

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

That was excellent !

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Very interesting gameplay, funny stuff!

Volute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Super fun !

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

Very cool concept but couldn't get past the cat part, she always wanted it gone then always wanted it after. Couldn't hide it from her.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

Hahaha oh man I laughed out SO loud at this. Great, great job.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Really liked the colors, physics, humor

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Kept gettin' the bad ending heh. WORTH IT!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

Very entertaining!

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:51am

Brilliant!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

To Elrobo: You need to "hide" all guards first

PeaCe says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

That's one hell of a job! (both yours and that yellow guy's)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Hah that was cool. Really usual gameplay and quirky art. Nice one!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Lovely! Simple but beautiful graphics, amusing theme, entertaining dialogue. Great work!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

It certainly was a unique experience! And now I know what defenestration means :P.

Anachron says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Ha! Awesome, at no point in that experience did I consider not throwing the queen out the window. This game wins, but alas I did not.

siat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:09am

This was really funny. Nice job!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:04am

Haha, brilliant!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Wasn't quite sure what was going on... I think I won (The Queen got her glasses finally) but nothing happened so I threw her out the window :P Humour was amazing, loved that I could interact with pretty much everything. Nice work.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:26pm

"It is called a table, my queen." Welp, that didn't work out too well.

I THREW EVERYTHING OUT. What do I win?
Oh, "Good ending!"? I guess I'll take it!
(...and throw it out of the window!)

Is there any way to circumvent the "Where is my cat?" ending without throwing her out of the window? I tried hiding the cat, but she still called it out despite it being quite far away at that time. Hu.

Anyway: That was a super fun experience, and I like that you could really throw nearly anything! Well, except the throne. I was pretty disappointed. I LOVE the humor. The music was pretty well chosen. Superb job!

PS: So, apparently I am a rock star now. Crowdsurfing! http://puu.sh/4fAyz/48a98d9f16.jpg

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:38pm

To TobiasW: If you deal with all guards you can get to different ending.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:58pm

This is a pretty darn fun game. :) Great concept and execution. Thank you for this :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Fun and engaging.. Good work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Liked the simple colors and characters. Mildly amusing when I threw the cat out the window :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Novel concept. Couldn't figure out how to get the good ending. Keeps asking for the cat after finding the glasses.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:09am

Where's my cat? hahahahaaha excellent. The controls are great, wonderful story you put together here.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:36am

Really nice entry, but i totally didn't understand how is related to "10 seconds"..

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Ha, this was fun and well executed

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Quite crazy, I like it :)

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Very nice! I thought it was very funny.

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Well she did not like at all that I threw her cat out of the window D:

Danvil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:58pm

This is a very good game :D I threw the queen out of the window. Very important action.

Zap says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:18am

Bizarre concept with lots of character! I really like it!
When the guards were chasing me, I grabbed random objects to throw in their way like the heros do when they run away in action movies, ha ha

lesterpig says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:36am

Hum well ! But music is not your ;)
However, where are the 10 seconds ? ôO
Nice work !

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I love this!
It's so unique and charming! Very funny too!

Great work on this!

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Very silly very fun, got so keen on chunking stuff I chunked the vase she liked! >:/ At first looked similar to my game but the only thing in common is they both make fun of royalty :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I had a lot of fun playing it. Thanks

sirdorius says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I love the artstyle, and I found this to be one of the funnies games of this Ludum Dare

smrt_co says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:22am

Best job ever! :D

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Fun idea, and the throwing mechanic felt good!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Not sure where it fits the theme, but that was very funny. Cat on the throne!

RoyBatty says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:08pm

1. Finally got the good ending and
2. It was amazing. :-D

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Blooperly says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:43pm

So strange... But I love it!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:18pm

So much fun messing around with mechanics! :D

Darthone says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:51am

Made me actually lol

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Everything about this is hilarious. The music, the crude 3D models/AI, and obviously throwing things.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:03pm

hahah crazy game. Very nice. She reminds somehow my GF =P

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Extremely humorous, with nice shadows.
4/5

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Lovely physics and love the crisp chunky characters.

ratking says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:45am

Oh no! This game triggers my willingness to clan a level completely. I can throw the queen out and her guards XD Great one. Although I have no idea why I throw things out...at all! But yeah, I can throw things out, so that's what I do :D

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:11am

haha throwing things is fun!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:36am

Really love good ending! :D
I've a lot fun defenestrating objects and people, and it took me a few plays to figure out what to do.
Really love simple graphics and music.

Ossi says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:37am

Interesting concept and really funny! The music goes so well with the situation, and the Queen commenting on what you throw is pretty great! Well done!

zequack says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:07pm

That's a really fun game x)

TheBoat says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:06pm

very fun ! :)

Mekuri says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I literally laughed out loud when I finished this game. I loved it!! It was so fun to play (even had to play it a few times) - I'm glad I threw out all the guards on the way, so that it was no problem to throw her out at the end. High ratings from me!! :-)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:35am

quickly learnt to hate the queen. good game

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:18am

Fun game! Didn't really see the use of the theme.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:16am

humorous, and the way you deal and experiment with commandment and interactivity is really clever. great work!

GFM says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Throwing things out of the window was really enjoyable. I'll have to come back later to try and get all endings.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Hilarious and surprisingly cinematic! Just thinking about the concept again makes me grin.

Capro says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:34am

Great game! Very fun and humorous.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

It's great what you've done with such simple graphics! This is a hilarious game :D

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Good game, i like it :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Top-notch, incredible idea and fantastic execution, congratulations. I got 3 endings, are there more?

Sep 17, 2013 @ 5:17am

To Lokarunith: Maybe, maybe not ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]