August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Amoeba Sheba

by DissidentDan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

---Update---
I added an Android version. You can install an Android .apk file using these instructions: http://www.talkandroid.com/guides/beginner/install-apk-files-on-android/.
The Android build has only been tested on a LG Nexus 4, so your mileage may vary.

--Controls--
hold down left mouse
or
use arrow keys
If you like the game, check out my web site at http://www.dissidentlogic.com for my other stuff.


-----UI-----
green blips: success
red blips: failure
blue blips: remaining time

You play as a ball. There are other balls. Everything is gravitationally attracted to everything else.

----GOAL----
Your goal is to get balls of the same color to collide and merge. Balls of the same color will annihilate each other. Balls of different colors will merge into a ball of combined color. When the blue blips at the bottom are gone, you are done for, and the screen will turn red.

----MECHANICS DETAILS----
You get 10 seconds added to your clock if you match balls of the same color. You get 5 seconds subtracted if you match balls of the wrong color. A new ball will spawn every 10 seconds, or for every ball that you merge.


-----OTHER-----
I plan on doing an Android port very soon here.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#265Innovation3.39
#352Graphics3.25
#522Mood2.77
#660Overall2.96
#730Fun2.71
#1098Theme2.32

Comments

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57am

Nice. I like the color mixing effect. Would look nice with a star field or some other background. Mine also runs on android. Check it out!

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I can't get the android version to run on my nexus 7. I get a purple screen or a black screen with blue bars that turns red after a countdown.

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Sorry to hear that, vandriver. If you're getting a black screen with no colored circles, it seems like it has a problem rendering to texture, which is surprising. The purple screen tends to happen if you task switch or rotate between portrait and landscape mode. The joys of heterogenous devices.

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Same as vandriver on Nexus 4

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

It's a clever little game, but the controls right now feel a bit touchy on pc. I felt like I had a little more control with arrow keys, but still some more "stickiness" to the balls would help. It's also a design that I think lends itself more to an infinite mode than "ten second" mode, but maybe if I was better at it I'd argue differently :P

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

The visual of the balls merging is really cool. Without the time limit this would be really relaxing. I played the windows version but I imagine this would be even better on a touch device. Great Job!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Nice idea! I really wish there were a background, it was difficult to keep a point of reference sometimes.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Wow, I love the effect! It's pretty much an interactive lava lamp! The controls is a little sensitive, I'll have to give this a go on an android and see if it plays better.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

The effects were amazing, I love gravity style games

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I love this game. It reminds me of osmose ( the game )

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Runs fine on my nexus4. It's pretty hard to control the ball though. But it's fun nevertheless!

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

It's difficult to control (i'm using mouse). The idea is great. I got a bug, the texture disapeared. Don't know if it's just me, but there is no text :/

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

necmelt, there is no text anywhere in the game. The only visuals are the balls and little, rectangular blips that count the time (blue), your successes (green), and your misses (blue).

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Great color mixing effect, but PC controls really could have used some improvement. Ended up playing on keyboard, but still felt quite uncomfortable. The 10-seconds theme also felt a little tacked-on, I felt like the game could benefit from not having the time mechanic.

dinos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Fantastic game! It works great on my Samsung Galaxy S3 (with a purple rectangle when I rotate the device). It would be awesome if this was a completed Android game!

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:00am

This is a pretty neat concept of matching two colors and the effects are very good!

tchem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

great work,,, i loved the style and possibilities...

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

like how the game looks, and plays good job

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Tried to play on my galaxy nexus, got stuck on a black screen with a blue bar at the bottom that randomly changed width. Looks interesting from the screenshots though. :c

Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Nice game ! I just tried it on my laptop. I love the gameplay ! I'm about to download it for my tablet. Good job and thank you !

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I see blue rects at the bottom and later red and green ones at the top but other than that there is nothing so I have no clue... Windows ver

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]