August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 for Hug

by Eirikir - Jam Entry

Hello.
10 for hug is a small platformer with a little gameplay dragging boxes using them as platforms, run from the radioactive cloud!.
You CANT move and drag boxes at same time!

The game is really short and it has a lovely ending.


Everything is created by me, except for the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#242Theme(Jam)3.20
#252Graphics(Jam)3.43
#289Humor(Jam)2.41
#298Innovation(Jam)2.97
#321Mood(Jam)2.85
#322Audio(Jam)2.74
#389Overall(Jam)2.90
#427Fun(Jam)2.57

Comments

0beah says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Interesting art style. The jump mechanic is a little more floaty than I would have liked

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

The game looks very cute and polished. I seemed to lose the ability to jump and move boxes in the second level, but I enjoyed it up until then. The sound that kicked in at the second level was nice.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

Really like it, music, art, idea, at the start it is hard to move the boxes since you don't have to move but after a while it gets easier and faster.

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

unity web player don't work on linux... sigh

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

The jump is very floaty and doesn't seem to work sometimes.

Eirikir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14am

thanks for the comments :D, i will try to make a linux build!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35am

Great Idea!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45am

The art looks quite nice, but the lack of sound effects detracts from the experience. The music does a good job of setting up a dark mood, which strangely somehow seems to work with the contrast of the character's sprite. I think the music should continue to loop instead of restarting when the level restarts after death, though.

The movement and jumping would probably feel a little better if they were faster, and the block moving mechanic is not super engaging, in addition to the glitchiness of the physics-based blocks. I think this concept would work better as a pure platformer with maybe some light puzzle elements, while using only movement keys to interact.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I think it would've been better if you could drag and run at the same time :)

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

nice art, cool mechanics, sometimes the boxes act weird though.

Loyalty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

The mechanics aren't that inovative, but in the end it creates a good story. Art, music and "story" fit together well

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice concept and art, but the gameplay could be better. Better controls are needed.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I really like the graphics and mood, poor cat! Occasionally I lose the ability to jump...The controls is a little hard to get used to. Would be nice to slide off boxes than get sticky mid-air..that keeps screwing me up. Overall a pretty cool game!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31am

i like the game, graphics, but its so buggy, if you take a box, i cant jump. But Good job anyway

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31am

I'd have liked it more if the jumping was more like jumping and less like floating. :P
Nice entry otherwise though!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:44am

I disliked not having controls for left handed people. It made the game very hard, so I didnt get very far. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVlJsYHr1MU

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nice idea! Moving box with platformer is very interesting! Fire make game more dynamic. And to safe cat - it is sure-fire!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]