August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10seconds

by otresnjak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A meteor will strike your city in 10 seconds. What will you do with your remaining time on earth?

My first Ludum Dare entry-- a minimalist adventure game you can play several times to uncover the various outcomes.

Tips:
- There are three screens. Explore!
- You can't do everything in one run. Don't be afraid of death.

Known issues:
- alex's apartment (in the waterfront) occasionally doesn't spawn.
- full-screen doesn't work, so don't hit alt-enter
- tablet stylus/touch input is supported but is a little janky; use a mouse or trackpad if you can
- requires windows vista, 7, or 8

Written in C++, using DirectX11 for graphics and FMOD for sound.

v03: fixed a bug with alex's apartment sometimes not working if you talk to quinn first.

Update: Added a link to a post-compo version, with fixes for all the known bugs and a slightly better title.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#76Theme3.82
#97Mood3.53
#134Humor3.26
#174Overall3.51
#309Audio2.97
#503Innovation3.04
#550Fun2.93
#787Graphics2.51

Comments

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53am

Oh dang it!
Can't rate this one x__x
I'm using XP Windows for the weer, srry dude =p

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53am

week*

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

hah! I love it!
clean and to the point! With Achievements!(my fav!)

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00am

Great use of the theme. Couldn't find achievement 2, or the last one though!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

Sweet game!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05am

My favorite interpretation of the theme so far. I got 8/10 achievements. (Missing #4 and #10.) Fancy giving hints?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29am

I simply loved this game. It is definitely one of the better uses of the theme. Nice job!

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33am

that was cool, could only get 7/10 achievements though.

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Great one. Achivements can be so compelling. great use of the theme.

javifugitivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05pm

A great idea, and correctly done, you have my votes!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Very nice, I enjoyed this.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

7 out of 10 achievements. What are your secrets game?! =) Liked it, even if a little depressing ;P

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice and fun game ! I love achievements system ;)

Dell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Wow I really enjoyed that!

Great use of the theme, great music and I love the simple style.

The achievements were a nice touch and I managed to get them all :) Number eight was my favourite ;)

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:00am

Nicely done. Very atmospheric.

(Aside: I noticed that you can get into Alex's apartment even if you can't see it, if you click over the sea--seems to be spawning there)

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Loved the adventure behind it. I just wanted to go explore every option. The beats definitely set in the pressure of having to hurry up.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Very good game! I loved the achievements but I didn't get 8th and 10th :( Can you please tell me what I should have done for these? I really tried!

Great job!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Thanks for the kind words, everyone! I didn't think people would like it as much as they seem to. :)

As for the achievements, since so many people are asking, I posted the list of their names as a hint:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/28/10seconds-achievement-hints/

Radnen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:51pm

This is a hilarious take on you have 10 seconds to live theme. Short, sweet, straightforward game. The game is really about getting all of the achievements. :)

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Good use of the theme, the achievements kept me playing. Well done on your first LD!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:54am

Good job on your first LD. Keep working on this and polishing and adding to it.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:25am

good job

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:59am

I like this! Achievements always make me try to get them all! :P I got all but the last two, not sure how to get those...maybe show the name of the cheeve as a clue?

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:06am

The achievements system is really well done!
I managed to complete the game with all endings.
At first I didn't realize there was more screens, then I read help page! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]