August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Switching Trap

by Kimidori - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry, rushed this cause I started too late. :(

every 10 seconds, the type of trap on the level will change randomly.

there are 3 type of trap: Spike trap, saw trap and a bullet hell.

Control: W,A,S,D for jump and movement.

please give me feedback.

Google Chrome is recommended for web version, if you have slow down playing the web version, download the windows ver.

and man, I'm suck at naming game. >_<

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#143Theme(Jam)3.43
#324Graphics(Jam)3.14
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#393Fun(Jam)2.67
#398Overall(Jam)2.88
#421Mood(Jam)2.53
#452Audio(Jam)2.13
#482Humor(Jam)1.52

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Nice game, but think there could be a litle bit more

deniska says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Nice idea, next time start earlier ;)

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:15am

Graphics are very nice (simply and effective, i love the contrast between blacks walls and the coloured background), concept is good, challenge is okay :)
A more animated avatar would improve overall

average 4 stars for me

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

It for me crashed when the turret things in the blue room tried to shoot ]:
I am running win8 64bit

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23am

added a web version, hope it work for you.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51am

A nice idea for the switching theme/level. For me the jumping seemed a little wooden though but it was still enjoyable

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

Very good game! I think "Switching Traps" is a very appriate name btw. My end score was 2.06 I think (is that the time in minutes?). Had a little trouble with the jumping, seems like you have to wait an extra frame before the player fully touches the ground.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55am

The visual style is cool but some animations would add a lot to the game... it feels lacking with out that.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Nice idea and graphics.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Loving the graphical style, although could have done with a bit of animation on the character I think. I like the idea, its an interesting twist on the theme. I found it a bit too easy though - it's quite generous with the starting health and the pickups. Overall well done, though!

grozamorei says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40pm

idea and overall is good and pleasant. I personally think it's too easy to play.

control stiffness is awkward. It's all about that pause just before you landing, it feels wrong.

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I afraid that it would be too hard, guess I was wrong, lessened starting health and pick up now.

also I did something to lessen the lading problem, still trying to fix it completely.

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

thank you for your feedback!

domrein says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Interesting concept. The saw noise was pretty unbearable.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49pm

good game, the art is nice, and the gameplay is solid good work

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50pm

AWESOME GAME! great work, i like when is switching between like reality's of the game? xD very fun :D

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

The sounds got kind of annoying after a while and the controls were a bit unresponsive. But I really liked the idea, very unique!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice game, I was surprised by the concept and the best part is you never can expect what is coming.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Awesome game! The idea of mode changes is very similar to my game. :D

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Brilliant first Jam game. I like the minimal style and the idea, adds a bit of strategy. You also have a lot of variety in there for such a short development time. Would be good to have a more responsive character - unless it's my computer which is slow? Good work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Nice graphics and better gameplay idea :D

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19am

I liked the black scenario mood! really minimalistic and felt good :)

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

nice level design!

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

The game has a nice look to it, and a new challenge every 10 seconds is interesting.

Start earlier next time, so you can expand on these interesting ideas! :D

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Intersting game some more tweking could help it

immanuela says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I too love the colour scheme on this! The controls were a bit slow feeling but overall a fun little game to play! :)

mollymus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Good idea and mechanic! Unfortunately for me, the saw's kind of killed my ears:(

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

It actually got a bit nerve wrecking at the end, when I only had one heart left and was looking for more. Good concept. Just needs to add more pressure on the player so it becomes more hectic.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Nice use of theme. Loved the changing traps and the color choices. The controls were a bit wonky and made the platforming a bit unenjoyable. Otherwise a nice entry :)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Nice work.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:54am

Intresting concept, but started getting a bit laggy when the lazers started. The jumping/collisions could've been better since he bounced a bit when landing.

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:05am

Really liked the change in colors for each trap as well as the main character. Giving the direction the player is going is a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]