August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Squared

by Impmaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey all. This was my first try at Ludum Dare. I built my game using Java and Slick2d, plus other free tools like Tiled. I made the music and the images myself, although I don't truly consider myself an artist or a musician. Some criticism would be good, although I would like to keep it constructive.


Ooh, also, seizure warning alert. Plenty of flashing colors in my game.

Also warning: Pretty hard. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Fun3.48
#168Audio3.26
#252Mood3.17
#276Overall3.36
#366Theme3.36
#539Humor2.25
#636Graphics2.76
#778Innovation2.68
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Ret44 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00am

I've got error 404, whem I click on Windows link :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02am

All links are giving a 404. :(

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

Yup, 404 for the Windows binary

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

dropbox errors :(

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

I really enjoyed this one. I suck at it, but I like it. I couldn't beat Fun #1 and gave up shortly after my death count passed 50. xD

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10am

Hm... Thanks to Crowbeak. To the rest of the people who can't get it, for some reason when I click on the link, I can get it, and yesterday, some friends managed to get it. A few minutes ago, it didn't work, yet now it does. Could you please try again? I don't use Dropbox much, so if there is something obvious I'm not doing, tell me. I'm just hitting copy public link and posting that link.

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17am

ARGH IT'S SO HARD! Really enjoyable though. The music's nice! I suck at this too :P

Maybe you should make easy and hard modes to make the game a little more accessible. Maybe in easy mode bullets should be slower or something like that, and in hard mode distractions such as flashing dots should be employed (although it should be kept to a minimum just in case :P )

Excellent game, anyway :)

Linux link works fine, by the way.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

Whoa my eyes hurt. :) Hopefully nobody gets a seizure from playing it. Nice simple game though :)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55am

Nice job, but the flashing colors are headache inducing. But the music was awesome!

By the way, I fixed the OS X download on my game.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01am

It's kind of funny, cause everyone's saying that the music was awesome, but that was the part that I thought people wouldn't like, after maybe the art.

William Bundy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06am

Doesn't run on 64-bit linux. ELFCLASS32 possible word size mismatch errors. Can you try releasing with a newer version of lwjgl?

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17am

Alright, I updated the lwjgl for Linux boxes. Try again.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57am

AAAARGH!!!
Awesome though, just a bit tough XD

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Ouch, my eyes ! This remember me my old games (on cassette) !
Basic idea, and very fun gameplay !

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58pm

The windows exe is doing nothing when I click on it :/

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

ARGH. PORTING BUGS. See the thing is, I only have a mac, so I can't really test these other files. I'll see what I can do later.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

And I played it on Mac. xD Hence no buggery. Check the LD IRC and see if someone can help you build the other versions.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15am

It should work on all platforms now. Apparently, it loads slowly on Windows though.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16am

This is so good to play. The graphics style remind me of VVVVV and the classic Spectrum and C64 games. Very cool!

VDZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Awesome game. Beat it with 250 deaths (score -158). The '+ LVL' was a real nightmare. The timer countdown was far too loud, though; I had to turn down the great music to prevent that sound from being too loud.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:55am

I'm on Windows 7, and the window for the game pops up and closes immediately.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

I was streaming when I played your game. :D Wanna see? http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2836962

Impmaster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

@kirbytails7 : Do you have Java installed? Is your OS 64-bit or 32? I dunno what's going on.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:29am

Oh yeah this is hard alright! Fun though, with nice trippy visuals and sounds. I would have liked a difficulty setting but otherwise this is a cool little game.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:26am

you need a warning about the light. A title screen huge warning about how it can cause seizures.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:59am

I found this game hard but good, It does need a warning about the flashing lights however... I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]