August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceSwitch

by truiton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore a changing world, the game follow a cycle of 10 seconds, in this time the surroundings change 4 times. Then, the cycle begin again.

You have to get to the door to complete each level.

Arrows to move, space to jump, R to restart the level.

The game was created using FlashDevelop, axgl library, Tiled, Sfxr, Sunvox, Adobe Photoshop.

Feedback is welcome :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#243Innovation3.44
#326Fun3.22
#384Audio2.84
#417Mood2.90
#449Overall3.16
#479Theme3.26
#558Humor2.23
#584Graphics2.83

Comments

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

I kinda liked it. The low fps caused by my machine made it a bit harder because of the somewhat sliding movement but it's still nice. I nearly fell to the trap. :D Jumped back in panic. Was fun. The screen shake really helped in timing the jumps after observing the pattern for a few cycles. The text went behind the level at times, but it didn't really matter because it was the same all the time. It actually stayed away from view but still readable if one wanted to. The levels varied enough to keep me playing through the whole game. I somehow guessed the outcome in the final level when falling. :D But it's okay.

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

Thanks a lot for your feedback!
I intend to work again on this game when the voting are finished, I think I will get rid of the sliding movement for instance.
Thanks again :)

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Well done! I really like the environment changing aspect. It makes the game unique ,fun and entertaining (especially when you get smashed by appearing walls).

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Pretty nice idea! But I think it fits better to the theme "multidimensional world"... ;)

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Sometimes life is a bitch indeed!

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Nice, very enjoyable ! Controls and collisions could be better though

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Ahah indeed, we've got similirar mechanics in our games ^^

Actually, during all the Ludum, I wondered if someone else was creating a game with the same mechanic.

Btw, yours in pretty cool :)

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

is*

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01am

Enjoyed thoroughly. A bit of puzzle, a bit of multidimensional, followed the theme :)

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02am

Cool concept of the changing world. At first, I thought it was too easy, but in the end, it wasn't, and I don't mean it got too difficult too fast. It progressed quite nicely and became more challenging. Good job. :)

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03am

Nice game, liked the mechanic

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16am

Pretty fun and the music provided some nice ambience. I really liked the morphing animations when the levels changed between different states. Had a good time overall. :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:56am

This was quite a bit better than expected, and made for an engaging, creative game. Nicely done there : )

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Thank you all :)

Zammy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I loved it. Actually if you get some more decent art this game with it's mood could become a greate complete game! I love the mood with the little messages and music!

The ever changing and shifting world...

Great work for 48h comp!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Really cool idea. This strikes me as something that could have easily been ruined by bad level design, but you did a great job of building some cool level ideas throughout. Controls could be a bit more forgiving, but other than that, this was a lot of fun.

manuq says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:44am

Sometimes someone does a game with great mood. I love the rarefaction and the ironic tips.

cardboard says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:23am

I think the mechanics of this are very interesting. The pixel art is nice. The audio is good, and the death sound effect is great. And I heard it a lot because I died a whole lot, but eventually I beat the game. :)

Siegfur says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:31am

Sudden death sound effect gave me heart attack.
Not great, nor bad. Good overall. Classic.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27am

Sometimes life really is a b*itch.
Great work!

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:01am

Really cool concept and a very tricky platformer. Too hard for me though :)

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

fun little game

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Sweet idea and well put together. Might play this again

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Fun game, made me panic quite a few times. :)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

The controls are too slippery but the idea is very nice!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I like this idea. Good job!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:42pm

good job

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:35am

great mood and mechanics!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

Nice platformer, a bit slippery controls and although I like the implementation of the theme it was used to simply force waiting a few times too many. Like the ending.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Really nice interpretation to the theme, the sounds and pixel art style was rather nice. :) Nice work!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:13pm

So frustrating, yet so fun!

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

I think this concept is really neat.

Nice entry!

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Nice idea, but i'm not sure if 10 second theme was present - apparently platforms change after 3 seconds.
Also, sometimes you need to get +1

Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Hey, that's freaky and fun! Nice game!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:09am

A lot more engaging then I thought it would be. The mechanic made me patient, and on my toes at the same time. The music added to the strangeness of an ever changing world. It was fun and at times a little frustrating. I only wish the mechanic was used a bit better in the level design. I hope you pursue this postmortem.

-AlucardX60

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:01am

This game made me feel oddly sad. Hmm. The Sometimes life is a b*tch really got to me. Nice job. Great sounds. Nice polished graphics. I really love your take on the theme. I really like how you didn't punish the player for not making the "10 second". The world just went on without them. Like life.

9.5/10.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Nice game. The sounds were not a great choice though. It felt like the character slid a little too much also. Besides these it was a fun game.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Great mechanics and well implemented! Seeing the different worlds beginning to fade in before the switch really helps out so much.

joekinglake says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Delightful :-) My only issue with it is one of the later levels requires *so* much patience. Music was lovely too!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]