August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Destruction

by Integershift - Jam Entry

You click to destroy buildings and try to destroy as many as you can in 10 seconds the download is for a .py file you will need python 3.3.2 and pygame to play. You need to run 10 Second Destruction.py
Download 3.3.2
Python: http://www.python.org/download/
Pygame: http://www.lfd.uci.edu/~gohlke/pythonlibs/#pygame
You need to do ctrl+F and search for pygame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#256Humor(Jam)2.53
#353Theme(Jam)2.94
#449Innovation(Jam)2.56
#459Fun(Jam)2.48
#462Audio(Jam)2.02
#511Mood(Jam)2.18
#530Overall(Jam)2.53
#561Graphics(Jam)2.12

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47am

Creative idea :)

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice idea for 10 seconds!

AgentVoxel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Thanks guys! Feedback is always appreciated!
:)
-AgentVoxel
@TheAgentVoxel

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I like the idea!
The only thing that is missing is a score to count the damage ;)
Good job!

AgentVoxel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Thanks. We didn't have enough time to put in the score.
So basically the point of the game is to see how much of the city you can destroy!
-AgentVoxel
@TheAgentVoxel

Kwrky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Nice idea, also you should put the humor more front and center so it's easier to notice in 10s

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Creative indeed.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

The programmers art is funny, nice references in those! A few polished bits are missing, like explosions not centering on the cursor, add score, allow playing again without needing to quit. Good effort.

AgentVoxel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Thanks Kwrky, Asar Dhandala, and Keybordmonkey!
I did the art and the references. I attempted to make the game as funny as it can be, and you just proved that the art was indeed funny! Thanks guys!
-AgentVoxel
@TheAgentVoxel

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

i destroyed the cops

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Sorry, I don't have windows :(

Integershift says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

davidwparker you don't need windows to run it you just need python and pygame

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59pm

haha, nice idea :D

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47pm

It was interesting and I personally liked it a fair amount!

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Couldn't get it to run :(

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Good, Pretty good.

I also noticed you used Python! ;)

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Cool idea! Well done!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16pm

A pleasant way to spend some time

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Good idea, but a little more polish and a destruction counter would have made it much better.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:57pm

good job

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Sorry, didn't really like it a lot, was a bit bland and there isn't a lot of gameplay. Also installing the frameworks was a lot of hassle.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:40pm

"ImportError: No module named pygame" on mac os x mountain lion

Integershift says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05pm

ellipticaldoor You need python and pygame to run it the second link should take you to the pygame download

munchor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

Publishing a .rar is not a very good idea, use a more widespread non-proprietary form of encryption please.

Tetha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

The lack of scoring really hurts, since there is very little reward for clicking around that way. Beyond that, well done.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I had fun, save for a score. I wanted to gloat to my wife about this, but couldn't :{ Regardless, it was fun!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:55am

If only it wasnt so hard to play, downloading this and then that :/ I tried, but dont have enough time/cant figure it out. So I cant include it in my LD27 compilation video series. Sorry

mamoniem says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:56am

can not run :/

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Didn't manage to install the pygame thing, it told me it didn't find python even after installing the version noted in the description =/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]