August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Adventures of Lars

by Dan - Jam Entry

Lars is a zombie who has found himself sucked into the world of games. Help him escape by progressing through classic and well-known game worlds by completing a series of wacky minigames!

Known Problems:
--------------
> The controls in the second level are really buggy and the game doesn't like multi-button presses.

--------------
UPDATE:
We have decided, following your feedback, to continue development after the jam!
Cheers guys :)

For updates on how it's going you can follow us on twitter:
Black: @LanDucas
Blue: @VikkiBiggs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#219Humor(Jam)2.72
#363Fun(Jam)2.75
#375Graphics(Jam)2.94
#414Mood(Jam)2.55
#431Theme(Jam)2.81
#440Audio(Jam)2.23
#506Overall(Jam)2.61
#550Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Couldn't play it, unfortunately Win7 64bit doesn't tell me what is missing...

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Nice concept, fun to play, but the key detection on the second level was annoying, I found myself pressing buttons and not moving a lot.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Really nice pixel art. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

This game made me smile. I really, really enjoyed it (other than the key level movement being funny) I found the zombie going back to old styled games cool and unique. I loved it. I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43am

Really funny game idea. Too bad you only were able to complete two levels. I was looking forward to play more levels. Perhaps in a post-compo version? :D

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Controls on second level are really frustrating. Nice graphics, though.

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

An interesting, and very ambitious, idea but needs a little more polish. The platforming is a bit off and as you know the 2nd level has input issues.

Unless I am very much mistaken the Zelda sprites seems to been taken from the real games. Try to make your own graphics next time instead of using copyrighted sprites. This may be a jam entry but it's always better to make your own. :)

Look forward to your next LD game.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Well presented, the minigames are a nice idea. The game just needs more levels and a couple less bugs :-)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

A fun play :) a pity that Lars did not have more levels to play through, and good work on the theme and graphics!

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I like the variety that this game have, even if I chuckled at the two spoofs. :)

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Nice idea, you need to tweak the controls (perhaps making them like the titles references) also give more personnality to Lars (graphically?) and univer(s) (introduce blood? i don't know ^^) this just to make the game unique :)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Collisions are really weird on the top down level but I did like the pixel art on that level

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Lars is the best name on a main character yet in LD27!

Epiphane says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:33am

Fun, short little game. Controls in the second stage were extremely frustrating, I thought I was getting caught on the scenery (but I guess you know that already)

Toadpud says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I liked it, but it seemed very short. You should definitely make more levels in a post-compo version! Also, the movement in level 2 was extremely bugged.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I feel the 10 seconds thing was a bit too fast to complete the level, maybe could gain a few seconds with the Mushroom or something?

Jedi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:17am

This game looks really cute! I love how well you recreated the look and feel of both mario and zelda. Unfortunately, the game crashes for me every time a chicken touches me in level 2 :(

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:32pm

loved it, would love to see the rest + bugfixes!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:09am

Definitely a good plan for the theme. Too bad there wasn't time for more content.

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Good game, level 2 is some irritating, but overall is quite good. Nice graphic :)

Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Overall, pretty cool :D (Wish there was more levels, it looked fun :P)

Taiters says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Cool game, well done. Though the controls on the second level don't seem to work well.

Tater_hater says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Love the nostalgia feel

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]