August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Memory

by Lokarunith - Jam Entry

My 1st game, please play on Web, the executable version has no sound, use only if the web version isn't working on your computer.

Have you ever wondered how are the last seconds of your life? If you knew you were going to die in 10 seconds what would you do? These would be the most precious and longest seconds of your entire life. If you could dive deep inside of your mind and make time flow so incredibly slow, maybe you could repent for all your sins and live what was left to live.

YOUR OBJCTIVE:
- to escape death, to refugee in a place where even 10 seconds can last for an eternity.
-The time begins to run normally 1 sec. = 1 sec. but as you jump on puddles psycological time starts to slow down, if you are fast enough you can make time stop and get to the good ending.

UPDATE:
- Fixed some bugs and typos;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Mood(Jam)3.86
#105Theme(Jam)3.51
#274Innovation(Jam)3.02
#292Audio(Jam)2.83
#411Overall(Jam)2.84
#451Humor(Jam)1.71
#478Graphics(Jam)2.60
#555Fun(Jam)2.13

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

Pretty short but great story behind what your doing. Solid graphics and sound as well. Good job :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

Interesting. Not much content, though. I liked the mood it set.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49am

I started playing, but after the initial monologue scenes it just made firefox crash. :/ The atmosphere so far was very nice though. Kind of relaxing, yet dramatic.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

@ShellfishGames: That's a shame, it seems to work fine on Chrome and IE though. Thanks for letting me know.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

A surprisingly compelling story. Well done.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice story, enjoyed it :)

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Very sad when you think about it, we will all inevitably face this moment ourselves. A great memento mori.

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Makes you think what would you do in the last seconds of your life

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Good storytelling ;)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Interesting premise but too buggy to play.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40am

Short, nice little memory. Wish it was longer.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I think it was a little buggy or something. Nothing was really happening. I was just running on puddles and nothing went on. ThenI stayed still and I was at "1second" for a really long time. (Using Chrome)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:23pm

@L0gicaL1nsanity: It was not a bug, the more puddles you run into the more the time stretches, the last second is supposed to pass very slowly as you are deeply imersed by your memory, if you can stretch time enough you can win the game.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:44pm

When I played most of the time by the time the black faded away/I got to play I had already lost about 2 seconds, which made it incredibly difficult. Good use of theme though.

cardboard says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:54pm

This game's mood is very nice; the kids jumping around in the puddles with you is a nice touch. The game is pretty laggy on my laptop, but I'll try again on my desktop and see if I can beat the game. The music is nice, but maybe a touch too repetitive. Nice work with this; I enjoyed it.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05pm

@cardboard: thank you for putting so much effort in completing the game, I'm very sorry It's so laggy I should have tested it in other computers, noob mistake.

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Very moody, great audio, a neat little game!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25pm

simple, but touching. framerate got me though

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I was really interested in the story, but I think it's a little too luck-based to win. The puddles disappear too fast for you to really be able to aim for puddles, and you just had to get lucky enough to have a puddle spawn next to you. That's just my opinion, though. Aside from how hard it is, I enjoyed it :)

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Unfortunately I couldn't get the sound to work on the web version but great use of the theme. Even though the game was short, you quickly sympathized for the main character and his situation. I think it's a theme anyone can relate to. The gameplay was simple and everything was polished. I did find jumping on puddles as something sad as it really did feel like an old memory. Very nice short story.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Thanks for your feedback on my game Lokarunith! I tried yours once more, this time in Chrome and Opera. In Chrome simply nothing happened after the post-monologue-fade out, in Opera after a while the actual game started but ran with ~1 frame per second (also, the dialog lines in the beginning didn't work well - often when I press space 1-2 new lines appear and immediately disappear before I'm able to read them). I then tried the Windows version which, sadly, didn't even start. But it still looks good.. :D

hypp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Good story and mood!

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

)) that makes me smile

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Great atmosphere, but for something so moody the writing is very important. I think you really should spell check your text because several spelling errors ("diying", "excape", "etternity") took me out of the experience.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:54am

@Jarcas Studios: Sorry for that, I forgot to check the text, I will fix that right away.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

but most of the typos you pointed out were in the description and not in the game itself.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Very nice game, pretty unique idea. The story behind the game is very touching.

Thermite says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Intriguing story, nice idea for the slowing time mechanic.

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:03pm

A really great concept and a relaxing game, because of the slowing down of time! But something seems missing. I played the web version and there is no audio for me.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:49pm

It was a great story, and idea. Well executed!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:39am

good job

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Not a bad game. I couldn't get the good ending :( I liked the tone that the game had but I felt that the gameplay was a bit conflicting with it. Still, it was definitely worth playing, good job :)

murilo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:37am

Nice story! pretty short but to the point! I like it!

Drabiter says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:14am

I don't have Windows and the web version showed nothing.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:48pm

The story is sad but sweet. Great mood and everything worked well together.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:24am

This is surprisingly touching...
Simple and sad.
Wonderful job!

douglasv says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:48pm

You gave me feels man

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

interesting interpretation of the theme, and it sets quite a nice atmosphere. This is great stuff for a first game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]