August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Delta Dodge

by ranf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my first Ludum Dare entry! It was pretty satisfying completing a game in 48 hours, though it was also a lot of work. In Windows, just run the exe to start the game. In Linux, run RUNME.sh.

The controls should be pretty obvious, but here's some info anyway:
Arrow keys - Move
Z - Select in menu or fire weapon

Dodge the white bullets in the 10-second waves. Each wave is separated by 10 seconds of break time, during which you can buy items. An item is displayed if at the end of the wave you have enough coins to purchase the item, but it doesn't go away if you buy other items (so you can go into debt, though you'll suffer from interest and you won't be offered items next round unless you get out of the red). The items are as follows:

Heart - Brings back 1 hit point.
Gun - Shoots forward. Hold Z to charge to shoot 3 at a time.
Gun+ - Shoots in 4 directions. Hold to charge to shoot in 8.
Hourglass - Lets you move faster.
Orb - Gives you a hit point that lasts at most as long as the wave.
Magnet - Coins are easier to collect and are attracted to you.

Clear the regular game to unlock a second set of 10 waves. Have fun!

Made with Visual Studio with C++, SFML, GraphicsGale, Paint.NET, and MilkyTracker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#183Fun3.43
#188Audio3.22
#264Overall3.38
#397Graphics3.16
#406Theme3.32
#440Mood2.87
#539Humor2.25
#847Innovation2.57

Comments

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55am

Sweet logo! I found the game pretty tough. Also, going into debt buying items is a really odd mechanic, I don't think I've ever seen that.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

Awww, no Linux Version

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

Nice!

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

Great concept, wonderfully executed. The graphics were adorable and the audio was perfect - extremely nostalgic. Took me right back. Loved it!

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42am

Ravetcofx: On it! I haven't used Ubuntu in a long while though... hopefully it doesn't take too long.

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

For a bullet hell, you've got the proper elements: small hitbox, erratic wave patterns, and those occasional hard-to-reach coins.
Music is nice, and controls are smooth.
I'm not sure though if having negative money is a bug or not; whenever I play the normal "start" mode, no items are for sale.
I wish the game though have its powerups spawn more frequently (and to balance it out, less ammo) The cross gun is too imbalanced.

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37am

Fun, and cute graphics!

Ghandhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

Whoah~! I really like danmaku genre. This title is crazy!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

The wave levels were a mess. My experience with BH games has been that they have a pattern you can learn and predict, though it may be very hard to do so. These just seemed random. Not a deal breaker by any means, but it made it much harder than I was expecting.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

I've never been very good at bullet hell situations, so I couldn't survive long enough to see the whole game.
From what I've seen, though, the game is really neat and to the point.

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05am

Had fun playing this, the graphics were pleasing =)

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43am

Wave 4 wtf... haha this was a fun game. Pretty tough.

rot13 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

I liked art and music, but the game itself is a little bit too hard. Going into debt is a good mechanic, as it really helps surviving.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31am

Good and addictive game with some good ideas like the item shop. Try to add animations on your player next time it would be more punchy!

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Cool ideia and I loved the graphics. Too bad that I suck at "bullet hell" games.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01am

Pleasant execution, but really really tough.

I never saw any other powerups then the DEF.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:05pm

A very excellent avoider! I like that there are upgrades. A really tight little game. Good Job!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

It was hard, and wow, I love the debt idea ;o

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:41am

Brilliant dodging game - challenging but doesn't feel unfair, some interesting mechanics and nice graphics and audio.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25am

I love the graphics style, and the way waves varied was pretty good. Fun to play, good job.

gameXcore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Fun, but really suffered from the difficulty curve, it took me a fair few attempts to get past lvl 2, then lvl 3 was a doddle.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

Well put together and executed! good job!

Would have preferred higher res or 'resizable' cause its hard to see small

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:29am

This is very difficult, but I enjoyed it. The shop adds a lot to the game too.

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:08am

Intense gameplay, managed to buy stuff but no money in wave 4 :o Kept it alive til wave 7. Was fun to play. Nice done.

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

Cute graphics, solid gameplay, all around great entry. Only complaint is the upgrade system should have shown you what you could save for, instead of only showing you what you can buy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]