August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten seconds to midnight

by TimKaidem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's weird kind of turn-based game. There are nuclear missiles all over the place. It's almost completely random.

Left-click the planet to attack it, right-click - attempt to make it an ally. It's 50% chance that planet will reject your attempt. It's also 50% chance that you'll become ally, which makes your enemies his enemies.

Doomsday clock is ticking. Sort of.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#82Innovation3.80
#511Overall3.10
#601Fun2.87
#726Mood2.50
#726Graphics2.60
#1136Theme2.08

Comments

Delta Square says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:25am

Very neat! I liked both the idea and the execution. Surprisingly replayable. Would improve a lot with some nice music and sound effects.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Unexpected, refreshing, simple. I like it, though I'm not sure how the 10 second theme is involved.

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01am

Thank you for reply, mates!
Delta Square, for first game ever and solo jam session it's even more than I've expected :D But offcourse have in mind a bigger and much better game in future maybe/

AGDG_REJECT, what I meant by all that is metahpor of Doomsday Clock (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doomsday_Clock), when things are pretty much fcked up. ;)

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38am

I always love mutually assured annihilation! good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39am

I enjoyed this. I like the concept. I think theres a lot of potential here to expand on the idea. My strategy was to make allies with everyone, watch them destroy each other; and then destroy the remaining planets. Fun stuff.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

Only thing missing is music, the rest is nice, not sure how your AI works since I found it pretty friendly, would like some of them to back-stab me just because

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45am

I also agree that some sound effects would improve it.

Cool idea. Simple rules, but a puzzler that make you think. I like it.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46am

Very original idea! Really enjoyed playing. Good job for your first game :)

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51am

Very cool idea, I don't think I've ever played someting exactly like that. It would be nice if there was some indication as to how likely an alliance would be (or why it was denied) but other than that it was fun. A lot seems to depend on the random relationships at the start though.

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

Guys, thank you very much for kind words!
And yeah, the Accept/ Deny alliance is 50/50 chance, it's totally random. Had no time to make something more thoughtful.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55am

It did take me a while to understand the game. There should be a way to just advance time and maybe some other ending condition could be added.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22pm

For the first game in your life, this is amazing, keep at it! Good job.

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice idea, i like it, just can't see the theme :)

urth says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38pm

What is missing is the ability to divide and conquer. If the other planets are at peace with each other you will lose because you have to fight each one alone. Your ally should sometimes decide to join your war on another ally. Or a way to provoke war between other planets. Or there should be another win situation where all the planets are at peace.

Misfit says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Idea is great.. more features and it's awesome strategy game. Good job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

This depicts some situation one can imagine,
the gameplay is cool, but you should have less chance to make an ally with an allready ennemy planet than with a neutral planet...
But it's still Awesome!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Such a nice game! Original, fun, and polished: congrats!

bitserum says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:42am

I don't know where 10 second theme is used but i had fun playing. Couldn't stop till i got to victory. Nice game.

foumart says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Nice strategy but missing theme. Just destroyed all planets.. althought allying all planets isn't triggering victory. More levels would be great too:)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:46am

Hehehe i like the idea, it will be awesome if you add more planets :D but yeah that is for an other time, great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]