August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Meat Game

by Boneloaf - Jam Entry

Meat Game a multiplayer puzzle game in which players fight over meat in a series of perilous mechanical rooms, the aim of the game is to carry the meat through the hole at the bottom of the screen to earn a point, 7 points wins the game (scores are shown as player coloured blocks at the side of the screen).

You can see multi-player gameplay in the YouTube video at http://youtu.be/AwPHhWaidMQ (if you haven't got people with you to play the game with).

W, A, S, D is Move
SPACE is Jump
',' (Comma) is Right Grab (should be Left, will fix after sleep)
'.' (Period / Full Stop) is Left Grab (should be Right, will fix after sleep)
ESCAPE exits to menu / game

Meat Game has been tested (and works) with wired Xbox controllers and should work other controllers supported by Unity (configuration could be needed).

Some warnings (because we forgot to allow time for play testing, sorry)

- blocks move every 10 seconds
- going through the first hole on the menu screen starts a 1 player game, 2nd hole is 2 player, third hole is 3 player, fourth is 4 player
- players can fall of the front of the blocks (grab walls to avoid falling)

Thanks for playing

----- Fix Log -----

- 'fixed' PC version as some levels had no moving blocks
- linked orphaned audio files
- fixed menu screen bug
- slightly adjusted game physics
- fixed impossible levels
- ESCAPE key now exits game
- fixed player respawn issue
- fixed the WIN screen
- added Webplayer and Mac versions
- added instructions to the menu screen
- reduced file size

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#177Graphics(Jam)3.69
#191Innovation(Jam)3.21
#199Humor(Jam)2.79
#282Audio(Jam)2.87
#323Mood(Jam)2.83
#365Overall(Jam)2.95
#440Fun(Jam)2.54
#464Theme(Jam)2.69

Comments

xndr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23am

wow! My favorite.

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09pm

My characters keep running off the z-axis and falling out forever. :(

Very well made though!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Excellent game. Sometimes it's too hard to understand how actually I need to play game but it's good still.
Music is fun.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

It's really ambitious but the game isn't properly explained in the game. The gameplay itself is.... awkward. The idea about the block changes every 10 seconds is good but the whole getting meat is just weird, especially as it's super hard to grab it. Also when I fall down the meat hole I don't respawn....

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Happy that you had some fun playing 'Meat Game', we need to add training levels and play test the current levels (to make them less infuriating).

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Judging this game as just a single player is pretty hard to do. The concept is pretty great and the graphics look tasty. The ease of death and really long respawn times detracted a little from it, but I imagine that those problems would go away when you played with more people.

Good stuff!

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Arrgh! So rage-inducing! Great job!

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

Took a long time to load and wasn't pretty sure what to do. If I want to get to the bottom or to just survive.

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23am

I kept walking forward, falling off the screen, and that was it. Another 15 second wait for the game to reaload :-/

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55am

Sorry, we failed to make the game fun for solo play as the respawn time is 10 seconds, we have made a gameplay video ( http://youtube.com/watch?v=1izQfZZWHho ) that shows the game with multiple players.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

Great looking game, but it felt a little clunky to me =/

netgrind says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27am

I found the meat a little hard to grab onto

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40am

Interesting idea and I like the aesthetic but your use of Unity's physics engine felt a bit kludgy.

sirdorius says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:45am

I love the movement of the characters... so fluid. The gameplay is kind of hard to understand

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27am

Thanks, the character movement is taken from a physics based multiplayer fantasy game
we are making (see http://indiedb.com/games/mythicbeasts for screenshots and videos).

re: gameplay, we haven't explained the gameplay sufficiently in the statement (we will add an instructional graphic soon).

Basically to score a point in the game you have to grab the meat and fall through the hole at the bottom of the screen, the first player to score seven points wins the game.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Kinda hard to judge as single player, looks a lot of fun with 4 people, though!

Reyn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

The multiplayer looks fun, didnt sound like there was any familial disharmony there :)

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

I like the level designs.

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

I'll be honest, I'm having difficulty playing the game, even in one player. I very often get myself trapped and then shoved off the board. I don't know how to pick up the meat if I am even allowed to do that. Nice concept, but needs a little more work.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

My favourite Jam game by far, so much fun! Rated very highly. :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I had a hard time playing this. Most of the time I found myself being pushed towards the screen and falling off, along with the meat. I can't seem to grab the meat easily as well.
I bet this game will be a lot more fun after you polish the controls and mechanics a bit. :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Great music. Nice concept. I like that you made a 4 player game. Incredibly hard!

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I could see myself playing this on a 3ds - I think the grabbing controls need some work though. It was hard sometimes to pick up the meat, instead I'd cling to a wall instead.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Awkward controls.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:17am

what is the controller for playing using ps controller
i want the game much fun

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

pls

May 18, 2015 @ 1:51pm

can we play with a joystick
please add tab for change controller

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]