August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unseen

by Neo-Blue - Jam Entry

An unseen force has invaded your home. Close your eyes and count to ten! Do you have the nerves and precision to take it back? Try the game with headphones for a unique experience!

(If your system language is Japanese, you can see the game will be localized.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#12Audio(Jam)4.08
#22Mood(Jam)3.98
#213Theme(Jam)3.27
#252Graphics(Jam)3.43
#295Overall(Jam)3.12
#341Humor(Jam)2.21
#349Innovation(Jam)2.83
#435Fun(Jam)2.55

Comments

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

Don't understand what player needs to do for win but game seems pretty fun)

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

Wow fantastic job with the audio work. Really enjoyed my experience with headphones on.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57am

Phenomenal audio work. It did made me jump slightly though when you open your eyes too quickly!

3beards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57am

Terrifying.

tobbez says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57am

I only get "MISSING LANG:SOME_STRING" instead of all the text that I suppose should show.

I tried setting all my regional/language settings to english/US, but it didn't help.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37am

Hi! Thanks so much for the comments!

@tobbez, thank you for pointing out this problem! There was an error with our save file name that was causing unsupported languages to load. I made a quick change to the file name that should fix this.

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Very atmospheric; the ambient soundscape while you have your eyes closed is great.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26am

The audio and graphics set a nice mood. Good entry.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Is it possible to survive? I tried it once the intended way, was 0.4 seconds off, and tried it a few more times using a clock. Several times trying to reach exactly 10 seconds, then a few times slightly less or more, and every time I died. :(
Great atmosphere!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

This is a hard game, managed to see the creature but is it possible to kill him?

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great atmosphere!

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

Really fun game... an INCREDIBLY slim margin for error though. I tried a couple times freehand, couldn't do it, tried it with a timer, came within 0.3 seconds. I think being within a half second should count honestly :P. Other than that, loved the atmosphere and the tension when you're looking around the room before you know if you made it or not.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:13am

nice, but strange !
who is punching my pretty face :D

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:46am

Very simple, but emotionally evocative game (headphones highly recommended). I generally like a bit more gameplay in my games, and think that you could have done more with this mechanic. Maybe an exploration game with this mechanic tied to it to drive off enemies, while stumbling around with your eyes shut. Maybe a clock in the background that ticked irregularly to throw your internal clock off. Something to build on this.

For what it is, I think you did very well. Nice work!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34am

Nice, I won on my second clock.
Beautiful modelling.

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:08am

That was scary and fun! I'm not a fan of "horror" games, but I really enjoyed your idea. I loved the immersion. Damn, the phone ringing was a mean move. Good graphics and awesome music. Great work!
PS. I really closed my eyes.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52am

I really like the detail and concept. the sfx made me jump.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Thanks so much for all of the great feedback!

It's definitely possible to beat the monster, but you have to open your eyes within 0.2 of 10 seconds. We're still debating about where the sweet spot is for the error margin because adding just a little more can suddenly make it really, really easy. We're counting on user feedback to be our guiding metric!

Thanks again for your comments. We really appreciate everyone that's taken the time to check out our project.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

Mood, through audio and graphics, is amazing. I was more immersed than a jam game usually manages to pull off. Awesome job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Yes, I got the happy ending! Oh my gosh, this game gets scary! Excellent audio work, really made me jump!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

Very nice graphics and sound!

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

Ow my heart still hurts from jumping the first time I messed up. Very atmospheric thanks to great visuals and even better audio design. Gameplay is simple but the overall package really makes this game stand out.

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:19am

This really scared me, I don't do well with scary games. Great sound effects! Good job!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Hard and simplistic but very clever use of the theme and excelent presentation.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

love the audio.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:20pm

WOW! Ok..? now I can't sleep... х_х... It is some kind of crazy! I love it!

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Pretty moody, with nice graphics.

Got a jump scare when the creature got me!

Nice game :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Ohh, that is neat

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:30pm

nice, scary take on the formula. impressive audio.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Amazing mood and audio :)
But it's a very simple game for a jam one :/

Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice scary game, great audio and graphics!

Broxxar says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I was confused as to whether my ten seconds started: when I started the mousedown, when the eyelid animation finished, when the bell chimed. Other than that remark, this is an awesome entry, wish I had played it full screen at night with the lights off to maximize the effect!

Exergy says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Didn't think I was gonna like this when all I had to do was click for exactly 10 seconds, but strangely I actually did like it! Fantastic work with the audio.

yagiz says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice spatial sound!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Oh come on! 0.2 seconds past hope, the game is too much unforgiving! The concept is really amazing and the challenge is a lot of fun but it's almost impossible to win without using a stopwatch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]