August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10TEN SECOND2NDs

by stepvhen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: Windows release updated with proper DLLs

Your country is hosting the Olympics. But diplomats and mobsters from other countries have decided that you win too many medals when you host, and in order to raise morale in opposing countries (and stay alive), you have been asked to finish second in at least 10 events.

Press Enter to start the game, [G] and [H] run, and rowing is done by swiping across the top row of your keyboard. The keys that need to be pressed appear on the top left of the screen.

I didn't finish this game. There are no win conditions. I was not prepared and my original plan was too ambitious. I am submitting this for posterity's sake.

Tools used:
C++/SFML 2.0
Vim/g++/make, Visual Studio
Gimp
Glapse for the time lapse stuff
Makefile Project Creator to make the makefile and visual studio solution (this is super helpful, I suggest it)
Git, Sourcetree
Some bash scripts for grabbing TODOs and such (availabe at Repo)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#802Humor1.83
#954Innovation2.39
#1026Theme2.52
#1050Mood1.80
#1139Graphics1.78
#1148Fun1.86
#1166Overall2.00

Comments

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36am

I can't start the game, it says I'm missing MSVCP110.dll.

eckcz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54am

"I can't start the game, it says I'm missing MSVCP110.dll." Same here.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54am

Can't run; says "not a valid Win32 application" or somesuch. :(

ghostonline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05am

Simple game with interesting controls. Reminds me of the old button-mash sport games of the NES-era :) You might want to include files [1] and [2] so people have an easier time playing it.

[1] http://www.dll-files.com/msvcr110.zip?0WJjSIWKlX
[2] http://www.dll-files.com/msvcp110.zip?0WJjSIWJkS

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09am

Game worked for me. If you get "[...]MSVCP110.dll missing[...]" you probably need to install Visual C++ Redistributable (try 2010 and 2012) - just a lucky guess ;)

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

Hello! The game was missing two dlls for me:
msvcp110.dll
msvcr110.dll
I found them on the internet though to try out the game anyway.

Since the game is unfinished i won't mention all the bugs and focus on what i did like about it: The mspaint graphics are nice and funny :D Also i laughed as soon as i read swiping accross the keyboard to row, so points for that. Also nice idea on having to finish second.

If you ever plan to revisit this game, i think it really has potential to be fun if finished, i.e. more events, some funny sounds and maybe have the mob interfere with the events. Keep up the humor style, i personally like it.

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Hi !
I played you game on linuw,with wine, after downloading the two missing DLL.
Too bad you hadn't finished the game, I think your theme idea is interesting ! The keyboard concept is uncommon (that's a positive thing) but I've a french keyboard so it's not handy with the second event :) Well you hadn't time to finish it so there's nothing much to say.
It's a game that deserve to be played finish and I'm sure it would be fun !

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Missing MSVCP110.dll here, too.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I can't start the game, it says I'm missing MSVCP110.dll.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

What I like about this game is that it really uses the keyboard as a whole :) I like such games

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Updated the release, it should have the proper DLLs now. Thanks for all the comments, and I am sorry I didn't include that stuff earlier, I forget that VS is like that.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49am

Kind of interesting. Needs a bit more work though.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Best rowing simulator ever

berkano says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Some cool ideas there! Though I think the keys on my laptop will pop off if I play it much longer.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

Cool idea, but such a short game :/ I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

triplefox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

I liked the rowing-by-sweeping thing. Best part of the game as submitted.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:51am

Interesting
Though I disliked the POIUYTREWQ for the boat. I have a uniquely setup keyboard and it made it near impossible to do reasonably
Would have preferred another variation for keys

Still neat

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Sports games are always a welcome break!

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:26pm

The idea you described sounds fun, too bad you couldn't finish it. The boat section has too many keys to press, man! Although it looks cool when I slide my finger through all of them ahha

jprogman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:59am

Those 10 second races are a nice idea to play. Button-mashing for running is alright, the canoe racing is too much.

Would have been nice to see more sports, maybe even non-racing games such as getting a better score.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]