August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Zombies

by technocf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 Second Zombies: A zombie survival game


10 Second Zombies is a game in witch you have to survive for as many rounds as you can. You can place turrets and mines to help you in your survival.

I wrote the game from scratch, no frameworks, in PHPStorm for the code, Audacity for sound, and GIMP to create the graphics.

The game controls are shown for the first 30 seconds, or until you click anywhere or press any key.

The 10 Second "feature" is that there is a new wave every 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#347Overall3.27
#1906Coolness10%

Comments

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

Really fun! Love the scan lines.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45am

Super cool graphical affects, and its awesome that you made them by hand. The store thing seems pretty elaborate and the game is complete so very good job for 48 hours!

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

My favorite for now. Greets!

gameXcore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Good game, I found it difficult though, as I really wanted it to play like a twin-stick. I also couldn't seem to "use" health.

technocf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

gameXcore:
You can't "use" health, you can buy it to max it at 10 though by pressing Q when it's selected on the item bar.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Only being able to move the way you are facing is a bit awkward

xXweeguyXx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Really fun little game but the controls got a little awkward

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:44pm

That was cool!
That slow motion bullet is very very interesting in the "save your bullet" game mecanism.
That flickering Y move effect hurts my eyes.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice simple game. Well done. I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

KaaPex says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Psychedelic))

shard123 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Really fun, loved the shop mechanic!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]