August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Badger Bolt!

by SteveSalmond - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Badger Bolt is a short game where you play a racing badger! Unfortunately, those pesky rabbits have seen fit to give you a 10 second handicap..

- Click in the game view and press ENTER to go full screen.
- Arrow keys or WSAD to move (well, A+D), SPACE to jump.

Credits
- Made in Unity 3d
- Art, code, sfx by Steve Salmond
- Music generated with the excellent Otomata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#4Graphics4.61
#85Mood3.58
#146Audio3.31
#147Overall3.56
#226Humor2.94
#389Fun3.12
#582Innovation2.92
#1064Theme2.43

Comments

Todnut says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:36pm

cool!

kayupla says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Just Nice! Original universe and cool gameplay . good work.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16am

Thanks guys :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11am

This looks quite extensive for a game made from scratch in 48 hours. Nice work! Also good use of Unity-Resources.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19am

Finshed up third, loved your art and the way meteors work, wish it was faster because I felt the game was way too long. Still in a multiplayer I wouldn't mind the lenght!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26am

No possible way! Seriously, 5 stars is not enough to award this game for graphics. Un-be-lievable! Oh boy I'm dizzy now though.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37am

Haha, thanks Peculier! - If you think you're dizzy, I've been looking at this game for the last 48 hours! :D

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38am

Tork - agreed that the game is way too long, that was my 'genius' plan for squeezing out the most gameplay, haha. Yeah, multiplayer might help with that.. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

These graphics are absolutely amazing. Nice work!

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55am

insanely beautiful. brilliant.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03am

What a beautiful, fantastic, bizarre game. I love it. Darn that sun is so creepy though.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11am

Thanks guys! That sun is creeping me out too now that you mention it.. :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37am

Holy Moly, this is a gorgeous-looking game. Not just nicely done, but with a real distinctive hand-illustrated style to it. Everything about this one is pure quality.

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

Really awesome game :) great graphics, sounds etc...
well done !
I didn't have unity web player, but it's ultra quick to install (literally 2 seconds) ^^

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I love the sun, great work!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Loved it! Very beautiful! Came in first! Yar! [flex]

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Really nice! I love the art, love the concept and love the music! :)

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Nice work. The graphics were beautiful.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

The art and music in this are beyond fantastic. The gameplay itself is a little easy. I lapped everyone at least twice :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Hah, you're much better than it than me then Chronus! I have trouble beating that damn rabbit most times... Cheers :D

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Seriously, these are among the most beautiful graphics I've ever seen for a video game. Very found of the mood, sky, lighting, everything....
I played your preview during the contest, and came back to see the finished game.
I must say I'm somehow disappointed by the game play. It's good, but far from excellence of the graphics.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I totally agree about the gameplay - I'm not a great game designer by any means. That's mostly why I decided to enter Ludum Dare, actually. Hoping to improve in the future! Thanks for the feedback Plancien. :D

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Really nice graphic man!

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Sir, the visuals are stunning! As mentioned before the gameplay is meh. maybe 10 laps is a bit to much? Could need a bit more variety. But, damn you redefined the words style and beauty. Much respect!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Thanks dudsen :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I did have some plans for a bunch of different powerups / powerdowns / obstacles along the way like jetpack, zimmer frame, beserk mode (charge straight through obstacles and smash em), that kinda thing. Don't know if it would have made the gameplay more fun, was hoping it would spice things up and maybe inject a bit of humor. In any case, I ran out of time (and willpower) to implement anything like that. Yeah, probably should have just reduced the lap count like you say. Cheers for the feedback! :D

xndr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:35am

Uhh. Cool!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Extremely good looking and the gameplay is also fun, really enjoyed this.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Nice colors on the sky and ground but I think the level design needs more care

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:10am

Love the look of this game and the sound of it. I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOZnQrkIteE

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:10am

i did not feel the music fitted well,kind of laggy but its still an ok game

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:25am

Thanks Jupiter! :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

I like my games like I like my badgers: hand-drawn and weird :P

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Good game, nothing to say. It's funny to play it :D

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Fun game. Wonderful graphics. Really like the sound effects.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:42am

As a game this was just okay. But as a representation of style, art, and concept it is very very cool. This is in fact one of the best looking games I've seen on here. The style is unique, clever, and very well implemented. I think this would have been better suited to an interesting platformer instead of a simple racer where you run around the planet in circles though. Excellent work!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

Thanks zentaco - yeah, a platformer would have been cool. Next time perhaps! :)

Danvil says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very nice graphics!

Larzan says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:04am

Wow, simple gameplay, but so beautiful, i couldn't stop :)

lesterpig says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:11am

Don't like unity, but graphics are obviously very very beautiful ! Hovewer, gameplay is a bit too simple ;)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Awesome graphics, the sun and the moon are especially well drawn. A great entry, was really fun to play but storywise the relation to the theme is lacking, badgers have to wait 10 seconds just because the rabbits said, you could figure out a better pretext but apart from that everything else is excellent.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]