August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MUD

by @TeddyNashor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First entry in LD. Had a blast and def will do it again. The art is programmer art and there is no sound, but I think the game mechanics are fun :)

Play it at www.teddygaming.com/LD27

The game is pretty hard, so i suggest playing around in cheat mode to see what works for you. (in cheat mode you may press space to skip a level). Didn't have much time to balance the game. (may i suggest turrets though :P)

Also feel free to download the unity package (in the windows link), you can check out the code/edit it or do what you like :)!

I suggest playing in full screen, some of the GUI is a bit cramped?

There is a cheat mode as well (top corner of title screen)

If you would like to add music/art to this game and make it better w/ me twitter me! @TeddyNashor!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#192Fun3.41
#372Overall3.24
#406Theme3.32
#418Innovation3.15
#566Mood2.71
#683Humor2.03
#922Graphics2.25
#971Audio1.28

Comments

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21am

Wow, it was really really fun :D
Is shocking the change between both gameplays, but i liked the game and played for a while :D

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

A bit too hard, I think my record is 800 gold or something, keep dying at the 3rd/4th wave. Fun Idea, and makes sense to defend the asteroid you're mining from, but still, too hard.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

The mining levels are kinda fun, however the fighter level really let it down. They move far too fast.

raver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32am

Nice game, but to hard for me. I cant pass 3rd level.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35am

Fun concept, solid gameplay, intuitive controls. Art could use some polish, and the lack of sound or music really hurts.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05am

I love how hectic it is. Gets a bit too hard really fast though. Maybe the mining portion should be more generous so upgrades came faster? But including a shop in itself is a great addition. Solid work.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06am

Really fun, really challenging. Tried it a bunch of times, going for different builds. None of them seem effective enough to beat the waves around 5/6, but still damn fun.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19am

Ok im going to update it a bit to make the mining more lucrative. (thanks for the suggestion Hypnohustla!) that is like a 10 sec change.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20am

Would have liked to be able to move around in the combat stage. Lava was a bit hard to separate from gold and I often killed myself on it. Nice idea though!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36am

ok its taking longer then 10 seconds ... XD trying to add a bit of custom difficulty so i can get a consensus on what you guys think the difficulty should be

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43am

OK! the level of difficulty modifier is complete! let me know what you guys think is a good value! (its on the title screen)!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

Cool game! I always ran straight into the lava XD

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

Quite an unusual mix of genres, but it makes for a really fun game the way it keeps switching pace between levels. Nicely done!

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42am

I thought that the gameplay was very fun, although could do with a large amount of balancing. It was really hard to see what lava was at the first level, I never had enough money to upgrade, and in the shooting stage, I felt that it was impossible to shoot the enemies sometimes, as they were coming from different directions. Exciting music would have helped. Also, the graphics do suck, sorry, but the gameplay concept was great.

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

Neat game, a bit too hard from the 3rd level on. Also, the 'bigger bullets' button has the price off-screen.

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

I had a very good time playing your game :D

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

fun with lots of upgrades! The shooting segment is the best, but I got a low framerate on the mining segment so it felt choppy.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

Good game! Fast paced.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Level 4 and 285 gold! Pretty dynamic, I like it :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Solid, but becomes way too hard way too fast, especially if you are supposed to win at level 20. Barely got to Level 4.

But otherwise this was very fun! the mining shopping fighting gameplay was great! Wish there had been music or sounds.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

The mining part it is fun, but the defender part is kinda boring

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Interesting idea to switch between two types of gameplay!

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Very addictive and fun! Didn't expect there to be 2 styles of gameplay, but it works really well.

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Pretty fun game, loved the upgrades! :D

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

The mining is very fun and loved the laser upgrades. It would be easier if the upgrades were cheaper. Without cheats I reached level 6. With the proper balance it will be great!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Quite fun, I liked the connection between the different parts of the game, it fit well. I made it to level 61 (that's what the game said at least. Might have been level 6 :D)

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I loved the construction of the whole game; the mine upgrade defend structure was really well-thought out...

I think upgrades for the mining part could have added some variety to the playstyle (Were there any? If yes, I missed them and so apologize :P), and that the fights get too tough too fast. I understand it is a "defense" game and so movement would have made no sense, but I would have liked to be able to move in this game, at least in a small, confined area.

Overall pretty solid, with some polish and tweaking/balancing, this could sell a sponsorship, easy.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Fun stuff, but a few things could be improved, especially sound is really missing from the game. And some small stuff. like the lava looking a lot like gold in the mining level, but the rest is cool already. Nice job!

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice game! :)
I enjoyed playing this. The variety of weapons (and upgrades) made this fun.

Grafter says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Good fun to play!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]