August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coeus IV

by dungeonsoffear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Coeus IV is a text adventure about a lose lose situation. With 10 seconds left until the Governor has to decide the fates of thousands of lives, he takes to time travel to find another solution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#137Mood3.42
#281Theme3.46
#318Overall3.31
#330Audio2.94
#453Humor2.42
#521Innovation3.00
#685Fun2.77
#941Graphics2.22

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48am

Cool concept. A nice way to cut the Gordian Knot by being able to focus on content for the 48 hours rather than graphics and collision systems and whatnot. Nice job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

I shouldn't have jettison Quadrant 3. Interesting gameplay, relaxing and very different from the other 10 seconds game ! You have a nice writing :)

Malor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

Good job. i missed for a text questes like this.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

Holy smokes this is great. The writing is top-notch, going to need more time to fully digest this one so giving some tentative high ratings here. Good work.

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

Nice game found it quite boring after time although it did keep me occupied for like half an hour!

Nice game!

Ysty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

That was great. The writing was excellent, and it was very satisfying when I finally found the cure.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Wow! This deserves more time than I can give it right now, but I'm looking forward to figuring it out. So far, I'm intrigued.

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10am

Freakin' awesome! I didn't go all the way through it - but what I did get through was rad!

Dig the music, dig the vibe. LOVE the way time passes within the space - a really thoughtful way to address the theme.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

really enjoyed thius, didn't expect to enjoy it, havent really played anything like this if im honest but was awesome writing and story, i cant complete it though -.-

timujin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Wow, extremely good written. Are you a sci-fi writer, or, perhaps, a forum RPGs player?

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I love this. Well-written, and great ambiance with the music and visual layout.

I really really like how you dealt with inventory management and context-sensitive actions. I've been trying to figure out how to structure something like this in hyperlink text adventure, and you just presented me with some great inspiration.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Now this is the kind of game I like! Science fiction, tense and claustrophobic plot, infection bio-thriller, moral dilemmas, text-based puzzle solving. Good stuff. The visuals are nice, and the music is very good and sets a great mood. Seriously, just listening to this was a joy. The timer is a good source of tension.

Unfortunately, the end result is a bit less than it could have been. The writing quality is variable: good at best, cheesy at worst. (The "game over" messages are probably the best writing, in my opinion.) The solution to the problem comes across as a bit more B-movie in style than you'd think from the sombre premise.

On a technical level, the implementation is OK, but has some problems caused by the format used: for example, it would be good if actions disappeared once they were carried out. (And there's a bug in the university where a new pamphlet appears every time you talk to the student.) But, hey, 48 hours put a limit to how much you can program.

Typoes: "claustrophibic", "quandrant" (just once; you spelled it right the rest of the time), "Centriod".

tl;dr: despite some niggles with the implementation and occasionally schlocky plot elements, I enjoyed this a lot.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Nice interactive fiction! The typography and music really adds to the overall experience.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very nice adventure game. Little typo there in Centroid Park: "claustrophobic" spelled wrong. I didn't solve it yet after about 15 min of trying, but I vow to come back! Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:03am

Hi everyone, just wanted to pop in and respond to some comments.

First of all, thank you all for playing the game. I'm overwhelmed by your kind words thus far.

Second, I must admit I'm a little surprised for the mentions about the music. It took me about 3 hours to do, including learning how to use the software; I was worried I wasted too much time on it, but now I feel better about taking the time on a custom soundtrack. The drum track was done in Hydrogen and the MIDI sequencing on Qtractor, if anyone was wondering.

Also, thank you for the constructive criticism, especially from Christina Nordlander and Udo... I've fixed the typos where I could find them, and the next version will have them worked out.

I specifically wanted to respond to Christina Nordlander's post. About the plot, I definitely agree it needs work. I really wanted to focus on the setting, atmosphere, and mood, especially on the limited time frame. The pamphlet thing was actually supposed to be humorous, I left it in purposely. And right now the framework doesn't have any knowledge or state other than your inventory and location... for a more complex game, there would be a record of the player's actions and repeating actions could possibly have different effects, for example, when you talk to the bum when the power is on, he still says its out. Stuff like that.

Finally, I plan to clean up the code and release it as a text adventure framework. The ultimate goal is to write the entire games in XML alone (right now level data is all XML but actions are implemented as a series of Javascript callbacks).

Again, thanks for playing the game, my twitter handle is @fuball63 and my email is my username at yahoo.com if you want to chat.

See ya!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:24am

As a text game you made it look pretty nice.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Finding out that the pamphlet thing was intentional only makes this game better. :-)

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:10am

A refreshing break from the multitude of high stress and pressured entries that this theme has generated.

Top notch writing and an excellent story. good work.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice set up and mood. Nice music used for the game. I liked some of the more silly actions like trying on the socks.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]