August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Lava

by Folis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Walk: WASD;
Jump: Space;
Look: Mouse;

You have 10 seconds to find a safe spot before the floor collapses into the lava below!

==============

My first game created with Unity!
Definitely gonna use it again, it was quite fun to make.
Only 3 levels for now, but maybe I'll do a post-compo thang.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Theme3.51
#455Graphics3.05
#550Fun2.93
#563Innovation2.95
#608Overall3.01
#645Humor2.08
#721Mood2.51
#958Audio1.33
#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

Dude. Putting something else in the "end" room would have been great for an Easter Egg.

Nice job! I liked the lava textures. Only complaint: Auto-restart was annoying, should be "press key to restart" so I could do something else if I wanted. =)

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

Should've called it "Floor is lava" :D

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34am

Half-Life meets Minecraft! Not bad for your first Unity game & fits the theme well.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

Unexpected title, that's nice. No audio? It's one of the best senses we have to put us into a alert state, something you want with this game.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Hmm nice idea! Nice design of levels too.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Good use of the 10 second theme. Enjoyed the game.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

This is really good. Nice Idea :) More sounds would be cool ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

That third level is a toughy :0) Good job.

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04am

The mouse wasn't locked to the center of the screen (at least for me), and the sensitivity was crazy. I guess that could be on my end though since my default sensitivity is somewhat high. Very nice spin on the whole "floor is lava" thing. I enjoyed it, but would have enjoyed it more with sound and/or music :)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26am

Got stuck on third level but nice idea. It seems to fail on the end room so that I need to exit the app and restart to try again. Good idea though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Really good idea and nice use of the theme. I like the bit of parkour that you have to do in a pinch of time. I featured it in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice work with the theme. Pretty good work for your first Unity game.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice take on The Floor Is Lava, had fun with it!

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

great game, couldn't beat it though :(

really terrifying to get the ground beneath your feet taken away and be thrown into lava

well done, liked it a lot

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Haha, I beat it! The trick is on the last level to jump on the railing first, then run up it, and use that to jump.

The ending was pretty rad, but I feel like I should have fallen into lava!

Magdev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

This pretty cool. It's a nicely simple idea. Congrats on your first Unity game.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31am

Interesting game, I always liked a sort of "the floor is lava" idea. The controls are a little wonky but it was still pretty easy to beat. I really liked the pixel style of the textures! A little bit of audio I think would have helped it a lot too.

mboaj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

nice ambient and atmosphere.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nicely done! Too bad it doesn't have audio, would make it much more enjoyable. Congrats on your first Unity game, bro! ;D

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:28am

straight to the point when regarding the theme! levels could be a little more complex though.. but in 10 seconds that is pretty hard, though :/

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02am

Cool! Love the visual style.

loxo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:14am

Great idea! Only audio is missing. The levels are a bit cramped for my taste.

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:28am

Fun but needs music and more levels

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:41am

Fun while it lasted! I liked the END screen haha.

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:44am

Interesting idea, remind me the adventure movie.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54am

Pretty fun - little short though :( Would definitely be cool to see this idea taken further.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

===== SPOILERS =======

Love how you fall off into an infinite void if you try to walk towards the end.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:14am

Nice idea. Sounds would have really helped with the sense of urgency. Couldn't tell what was 'safe' so there was a bit of trial and error.

skywing says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Very nice, intense game.

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31pm

The puzzle is good mate! Only catch is that I'm headache as the camera makes me crazy.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Nice idea!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Nice concept! Completed it. However, I've got a comment on level design, I think it's not sufficiently clear what objects are solid and which ones will fall. I think you could do something about their affordance. Other than that—good job.

dagothig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Pretty neat implementation of the theme and a fairly fun concept... though sluggish controls and flickery graphics were sadly a nuisance, and the lack of levels was a bit of a downer.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Cool game, looking flashy and fun to play. Sound and music were sadly missed, however... That would have been perfect! :)

Blupsy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Short, sweet, and smooth. My favorite LD game qualities.

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Maybe a bit short right now. I like the idea though so I can't wait for the post compo!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice graphics! And super cool for a first game in Unity. A bit short though :)

sellsword says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Mouse sensitivy is way too high for me. I got a lot of screen tearing as well. Mouse wasn't locked to center which was strange. Was playing on my Linux box. Oh, and a way to terminate the game would be nice. I wanted to quit in the third level but had to alt-tab out and kill it. ESC to exit or something would've been nice.

Celticraft49 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I liked it. This moving your view was pretty sensitive though.

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09pm

It was challenging because of the extremely difficult controls, I enjoy the graphics, it added a lot to the mood, the lava makes you stress to not fall into it, so there's definitely some immersion on there!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Nice idea and fun gameplay.

ntide says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I love it! Great idea.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Was cool, although physics were a little dodgy. Also, no music D: but the idea was great and well executed!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Mouse sensitivity is waaaay to high for me (on linux). The camera is just spinning around

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Great graphics and idea, I would love to see more!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice concept and level-design :)

GigaBass says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:00am

DAT MOUSE SENSITIVITY DROVE ME CRAZY! Fun game though, simple concept

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

Third level was the hardest indeed ^^

Codexus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:28am

Very cool concept. It works. Good job!

Zap says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:01am

The insane camera sensitivity spoiled it for me. Nice concept though.

Dan says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Great for a first game in Unity. A little short but that's because of the 48 hours. I found it very fun though!

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:57am

Yaa escape the lava game. You should have imported couches or tables or other other house things to make it more like a kid was playing. Loved this game as a kid.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:06pm

"That's it?"

Also I won the last level basically by jumping at the right time.

skiesgamingtv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Hi ! Even if the game is quite short I really liked trying it ;) Are you still thinking about making a post compo version?

Here is a gameplay video I made a few weeks ago if anyone hasn't tried this yet :
http://youtu.be/zK97Fbms8ig

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

You sure know how to keep a game in scope! I'm super-jealous of that ability.

Congrats on your first Unity game, it was fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]