August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Launch

by Just Tom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- About ---
10 Seconds to Launch puts you in the role of the last Bus Driver in the Universe, be swept away on an intergalactic journey of good time keeping and public transit. Get ready to drift around planets, fly faster than the speed of light and keep a good schedule as all employees should.

--- Play ---
WASD, Arrows or gamepad (A to accelerate, B to reverse) will have you scooting around the Galaxy. Follow the route pointer next to your ship and get to the next route in 10 seconds, miss it and you'll wreck the schedule. Ship as many passengers as you can, crashing into the wrong planet will lose passengers!

--- The Universe ---
As the last Bus Driver in the Universe, you must jump between galaxies and ship passengers. Each Galaxy is randomly generated but themed none the less. Each Bus route and galaxy will get progressively harder as you aim to complete all three levels.

--- Technical Note ---
This game may not work on Mac

All assets and code were created or generated personally. Unity, Paint, Flash 8, GIMP, MonoDevelop and sfxr were used to create this game.

Downloads and Links




anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Great title and tag line! This game is very fun! The controls are very easy to use and the sound effects excellent!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Fun, simple, I liked the delivery sound effects.

130577 passengers shifted, I laughed at the "epilogue".

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Nice work! I really like the subtle parallax effect on the background and main bus station. The gameplay is kinda like Crazy Taxi in space, enjoyed it! Sound design could use some work, but the game is otherwise good.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Its really dificult. Simple and nice graphic style btw!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Love the graphics and the score system once you get to a stop, nice attention to detail! Easy controls. Very nice work.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Nice man, enjoyed it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Great graphics and fantastic controls. Really like the gravity pull from the planets as you sweep past them

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23pm

nice little game, I felt like playing a space-pinball version od crazy taxi. good job.

senseidav says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16pm

134.000 passengers carried, now I think I am able to comment.

I liked your game, it maked me to look at Pc some minutes.

In general I think Its funny, the gravity of planets, which depends in the size of them, its really good obtained.
I liked also the changing combustion colour, with has an alpha channel who make it dissappear in seconds.

As a matter of fact, i think it has some bad points too:
Althought its the same concept of running a race with checkpoints or laps with the possibility of losing with time out, you never can crash.

So that, this does the game easy, anypeople there has said its difficult but im not agree with that (I scored 100.000 passenger fiest time I played).

Another thing is how you named it:
some kind of coincidence has done that your game and mine had the same "10 seconds to launch" title.
This will score down our game innovation points, but that´s life.

Good work and keep on going.

senseidav says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I should say one more thing. You and me must learn how to add music to out games, and must do fast :D

ananasblau says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:08am

it tick all the boxes, sound, graphics, all there. I played a lot of Solar 2 the other week but you are close enough, for a prototype anyways. the rocket, can I upgrade it to a less noisy nucular one? :D

truiton says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:41am

Fun little game :D

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Nice game! :)
It's nice that every planet has gravity. It adds to the challenge.

kraj0t says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Awesome :-) Simple, yet fun to play and finish.

BTW, why don't you add the link to your timelapse video? I found this game of yours thanks to that video, which Youtube recommended to me as a related video to my own timelapse. And yours is a quite nice timelapse video, lemme say ^^

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]