August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Death

by DJLad97 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The regular controls W, A, S, D and the arrow keys.
I apologize for the quite sloppy movement; I've only been coding in XNA for several months and I also just learnt tile maps and tile map collision just last week - which is the main reason for the sloppy movement.
Anyway, enjoy :D

You will need to download XNA and the .NET framework.
Before you say: "What?! A download!" You might as well download it because you might need to install it in the future anyway as many games use xna in this compo and outside it as well. (DLC Quest, Super Meat boy (I think), Dead Pixels, Capsized and Terraria. It's very popular with indie game devs.

.NET 4 (You might have it or not):
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
Xna:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#516Fun2.97
#670Mood2.58
#757Audio2.15
#765Theme2.93
#943Overall2.63
#946Innovation2.40
#992Graphics2.13

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

My windows machine can't play XNA games for some reason. Grumble grumble… Awesome screenshots though! :)

DJLad97 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30am

That's a shame, but thanks anyway :)

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

That was a very fun and challenging game, I liked it!

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

I didn't really catch the point in here, I managed to collect all the coins, but couldn't progress to the next level.

The controls weren't that sloppy, though, especially if you've just learned about doing the collision stuff. Keep working on it! :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47am

Couldn't get it to run, the installer fails. Could you generate a .zip file with the Relase executables?

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

I couldnt get it to run either :( (Windows 8)

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

I ran it on Windows 8

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I had a lot of fun with this!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:25pm

The graphics could use some work, but the fun is there :) good job!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Great, there are little collision problems, and it's annoying to wait 5 seconds to play when you die. But a funny game. :)

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28pm

The game is pretty nice. I liked the idea and the music. But It is too hard I think (I couldn't even pass the first level).
I also liked the possibility to kind of stick to the ceiling.
Please consider giving a download with only the .exe and the assets in a zip without installation (installing is pretty annoying).

DJLad97 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys. Regarding just giving the .exe with the assests, I put them in a zip file but for some reason the setup.exe and the other stuff still shows. I would appreciate it if anyone could help me :)

DJLad97 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Never mind, I've got it working.

DJLad97 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Also just noticed I spelled ludum dare wrong on the menu screen

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22am

Really really hard :)

DJLad97 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I enjoy making hard games, but at the same time hate people that make hard games/tracks. So technically - I hate myself :L

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:26am

I dont know why, but this simple look is very appealing to me. Nice one! :-)

DJLad97 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:56am

Thanks, kbm0 :) It's really awesome to see comments like this to say I've only been programming for a year now, and only C# Xna for several months :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Smooth gameplay, simplistic but kinda entertaining. Great work :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Like others have said the collision detection is not perfect. You can stick too the ceiling for a while and picking the right starting position is key to completing most levels.

I do believe you have put a lot of time into testing the levels considering how tight the timing in them are, looking forward to your future games if you continue with the same attention to details.

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Funky music! Super-hard to start with but I got the hang of it after a while - rewards repeat playing. Nice one :-)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Don't working on my machine D:

ryebread761 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Really simple but a good concept. Could have used some more sound.

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Good thing I was able to move during the 5 second delay so I can practice a bit before I run.

galman says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:45am

I like the idea and it is really fun! :D A bit too hard (I'm stuck at the first level :P ) and the music is too intense, other then that it's an awesome game!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I found this idea to be good, though the game is a bit glitchy and I could not pass level 1 :/ I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

DJLad97 says ...
Mar 18, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Not sure if anyone will see this, but: Did anyone download the source of this game before the link broke & still has it? I've just opened it up to improve some stuff & for some reason there is a game breaking bug it; I hadn't even touched it prior to open it so I am clueless to what happened to it. Anyway the source of the LD version might be able to help me out :)

DJLad97 says ...
Mar 18, 2014 @ 8:22pm

never mind

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]