August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Under Water

by Orava - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Under Water is a game about not drowning.

And bubbles.

Instructions in the game.




(It's mostly a styling & feel experiment for myself, as I've already done several jams this summer, which focused more on complex gameplay.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#186Graphics3.59
#193Mood3.29
#250Innovation3.41
#578Theme3.16
#608Overall3.01
#906Humor1.59
#966Audio1.30
#985Fun2.35

Comments

devwil says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Quite beautiful, but I had trouble discerning what I was supposed to be doing or if I was succeeding.

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Well done.

It is noticeable though that you ran out of time, for one, it is very hard to move around (the air lasts for 1/3 of a screen, because shaking the plants takes so long) and there's not much to do (or I didn't find it due to problem 1).

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Beautiful game. The way the plants light up is hypnotizing.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

I like the visuals. But I kept on swimming through the game...

Soundboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Really cool mechanic, it took me a few moments to realize how it worked but it totally makes sense! Great job!

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

It took me a while to figure out that I needed to go up to breathe. After I got the hang of it, though, I enjoyed the little program.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56am

Shaking the plants to extract air bubbles fascinated me! When the circle expanded, I felt the surprise of discovering the goal and the feedback. If you continue to develop this, have you considered hinting earlier at an additional task to do while also retaining air?

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01am

GORGEOUS

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

Nice game! I really liked the visuals, but I think it really could have done with some audio.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

Beautiful. Really hard and feels unplayable at some points, but the idea is worth lots of points :) really cool.

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

I really liked the atmosphere. Also the fact that everything in the area was moving a little.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26am

Pleasing visually though gameplay I struggled with, I couldn't make / use air pockets the ceiling seemed too far away, couldn't really figure out a goal.

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26am

Good idea. The resolution makes it difficult to tell where air pockets will form though.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

Phew! Made it. Very nicely done. I like the art. Once you get the hang of it, it's quite serene under water. It's a little hard to angle the character when swimming toward the air pockets but I didn't mind the effect - it creates good tension. Nice job.

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

Unique gameplay. Only thing I'm struggling with is control. But overall, this is nice.

lambomang says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36am

Very nice looking game. Could've been spectacular with some audio.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45am

really great presentation. fantastic job!

Orava says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48am

@everyone: thanks for the comments so far, I'm glad that I've succeeded in the visual department.

@ethankennerly: That would be the next step indeed, it's definitely lacking in the actual gameplay side. But as mentioned in the description, I've been wanting to do a style/feel experiment for a while now, since I've already done several feature-complex games during several jams this summer.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14am

If there was a category for "Particles" I'd give you a 10 (out of 5). There's tremendous potential here. I'm intrigued. The bubbles and plants are amazing. Tons of goodness. But I didn't find much of a game. Not sure what to do. Not sure why the world kept resetting. Confused.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

Nice job on using few colors. The plants animating is cool too :)

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

Fun game. I like how the bubbles form and the color scheme creates a great atmosphere.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

Very nice atmosphere. I die very quickly though and it's difficult to refill air. Controls are rather imprecise. Needs moody underwater sounds! Overall good job considering the focus on feel.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59am

Didn't get how to refill my health, but the graphics are very nice.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Awesome particle effects and simulation. I felt like I didn't quite get the balance of the air bubbles... I seemed to run out of air too quickly to make use of the air from the plants (it took most of my air just to get to the ceiling), and if I used Space to push off, it seemed like I would bounce off the top. So I ended up just swimming to the ceiling and breathing from my own exhaled bubbles, which can't be healthy!

TheHermit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

There's a very interesting gameplay dynamic between creating the resources you need to continue and actually going forward, especially because of the delay between shaking the plants and the bubbles settling.

nexust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

I loved the graphics in this, the plants looked great. I love pixelated graphics.

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Really cool mood set by the graphics. Took me a while to get a hang of the controls, but it works. Audio and a clear goal would have made this an excellent game.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

This game is visually pleasant and rather interesting!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Great visual, wasn't sure what I was doing XD

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice job. I love the art!

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

There wasn't a lot of a goal but it was really beautiful and moody.
I can see the potential here.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice work!

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Nice atmosphere. Keep working on it, you can obtain a very good game.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I like the idea but I have to say I didn't understand the physics behind the controls at all

munchor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21pm

>It is noticeable though that you ran out of time, for one, it is very hard to move around (the air lasts for 1/3 of a screen, because shaking the plants takes so long) and there's not much to do (or I didn't find it due to problem 1).

I had that problem, making an air trap takes too long, so I couldn't really do anything.

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Really cool graphics! This game definitely triggered a sense of claustrophobia with me. I wish there was more of an incentive to explore. I hope you keep developing this!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Cool game mecanics!Where's the theme though?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Nice look, but hard to play!

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

The graphics are great It was quit fun but challenging. Good Game but I wish there was Audio but never mind it was a good game :)

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Really nice, Not a cohesive whole, but I would love to see a finished version of this. Reminds me of the undergarden :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Looks cool, and it's a nice concept. It's a shame there's no sound, I can totally imagine some cool underwater sounds with nice reverb there :-) Another thing: the camera moves, but then it teleports when you reach some trigger. I'm pretty sure that it should be either one or the other, not both. Overall, good job.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

nice atmosphere i struggled a bit with the controls and with the breathing thing but enjoyed most of it

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Good looking and good concept. Pity there isn't other goal then the swimming :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Cool gameplay mechanic, wasn't sure what to do at first but pretty good regardless.

ivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Love the bubbles, looks great. Too bad you couldn't add more content.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

If mood is what you were going for that great job. I love that the Phosphorescence light up and the physical based particles that pool up on the ceiling are great. Really felt like it needed some moody audio to go along with the visuals.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Awesome! I also had an idea about swimming in the cave and not drowning :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

very moody, cool mechanics and art!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Really cool concept, I just wish there was more time for you to have developed it. The air pockets seemed a bit finicky to me and it would really benefit from some sound, but it was enjoyable.

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33am

great visuals

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30am

Beatiful game but I'm not sure I understood what I was doing.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very good looking! Some sort of goal stated up front, and some audio would have made this spectacular! As it stands, it is quite the pleasant experience though, very good job on the visuals.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Good mechanics, very fresh. The art is good at establishing the atmosphere - love the plants swaying, the bubbles rising, and the character's health/breath indicator is fantastic. Definitely needs audio, though - felt very cold without anything there. It was also a tad on the difficult side - maybe starting with a few built-in air pockets, and later having to using the plants to survive would have been a better way to go? Anyways, the difficulty put me off getting further than a few screens, so I'm not sure how much more content there is here, but I did enjoy the freshness of the gameplay for the short period I spent with it.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:31pm

some of the animations are really really pretty. i'm terrible at games and couldn't work it out, but i enjoyed it still.

Orava says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

To everyone who mentioned audio: I totally agree, it's just that I'm no good with sounds so I decided to leave it mute.

To everyone who mentioned animations: There are none. Other than the main menu, everything is drawn via code.

To everyone in general: Thanks for the comments again, glad to see that I did indeed succeed in the visual department.

rezoner says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I love the artistic approach of this entry<3

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I love the oxygen concept, it need to be polished but it's nice gameplay idea.

RawBits says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

It's hard to tell how much oxygen you have in the bubble or if there is enough in the air poket to refill it. This makes it very hard and confusing along with the swimming mechanic that makes moving less controllable.

I like the idea though it's sad that you couldn't add all things you wanted. Maybe in post-compo. ;)

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:20pm

The concept of shaking plants and useing the ceiling to get oxygen is neat.

Nice work!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:39am

Cool game. Nice graphics. Although getting the air bubbles from the ceiling takes too long.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:37am

Nice game! I love games like this without a HUD or anything. Looks really clean. No AIR: 5 I hate that. Interesting concept of plants giving off air when they get agitated. Nice work. 8/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]