August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robot squad

by chabuduo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

#
HTML with javascript tested only on chrome
drawings with paint.NET
no sounds T.T
#
Plan a sequence for your robots to execute and diffuse the bomb before the time!
#
Controls:
select with leftmouse button.
assign moves and deselect with right mouse button.

Instructions:
-deploy your team on the blue markers(starting positions).

-to defuse the bomb a robot must reach it and then have one second to diffuse it.

-badguys chase the closest robot and kill it if they reach it (they are assholes).

-Hacking computers changes the on/off state of the lasers.

-lasers kill your robot if it passes trough it.

-they kill badguys as well.

-game is pretty buggy sorry, especially the badguy wow.
enjoy thanks for playing^^



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#778Innovation2.68
#1016Theme2.55
#1023Graphics2.09
#1063Fun2.18
#1111Overall2.32
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Tried the first level of the web version (Windows 8, Chrome), but when I move my robot onto the bomb nothing happens.

chabuduo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

Thanks alot for the feedback, you have to specifically assign a diffuse command for them to do it because they arent very bright.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

I had no idea what to do... placed the robot, then picked up the other one to place and couldn't interact with anything.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

I couldn't work out what to do - some better instructions perhaps might be helpful!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Hmmm... wasn't that much fun, as I really didn't know exactly what to do, or why... Also, I was missing some sound. :(

Exergy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

A really good idea. A bit buggy still ;)

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The game is quite fun actually once you work out the controls (perhaps a tutorial is needed)

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37am

Very cool! I like this idea a lot. Polish it up, and set it free! Some constructive criticism: Trial-and-error is the only way to tell which laser changes happen when you activate a switch. It would be nice to have some visual indication of that. Also, it would be nice to be able to start with your last plan and tweak it, instead of having to start over.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48am

I found it pretty unintuitive to discover what to do.. I got the robot to disable the bomb, but sometimes it used more actions than I meant it to due to right clicking the same spot more than once. Liked the idea though!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08pm

This took me a while to learn how to play, but once I got the hang of it, it turned out to be a clever little puzzler. Pretty original premise. Unfortunately, the graphics felt a bit boring and hard on the eyes. Having the instructions on the screen was probably a good idea, given the relative complexity of the gameplay, but they made it feel a bit cluttered.

I never managed to beat level 5. Maybe I'll come back to this when I'm not so tired.

I didn't see any bugs.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Addenda:

Would be nice to have some way of showing when you've chosen the "wait" command.

Needs some proofreading: "bery good"? Also, you "defuse" a bomb, not "diffuse" it.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

Found it a bit weird/confusing. Didnt really get how to get by the lasers, however, I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

loxo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice concept! This will be great with some additional work. I would like to see some sound effects, maybe a tutorial to help get started and definitely more levels. Also it shouldn't be necessary to choose the level after a failure again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]