August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Owned in 10 Seconds

by wtfrara - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hack your friends! Hack your computer! Hack just like they do in Hollywood.

Owned in 10 Seconds is the *least* realistic hacking simulator in all the lands. Compete in Multiplayer or Singleplayer. Create strategies to use your Hackets�¢ï¿½�¢ (Hacker Packets) to gain Bitcoins and deploy the latest 0day payloads. You win by capturing 3 nodes.








Command list!
send x - send x number of packets
buy x - buy specified powerup using bitcoins (options are "fuzz", "steal", "crash" and "nuke"
deploy x - deploy your powerups










This game was created in 46 hours using:
- Unity3D 4.2
- Photon Networking Plugin from Asset store (not included in source)
- Photoshop CS4
- Blender
- Bfxr
- autotracker.py

Known bugs:
- There's a bit of an interface bug when it comes to switching to a new game. Just restart and it will go away, but your username and settings will be saved.
- Sometimes the bots are able to send packets in nuked nodes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#606Innovation2.89
#701Audio2.26
#803Graphics2.49
#965Humor1.38
#1001Mood2.00
#1110Theme2.25
#1137Overall2.19
#1165Fun1.76

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I don't understand how to play this game...

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I really don't understand what's going on. I need a command list or something, right now I can't figure out how to do anything except start the game. Can you post instructions?

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I just don't get how I can send packets :P . You should make some tutorial or something.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I don't understand how to play this

wtfrara says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Sorry, folks! I forgot to include the command list. Please try it again!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

The lack of some sort of documentation or instruction is a dealbreaker for me. Snazzy graphics, though!

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

This is really confusing. A list of commands would be nice.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Cool that you use a command line. Not cool that I can't figure it out properly and as I can see in the comments, no one really is :(.

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I also find it complicated. I didn't really know what x meant. I figured out, that send has to take a number as parameter. So "send 2" sends green squares down the tubes. But sometimes nothing happens instead. Buy and deploy doesn't take numbers. "buy 2" says, that such a thing does not exist.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Great game, loved the gameplay, and I never thought about modifying the html file to add the controls, very helping. I never could seem to get enough currency to buy power up. I'll I understand I'm supposed to send packets I wasn't sure how I am supposed to know how many I should send. Overall it kept my attention pretty well though.

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Fun! Not as nuanced as say uplink, but fun! I would really like tab autocomplete and more visible pricing for the powerups. Also the title looks like it says "owned in 18 seconds". Great work!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

A little bit different.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Good music and graphics. Gameplay could have used some additional explanation.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I don't have a clue what is going on, are you supposed to play purely on the defense or do you have to attack too? Also is the bitcoins thing a joke, how do you get them ingame?

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Too hard for understand game rules, maybe next time be better.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I couldn't work out how to win at it; I'd make an awful hacker!

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The idea is an interesting one, the execution rather problematic.
I'm a fast typer, but it doesn't lend itself very good for a hectic game.

Nizan says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I figured it out... I think... but gah, was too complicated for me - sorry :/

mobyvb says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:53pm

I really liked this game. It took a while to learn the controls, but it's super easy to pick up once you learn them. Really fun and innovative. I'm not quite fast enough though :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]