August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Catch A Train

by Mr.Greenhat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You got 10 seconds to catch that train!

----------------------------------------------

About this game:
Coded the game in Actionscript 3 and drew all graphics by hand.

Tools:
- Flex SDK (4.6)
- Gimp (2.8)
- Wunderlist ( to keep "track" of tasks :D )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Graphics3.96
#145Theme3.67
#286Mood3.10
#441Humor2.44
#694Innovation2.78
#732Overall2.89
#737Fun2.70
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Neat little game. I especially like the art! Some more levels, like different train stations would have been great.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Really fantastic! Great graphics with an adorable art style. Did you make that incredible font?? I love this thing. Humorous and original.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

You are crazy! liked it, easy to understand and hard.
Nice job.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

Simple and quick. I love the Gameboy feel!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

I liked the art, but there was no sound. I think it would have been better with more levels.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

Good combination of theme and mechanics. Adorable graphics. It's a cute little game.

shohs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

Nice game, although it would have been fun to have more levels. I like the art, but some sound would be nice. I did find that if you moved to the edge, you could win very easily.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Like the concept and the old-style graphics. Good work!

nanotech says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

Super awesome graphics! Nice work.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

Wish it wasn't so yellow.

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21am

I notice that moving left or right at the edge of the field causes the enemies to slide off to one side or the other, making it easy to bypass them.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

Wow, thanks for all the feedback! I really appreciate it :D

Overkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

This was pretty cute and fun! I like the pixel art. Though simply walking against the left/right edges sort of breaks the game by moving the crowd out of your path (and the camera doesn't seem to scroll).

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18am

WOW I loved the art! Good use of theme. Too bad it lacked sound. Like kirbytails7 said, I really liked the Gameboy feel :)

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

Haha. Nice! Graphics are really good.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02pm

OK, so...

I kinda sorta fell head over heels in love with this silly little game. I loved it so much I decided to compose a soundtrack for it. Mr.Greenhat, please use this however you wish.

http://d.demodulated.com/catchatrainsoundtrack.zip

everblind says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Love the art & design, looks like pokemon style graphics <3
Cheers.

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

I really like how the theme fits in this game.

Also, it's a pretty cool concept!
I like the gameboy-esque graphics as well.

Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]