August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GURU GURU

by Makio - Jam Entry

"Guruguru" is a hungry monster.
You feed him odd creature "Pompoms" by using cursor keys.
He only be able to be real figure within 10 secs in the night
and he loses his power when the time change to daytime.
You have to escape from Pompoms to keep spirits!
When Guruguru lost all his spirits, it's game over.

Bon 'appetit and Good luck!

Create with html5, you can play here - google chrome recommended :
http://makiopolis.com/ludum27/

Members:
-Developed by David Ronai ( @Makio64 - makiopolis.com )
-Designed by Aki Aoki ( @Akican - akiaoki.com )
-Sound created by Mike Stoney ( @Bulbamike soundcloud.com/mike-stoney )


Special thanks to :
- HARIBO happy box
- Chocolate
and
- Lemon syrup

GURU GURU !!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#44Graphics(Jam)4.32
#49Theme(Jam)3.72
#58Overall(Jam)3.75
#61Fun(Jam)3.58
#77Mood(Jam)3.57
#80Audio(Jam)3.57
#90Humor(Jam)3.33
#132Innovation(Jam)3.38

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47am

Great art and concept! Is there anywhere to hide during the day?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59am

love the art.. and interesting concept.. i didnt really get what to do during the day tho.. still enjoyed it!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30am

Good graphics and funny!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52am

hahaha guru guru has a really good twist. worth playing

GagaPete says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I love this game, seems to be simple but hard as hell. Okay, you can abuse the path-finding to collect Pompoms during day but thats a minor problem. The whole presentation is great. Very, very well done.

Makio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:12pm

@Just_delete_it / @futuristelex : sorry, a bug with cloud on some config, I fix it yesterday :)
@GagaPete : Hehe, there is no pathfinding in this game, but I also abuse it when I played haha ! It's a pat of the charm and will be great to complete some challenge ( not enought time to add this feature during the ludum :( )

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very cool. The time cycles are very well done as well, since they change the gameplay completely.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

loading got stuck for me in firefox.

Mesene says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice entry! it deserves more visits

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

This has a great feel to it! I survived for cca 5 days most... Escaping during the day is quite hard. Transition to night is cool! :D

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

@kibertoad : Thanks ! Bug fixed :)

Arigatoooo others, happy to see people get fun ! :D

brobutter says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Great graphics and the gameplay reminded me of PacMan for some reason. It would be cool if you could hide under the shadows of the clouds during the day.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I really like the art and music in this game, very charming! Very creative presentation as well: the sun and moon display above the screen and the emoticons in the intro. Unique game mechanic.

Great take on the theme too!

I lasted 5 days, I'm a disappointment to Guru-Guru :(

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

@brobutter : actually the cloud protect from the sun ( else your spirits leave you even if no ennemy touch you ) but some new cloud mecanics as well as more ennemy during the day and night will be nice yeah !

johnfn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Beautiful art, good music, neat idea but SUPER hard, though it felt kinda fair for the ghost to get justice because he kills so much at night :P. My high score is 50 pompoms!

Hayawi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

excellent art! confusing game and pretty slow though.

flarb says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

WOW! This is one of the most polished entries I've seen! I did mange to somehow break out of the map, though.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

@Hayawi : Did you play it on chrome ? It shoudn t be slow..

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Awesome graphics and nice concept! :)

brodavi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

Wow so great! Wonderful music, excellent character design, fun mechanic, nostalgic! :)

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

Played it some more, actually, running away at night isn't that hard, got to 180 or so eaten crabs :) I feel bullied over day :(

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

Wow I really liked the art on this and the game was fun! My only complaint is that during the day due to not being able to fly over grass it was a little difficult XD. Nice job!

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

this was fun I got 66

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:53pm

This game looks and sounds really funny, but doesn't display game graphics after the loading screen in my Opera 12.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Music still works.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:17pm

LOVE the main character design. interesting idea, but it it seems like it could use better collision detection and controls.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

The concept is really cool. It's pretty stressful when the sun rises with the pompoms, but it also gave me the envy to eat them all at night :)
Also, I played on firefox and it was fine

dekart says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Awesome game, I like how it matches the theme. Art and music is good too.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Ahah, That's like LD25 theme (You are the villain) mixed with this LD27 !

Very good art and awesome game mecanisms.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:49pm

That was absolutely awesome. The pixel art style is astounding. The only thing I didn't like was how hard it was to escape during the day.

Zerot says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Confusing at first and day time is a pain but good graphics and audio.

Volute says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Fun game, great art and great music !

Manoloko says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:08pm

A great game, amazing pixel graphics and cool music and FX. Easy to learn, hard to master. I love it. 5 stars.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I enjoyed this game.

I liked the graphics, music/sfx, and gameplay. It was a bit hard at first but once the right spot was found it became easy.

I would have liked to see an overall objective such as collect X pompom souls. Or stay alive for X days.

More levels could have prolonged the fun (but then there's the time constraints).

Played on Firefox 23 with no apparent problems.

Overall it was much fun.

DevMax says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:01am

Very nice little game, the art style is great, Gameplay reminds of variation of pacman, overall very good!

Makio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:06am

Thanks guys for feedback !

We agree with the majority, the level design should give a better learning curve.

Happy to see it works on firefox :D

x3zinja12 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I love the art and music. It compliments the game-play well.

Gear says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Must eat more pompoms.

Makio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:33pm

@gear : Yeah guruguru ! :D

domrein says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Great art and concept and fun. Super hard to survive the day though.

gmaker says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:39pm

loved this game! =) awesome mosters =) good job sir!!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:02am

Nice universe you've created here.
I really appreciate the dual gameplay.
I found a bit difficult the day part since the creatures are really fast, but I really dig the fact that we can't go through grass and that we need to think about it during the night.

Kimidori says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:41pm

fun game 5 stars!

it was hard at first, though once I figured out the safe route, I can pretty much play this game indefinitely without fear of ever dying :P. played it for half a hour then stop at day 71 with 563 Pompoms eaten.

though I would like to report a little bug, there are one flower that have chance of spawning out of the map in the screenshot here.

http://i.imgur.com/I4DDvdZ.png

rissatto says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Cool lol

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:29pm

This is fantastic, artwork is brilliant. Great entry.

Makio says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Thanks guys !
@Kimidori : 71 days ?!!! Oh my god.. you deserve all ur respect sir :)

Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:01pm

He, very nice game, so cute... :)

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:15am

Cool art and concept and fast as hell! That are the best ones!
Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]