August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unstable Ground

by avh4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first 48hr compo; enjoy!

You play a demolition expert who finds herself facing a dark internal struggle as well as a daily light struggle.

As noted below, there's no ending screen--if you successfully destroy the yellow building, you've finished all there is to the game.

IF YOU WANT TO SEE THE SOLUTIONS: https://gist.github.com/avh4/df3eddea3ded1843a522

My goals for this game: Learn HaxeFlixel (I ended up giving up on that and using CreateJS). Have a fully-finished game (almost succeeded). Tell a story (I did come up with a good story, but I don't think it comes across that well). Make the in-game instructions good enough to not need external explanation (success, I think). Learn inkscape (a major success)!

What I didn't get finished: The dark levels are not complete (the collisions don't work right, so I disabled death/restarts in the dark levels). And there's no ending screen to resolve the story if you win. Finally, while I did manage to make the character sprite, I wasn't able to finish the walk/running animation in time, and I would have liked to add a few more sound effects.

Tools I used:

Code: javascript + CreateJS
Editor: Textmate
Graphics: Inkscape
Music: autotracker (converted with VLC)
Sound effects: bfrx
Hosting: heroku + node

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#369Innovation3.23
#425Mood2.89
#610Humor2.15
#652Audio2.37
#773Theme2.92
#857Graphics2.38
#929Overall2.65
#1015Fun2.29

Comments

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

This is an interesting idea. I'm unsure how dynamite placement influences building demolition in this game, though, and I wasn't able to make it past the second building.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33am

I love the concept. Not sure how the dynamite effects the explosion either but the ideas are there!

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06am

If you're having trouble imploding a building, http://science.howstuffworks.com/engineering/structural/building-implosion.htm :)

However, my intent was that the resulting debris from the failed demolition attempts will help suggest how to better place the dynamite (each building has 3-7 different ways it will partially collapse depending on where you put the dynamite, which hopefully would help indicate where to try next).

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

I couldn't get past the control tower. I was really enjoying the story, and really liked the mechanics of the game. Having the freedom to enter and exit buildings is a really nice part of the game. The dark sections were, random, to say the least, but interesting. I wasn't quite sure on the point of them though.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

Really good idea, I like it. But quite hard to understand how dynamite works xD

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

I loved what I've seen : it's my favorite take on the the me so far. But unfortunately I wasn't able to pass the second building, the way we should place dynamites is not very clear

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

Seems like trouble with dynamite is a common comment. And I just realized some of the partial collapse images for level 2 are wrong/backwards.

Here are the solutions if you want to see the later levels:
https://gist.github.com/avh4/df3eddea3ded1843a522

eckcz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07am

Cannot blow the second building duh! But like the idea

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

It's a shame that the dark parts aren't finished as now it just feels like they're only there to slow down retrying. :/ But anyhow, the idea is neat and otherwise it's fun to try different placings. Some kind of undo would be nice, though, as I kept hitting space accidentally and had to go through the retry process again a few times. :/

(Spoiler: Gur fbyhgvba sbe gur frpbaq ohvyqvat vf fubja ba n cerivrj fperrafubg.)

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

I love games about explosions. That's a very interesting concept.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I just don't even what is this - I loved the dark sequences :P

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

The dark sequences really help drive the story and mood, although I have to admit I am a dummy when it comes to blowing up buildings.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I don't know why, but this reminds me "paper please"

everblind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

Good game but I was confused trying to get out of the building.
Good concept :)

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

There's really no reason for this simple little game to have a story but yours is hilarious! Giving that extra bit of context, especially with your impactful use of the 10 seconds theme, turns this thing into an epic. I really loved it.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

Awesome! You cant beat smushing buildings. Smushed Like my brain is feeling after this Jam. :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

It did take too long to load so I quit the window. Shame upon me.

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I really liked your concept. It had a lot of character. I couldn't figure out level two, even after looking at you link. Maybe if there were more in-game hints, like support columns. I loved the music too.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

How do I exit a building?

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Rare to see LD games with story components, so props for that! Unfortunately, like most others, I couldn't figure out how to pass the 2nd level without cheating (reading), perhaps some in-game hints or directions would help this, or at least specifically telling the player to look at the failing demotion structure for hints. I finished it though!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Had a hard time figuring out where to place the explosives. Also got stuck on the 2nd floor of a building. Interesting concept but could use some extra polish. Maybe more instructions or hint of some kind.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Very cool idea, this means extra points in innovation. The gameplay is a liitle bit to haltingly but it is okay, i can handle this ^^... congratulation for your first submission. hope you have enjoyed this weekend.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

Interesting idea. The music is great and I learned a bit about demolition. I wish this game was made in 3d though. It would have made for some awesome physics action. Great job.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I loved this game, but I think it deserves a bit more appropriate music... it seemed a bit to "elevator-y"! Such a cool idea, and I love the metaphysical storyline.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

I'm impressed by how nice the demolition physics is, even if it's not the same sort of realism that those CoD guys want you to have.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]