August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Run

by The Jahn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The instructions are in the game.

Additional tidbits:
> If it's slow, try downloading and running the SWF directly. No idea why it's so slow in browser but eh.
> Try Wimp Mode if it's a bit too hard for you.
> Try Programmer Mode if it's a bit too easy for you.
> Try Morgan Freeman mode if you don't care much for dying.
> All levels are procedurally generated.
> They are also all possible if you play well. I did some fancy math stuff to make sure.
> I'm going to go have a celebratory beer. Cheers! Good job, everybody!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#62Audio3.61
#65Theme3.86
#152Fun3.49
#202Overall3.46
#282Mood3.11
#314Humor2.69
#391Innovation3.19
#535Graphics2.92

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Hard, but well done.

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

Thanks for the different difficulty levels. I loved how happy the main character was... nice job making clear and usable graphics that still looked great. Nice dungeon generation too!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

Very hard indeed, which is a good thing. Also nice looking dungeons. Random generated? that's insane.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

A very solid game! Quite fun to play! Hard of course, but it's ok.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11am

Extremely hard, but really addictive.
I played for at least 30 minutes before I realized that I should leave a rating.
4/5!

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42am

The controls were a bit slippy for me so I quit.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

It's to hard for me.. but great job! :)

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Really challenging. I feel like the gems should give 2 seconds xD But it's a lot of fun ^^

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

The gems do give 2 seconds in Wimp Mode. Stun time and how much the sludge slows you is also decreased.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Difficult but it's exactly what I like about it, awesome!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35am

Nice music. I suck at the game, but did 3-4 levels? The electricity gates really tripped me up :)

Kotstulle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:03am

this game is just addictive! :D played it so much times and it's still challenging! graphics sound and gameplay fit perfectly :) good job

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32am

Tough game is fun. But also tough. And fun. Really addictive. Cool music too :)

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39am

Pretty challenging game! I'm not sure if it was intentional or not but the background music and the timer beep were synced in such a way it felt like they were playing off each other. Art could use some more polish but the random generation was a nice way to keep trying over and over! Good stuff!

The Jahn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:50am

Haha, yeh that was intentional. Thanks for noticing. c:

I wanted a lot of rhythm in the design so I synced up as much stuff as I could to the timer - the music included. Other things include the electric gates(1hz), the arrow rotating (2hz), and the amount of time it takes you to travel between rooms (*about* 1hz, given the speed of the character's movement, assuming optimal play and no obstacles).

Just felt like it emphasized the tension of the clock's ticking to me.

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:39am

Difficult in default mode.

It was fun for the first few stages, but then there's not much difference. Still, quite good for 48 hours!

N427 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Pretty fun and great music! Really hated the lasers though.

alts says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:37am

Nice music. I really appreciated the rhythmic consistency of the elements in the world. From what I could tell, the game lacked any sort of difficulty ramp up (of perhaps I'm just not good enough to make it that far) which can result in things stating to feel a bit stagnant. Nice work. High score: 59.

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:23pm

This is super hard, but cool. Great audio.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]