August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Onomatomania

by mixin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

5 stages. 10 seconds each. Maneuver the square and avoid the circles to survive to the next stage. Ported it to iphone and ipad and Firefox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#336Fun3.20
#488Theme3.25
#610Overall3.00
#700Graphics2.65
#726Innovation2.75
#789Mood2.44
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

eeezal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nice game, i'm not sure that the hitbox are really well define, but still fun to play.

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Cool entry, i really like that you have changed difficulty just by tweaking the speed of the spawner. Maybe an infinite mode, where the speed is always increasing ?

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Nice, clean graphics. All the levels seem pretty similar, and I was getting some frame drops, which seemed to affect how the balls moved. Fun idea, though.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:33am

Neat little game. Behaviour of the balls is a bit to predictable though, so not too challenging.

As a note, opening this in a 1920*1080 window, it was very difficult to find my square at the beginning.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Super fun game! Makes me want to keep playing!:)

xel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

Couldn't find the square at 1920x1080- made my browser window smaller and then it showed up. Fun game and an interesting concept.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

Ultra minimalist bullet hell, I like it!

garygreen says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:16pm

That was frustrating. I couldn't get past stage 2. But I liked the simple graphic style you used and the way the balls spiralled out looked great... and then I died! :-D

Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:56am

Good bullet hell game :D ... It was fun.

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:58am

Game had good mechanics, but the controls were less than friendly. Took me a while to figure out how to move the square (Click and hold) and since I was on a laptop, didn't work all that well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]