August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blinking

by Anoarith - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, here's my first LD entry.

It's a minimalist game where you blink from one color to another every 10 seconds, which allows you to go on platforms with the same color.

It's powered with Unity and I used Musagi for music.

I can't try Mac OS and Linux versions but this should works as well.

I hope you'll enjoy and give me a feedback in the comments (there may be some bugs I forgot to fix >_<).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#110Audio3.43
#130Theme3.70
#193Innovation3.53
#246Fun3.33
#264Overall3.38
#819Humor1.80
#824Mood2.38
#1016Graphics2.10

Comments

Sink says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Really nice idea! I liked how instead of having a visual timer you used music.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Cool. Very interesting mechanic and well executed - excellent example of where good game design is all you need for a fun game.

theunderminor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:04am

I kind of enjoyed it.

For being made in 2 days it's great. If you want to improve it in the future you could add some visual time bar or similar. Maybe some cool background etc. :3

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

I like the idea and execution - and I absoluely LOVE the music ;D

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16am

Great game but quite difficult, i think that the use of a bar that indicated the time before the next switch would of been beneficial.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26am

The concept of music beeing absolutely essential to finish the levels is brilliant. Absolutely loved that and it worked so damn well.

Great idea, smooth excecution! Good job.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

No. It wasn't any hardcore for me.
Seriously, this is a fantastic game. At first I was like "yeah well..." but when the rythmic came into action, I couldn't stop playing. This seriously is a great idea, and a smooth gameplay too. Better graphics could have been appreciate, but you can't have everything :)

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43am

Wow. It seems a simple game but it's more. You found a good mecanic which merits to be thorough. Oh and it's terribly addictive, and the waiting in the last level sent me mad. I hope I'll be able to do something like you did one day. Good work !

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

Nice game, Well executed and slick. (There really should be a separate aesthetics catagory)

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Relly great idea but I was lost in that music :D

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

It's fun we have almost the same concept for our games. :D
Nice game :)

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Clicking on web gives me a "Page Cannot Be Found Error." oops!

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I think it's fixed.

(and btw, thanks everyone for these positive feedbacks :D)

Cardanis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

I love how the music works as the timer!

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Very nice ! It's like Thomas was Alone meet Outland

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice little game, although quite unforgiving :)

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Good game keep up the good work

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03pm

So simple and so good! Very impressive.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Yeah, same aproch ;) Really hard !

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13pm

The first few levels were all about waiting, but thankfully it picked up with the blinking platforms. The music was great, and I don't think it needs a visual timer - audio is a much more elegant cue.

However, the very tiny platforms surrounded by black were extremely unforgiving, if they were platforms over pits, it'd be considerably more bearable and you could make them even smaller and still be fun.

Longarmx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Cool. I would like to have some sort of indication on when I was going to switch colors(like blinking or something), but the music really helped.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Actually, the idea was exactly to use music as a timer instead of a visual bar. Comments seems very divided on this question but, well, I personally it's cooler with a music (but maybe could be better).

Thanks again for all these feedbacks :), I'll maybe try to make this game better, with true graphics and more variety and balanced difficulty.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

*I personally think

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38am

Nice use of sound. A nice job overall, though a bit too simple for my tastes though. Would like to see a post compo version with more levels, and a more forgiving difficult curve.

aayars says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:50am

Innovative concept, and nice use of music as a time cue. Excellent use of potatoes!

I wouldn't have minded if the controls were more precise and responsive, seemed to have a touch of input lag.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:04am

Cool concept but I lack the platforming reflexes to get very far.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:02am

Great use of the theme through the music, I like it!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

Very well executed! The use of music and rhythm really made the game shine, it felt better than if you used a visual cue. And it is a nice touch that you change the music from level to level to keep it from becoming tedious. Very well done!

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:11am

I really like this! It starts out almost insultingly easy, but you really put the mechanics to good use by the end. Reminds me a bit of the timed flip-panel levels in Super Mario Galaxy.

The only trouble is that, in the bigger levels, I would get noticeable stutter; this made the last level basically unplayable, since you have to go so fast and hit such small targets.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:46am

Very interesting
I like how there was a ding every 5 seconds. So I knew when it was going to change.

Derbdale says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Really liked that the music was part of the gameplay, really nice :)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Really nice game. The music was very catchy and useful. Some of the level design could probably be made a little more interesting, but for 48 hours it is a very fun game.

M.O.U says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:23pm

great idea! I really enjoyed this game. The initial tutorial is excellent, well placed, as well as the level design gradually. The art is simple, but very elegant and is in perfect harmony with the game. congratulations!

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:28pm

A excellent game with a great game mechanic! Levels were well designed and the use of music was very clever. I liked it a lot!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:55pm

The music signaling the change reminds me of the end of Limbo, where the gravity switches at the climax of the music. Very nice game!

mobyvb says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I like how smoothly it transitions from death to the beginning of the level. I think it would be better with some sort of visual indicator for when you're going to change, but I guess part of the challenge is guessing when you will.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]