August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Wave

by justicegames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cube Wave is a 2D space shooting game, with waves coming at you every 10 seconds. You have a red line in front of you - this is your weekness. If an enemy hits it the game will be over

Move up/down: Use W and S or arrow keys up and down
Shoot: Use the Space key



For you who will look at the source code you will need Game Maker studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#556Graphics2.88
#752Fun2.69
#789Audio2.06
#850Overall2.75
#1009Theme2.56
#1152Innovation1.87
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Great game, I like the glowing graphics. The shooting sound got kind of annoying after a while

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I really like the graphic style. The concept is pretty fun too, though the gameplay feels really slow. In my opinion if you increased the speed of both the bullets and the enemies, and decreased enemy health a little, this game would be much more enjoyable to play.

justicegames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Thanks for the comments, i will take what you guys have said with me in future games. Thanks again

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

It's a good idea but the audio kind of gets annoying after a while, plus, the graphics are terrible

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

A variation of sounds would be nice, but it kept me playing, made it to wave 14.

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I like the shaking and glowing effect on main character. Try to make everything faster - add sinusoidal paths to enemies - bind mouse Y position to the ship Y position - and see how your game improves in a minute.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:27am

Nice "juicy" effects (glow, pulsating while firing, etc...). It lacked a bit of variety though (secondary weapon maybe), and the shooting sound got kinda irritating, but it was a solid, well executed if basic shooter. Hope you'll build from there and make amazing shooters in the future (I love them) :)

TheDreik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

Will be better if enemy has visual effect when get hit. The rest is good, but need variety in the gameplay.

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Pew pew pew. Good way to vent my anger at cubes.

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:22pm

The sounds were a bit annoying however the game was okay overall

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]