August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten-Second Postman

by tombsar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small mouse agility game, based on the Travelling Salesman Problem.

Click on the nodes in the order you want the character to visit them; he must visit them all within ten seconds!

Mouse 1 : Select nodes, and
'r' : Restart level
SPACE : Move on to the next level

This game may require fast movement of the mouse cursor. Please take all necessary precautions for using your computer, and stop playing if you feel any discomfort in your wrists. I can't be held responsible in the unlikely event that you develop RSI after playing this game!

Created on Fedora 18 in under 48 hours.

Software: Geany 1.23.1, g++ (GCC) 4.7.2, GIMP 2.8.6, GNU Make 3.82
Libraries: OpenGL 1.0 (libGL.so.1), GLFW 3.0 (libglfw.so.3), C++ (libstdc++.so.6 etc)

Unfortunately I don't expect it to compile or run on other systems without a few changes. I will try to make a MinGW version for Windows tomorrow...

This was my first Ludum Dare, and I had great fun. I would appreciate any feedback you have for me.

Edit: I have uploaded a version compiled for Windows. In order to make this work, I had to make quite a few changes to the code (purely window management and build related; I didn't change the gameplay). Apparently what Fedora packages as glfw3 is different from any official releases of GLFW, so the Windows version is now probably much more portable than the Linux version I have uploaded.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#246Innovation3.42
#260Theme3.48
#296Fun3.26
#306Overall3.32
#380Mood2.96
#407Graphics3.13
#558Humor2.23
#937Audio1.44

Comments

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Can you provide a linux tar.gz including needed librairy files. I do not have them all.
The game seems nice at first look =)

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

@Lo-X I am loathe to provide a download, as I suspect things like libGL will not be portable between computers (especially as I am only running 32-bit). Installing from your own distribution's repository is always safest.

Do you know which libs are missing for you? The ones reported by ldd on my machine are:

libglfw.so.3
libGL.so.1
libstdc++.so.6
libm.so.6
libgcc_s.so.1
libc.so.6
libpthread.so.0

Assuming you already do software development, the only one you are likely to be missing is glfw.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

nice game, I really love the moood and gameplay!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Windows build asap please. :c

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

.deb or .rpm would be nice...

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Ok, I have managed to compile a version using MinGW, that should work on Windows, or under Wine.

I apologise to fellow Linux users who cannot get the game to run natively; the main problem is that I was trying out GLFW for the first time this weekend, and didn't realise that Fedora's packaged version of glfw3 does not match the official 3.0 release (why???). I could spend more time finding and correcting differences, but for now I would rather suggest that people use the Windows version.

Lo-X says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12pm

That game is really fun. It gets hard really fast and you need to improve your click precision as well as wrist speed !

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Very good!
Can't beat level 14,
I found that starting with a far dot is a good strategy to plan next dots and don't lose time by making the guy stop.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46pm

This game concept is solid! I got to level 19 before not completing a level. Some varying backgrounds/worlds, throw in an angry dog and you have the next candy crush ;)

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Thanks for the nice comments everyone!

@gre That sounds like a decent strategy if you are not too quick with the mouse, but probably means the poor guy is having to walk further than he has to! Finding a short route is important for getting to the higher levels.

@Yell0w An angry dog is a great idea! If people are interested I could potentially remake this in Java, so it can be played in a web browser...

Sheep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Didn't look hard at first but you are noticing wrong clicks when you need to react quickly. Makes it a good hard game. And the graphics are cool :D

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Nice low res art. A fun game. Got to level 18. I found I was more limited by how fast and accurately I could click rather than what route I chose. Not that that's a bad thing but it would also have been fun to plan out the route beforehand on the later levels and see if the guy could make it round in time.

triplefox says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Made it level 12 on a trackpad. I don't really like the fast clicking part of it, mostly because the device I'm using isn't made for it. It would be a relaxing game otherwise.

RustyC says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Great game. It's a simple idea but it's executed well and I love the graphics. It has a reallly hectic feel to it. Some kind of in game instrctions would be nice as would some indication as the area you have to click to select a node. Great job for a first entry.

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice pixel art and interesting take on the theme. I just wish it could be more "puzzly" rather than being for aimbots hehe

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Great graphics and good gameplay, but not much diversified.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]